TWICE and the Emotional Abuse That Was SIXTEEN

I just finished watching the final episode of SIXTEEN only a few minutes ago and I feel like I have to write about it to process all the things I’m feeling about the show and the final line-up of TWICE. This was the first time I ever watched a survival show without knowing the results (compared to when I watched WIN: Who Is Next and Mix & Match) and I found it both really interesting but also extremely stressful. I’ve been a nervous wreck this last week, struggling to find a subbed version of the final episode. But I made it, and I managed to avoid any spoilers so I came at it completely fresh. Of course, this post is in no way spoiler-free so read no further if you haven’t seen it yet.

To start of with I’d like to say that survival shows are evil and awful and I hate that it’s become such a trend in the kpop industry. But, and this is a big but to me, isn’t this more or less exactly what they’d go through anyway? The trainee life is hard, brutal even, this just reveals the truth to us fans. And I’d have to say, JYP is a lot nicer about it than YG is. The suffocating fear you could see in the eyes of the boys of Team A and Team B etc was not there in this show. And even when JYP critiqued them, it was clear that he was making an effort not to hurt them too bad. And even though I was not completely pleased with the results, I still understand why he chose who he chose. His comments made sense, and I believe that he will allow the eliminated girls to stay on as trainees if they so want. I definitely expect some of them to debut in a few years.

Now I’d like to go through all sixteen girls, and explain if I liked them and in that case why. And whether or not I wanted them in TWICE. Let’s go by age, because you got to go by something.

#1 – Nayeon

nayeon

 

I knew from the very start that Nayeon would be debuting, and she will. At almost twenty, she’s almost a little old to debut and she already had a bit of fame to her name. But I never cared much for her. She was a little too self-confident in the start, so I think going down to minor was really good for her, she really humbled up. She’s a pretty girl but I don’t see what all the fuss is about her being so damn stunning. Her singing and dancing was always alright, but nothing that truly stood out. She’ll be a stable mid-level member of TWICE even though she was not a part of my ideal line-up.

#2 – Jungyeon

jungyeon

 

I liked Jungyeon more or less from the very start. She’s a good singer, and she never ever seems nervous, even when she definitely was. She has a clear-cut “chic” image, which none of the other girls had. I always saw her as a given TWICE member, and didn’t ever approve of her going down to minor. I’m very glad to see her debut.

#3 – Momo

momo

 

Momo is the only effortlessly sexy one out of all the girls and she is clearly the best dancer. She quickly became one of my absolute favorite members and I was almost settled on her being my bias. And then she was eliminated and I was distraught. It was between her, the best dancer; Jiwon, one of the absolute best singers; and Chaeyoung, the only good rapper. Neither me nor JYP was okay with him having to make that decision and it was horrible. Momo had to go, and I was left with trying to choose a bias from the three girls that I had seen as being tied for second place in the race for being my bias.

But then came the final episode and Momo was there to watch the final show together with the other three eliminated girls. And when JYP announces the ninth and final member of TWICE (what happened to seven?) it’s not one of the girls on stage, it’s Momo. Apparently both he and all the JYP trainers felt like TWICE desperately needed her. And I’m ecstatic. I’m so happy and pretty damn sure that this will be my bias and that we will be very happy together. (Not gonna properly announce it until they debut tho) I understand why it was such a controversial decision, because she was eliminated, but this was never a survival show where the voters decided; it was always up to JYP. And he and I wanted Momo.

#4 – Sana

sana

 

(Had to use this picture because what the hell)

I really like Sana. I liked her from the very first episode where instead of dancing or singing like most of the others, she made some kind of rice paper thingy for JYP in the most adorably aegyo way possible. Sana is one of the most beautiful members and she has a maturity that I didn’t expect from her. I’m definitely pleased that she’s debuting; she was one of my favorites.

#5 – Jihyo

jihyo

 

Jihyo is great. She might only be fifth-oldest but in my mind she’s the best and clearest candidate for the position of leader. She’s one of the best singers, and she has natural beauty that shines through her eyes in a lovely way. Calling her fat is outrageous and I think her slightly-larger-than-a-stick-thin-kpop-star physique is beautiful. She sang trot in the first challenge, and earned my love. It’s no wonder that she was one of the members that were most consistently major. So so happy that she’s debuting.

#6 – Mina

mina

 

Mina was my least favorite out of the Japan line (which is her, Sana and Momo, by the way) but I always liked her nonetheless. I like that she’s a ballet dancer and while she was not one of the stand-out singers, I always liked her voice nonetheless. When I was settling on my final line-up I did not include her, but it was a tough decision. So I’m happy that she’s still around, and I’ll deny that I didn’t want her. Because I did, I promise! Just not the most!

#7 – Minyoung

minyoung

 

I liked Minyoung from the very start, based on her voice alone, but her nerves often got the better of her when it came to actually singing on stage, which is a big minus for a kpop star. I was surprised and a bit upset that she wasn’t chosen for TWICE, because she was a part of my personal perfect line-up, but I do understand why JYP didn’t pick her. It might very well be so that she’s more suited for being a singer-songwriter than a member of a girl group, and I really hope that JYP will help her get there, as he said he would.

#8 – Jiwon

jiwon

 

I always thought Jiwon and Minyoung were quite similar, since they are both amazing singers who often crumbled under pressure and didn’t perform to the best of their abilities. Jiwon is super cute and as I said, a great singer, but I wasn’t very surprised when she was eliminated. Her nerves really got the best of her and she didn’t have a stand-out persona. Between her and Minyoung, I’m definitely team Minyoung.

#9 – Dahyun

dahyun

 

Dahyun won everyone’s hearts and minds in the beginning with her fabulous eagle-dance and that includes me. She stood out and didn’t take herself too seriously and she was one of the first ones whose name I learned. But I fell more and more out of love with her as the show went on and in the end she was not included in my personal line-up, which honestly surprised me. She was supposed to be a rapper and while I did find her second-best I never thought she was good. At a few points I even found her slightly arrogant, which I did not care for. So yes, I didn’t feel like TWICE needed her, but I knew that her popularity meant that she was almost a given. And now that I know that yes, she will debut, I’m perfectly fine with that. But please in the name of everything good, don’t let her eagle dance become some variety show staple because I’m already getting sick of it.

#10 – Chaeyoung

chaeyoung

 

I wanted Chaeyoung in TWICE based on her talent alone, and she ended up in TWICE on talent alone. She’s a pretty girl and a good performer with a cool vibe, but I never fell for her on a personal level. But every group needs a rapper, and Chaeyoung is a pretty good one. She’ll definitely carry the team in that department and I’ll enjoy watching her.

#11 – Tzuyu

tzuyu

 

Tzuyu is gorgeous, definitely one of the most beautiful ones. Also there isn’t many Taiwanese kpop stars, like none, so that alone made her a stand-out. I wanted her in TWICE for her looks, since neither her singing nor her dancing is that amazing, and I’m pretty sure that that was what put her in TWICE. Tzuyu was the member that was completely chosen by the viewers, and I’m pretty sure they were all just dazzled.

#12 – Chaeyeon

chaeyeon

 

Chaeyeon was the very first eliminated member and I therefore never really got into her. I was actually quite glad, since that meant I wouldn’t confuse her with her sister anymore. They look a lot alike. I found her perfectly fine, but she never interested me beyond that.

#13 – Eunsuh

eunsuh

 

Eunsuh was the second eliminated member, and at that point I still wasn’t completely clear on who all the girls were. Eunsuh was never particularly memorable to me, and I wasn’t at all surprised that JYP let her go. Cute girl though.

#14 – Somi

somi

 

Somi was the youngest member that I personally wanted in TWICE and I’m a little sad that she won’t be debuting with them. She is a bit too young though, so if she takes JYP’s advice and goes back to the practice room, I’m sure she can be absolutely amazing by the time JYP wants another girl group. She just lit up the stage and owned it in a way I didn’t expect from a fourteen-year-old.

#15 – Chaeryeong

chaeryeong

 

Chaeryeong is Chaeyeon’s younger sister and to me they seemed almost identical in the beginning. Chaeryeong did grow on me, but I never wanted her to nor thought that she would debut in TWICE. She’s too young and too rough around the edges. I also don’t think she has the look of a kpop star. I know, that’s a super mean thing to even think about a little girl, but in this industry it’s the harsh reality.

#16 – Natty

natty

 

Natty is adorable and very impressive for her super young age, but she’s nowhere near ready for debut. She’s not old enough, for one, and would definitely have limited the possible concepts that TWICE could do to super cute ones. Her singing was also definitely not ready, and needs a lot more work. I’m expecting to see her again though, in a few years. She’s too good to be let go.

 

I might not have gotten exactly who I wanted, but I understand the decisions that were made and I’m expecting TWICE to be good, almost as good as their name is awful. Momo will probably be my bias, since I’m slightly in love with her, but I won’t lock that down just yet.


 

Did you guys watch SIXTEEN? If you did, are you happy with the results? Why/why not?

11 thoughts on “TWICE and the Emotional Abuse That Was SIXTEEN

  1. I only watched sixteen until Momo’s elimination, I really liked some of the girls but the show wasn’t that interesting to me (I felt like the episodes just dragged on and were edited in a way to fit a certain narrative/biased towards certain trainees).
    However, I was rooting for Somi, Tzuyu, Jihyo and Natty – I usually don’t like groups that have members that are born 1999 or later because I feel they are too young to debut in the harsh kpop industry and they make me feel lazy but the girls on this show are one of the exceptions. I thought they seemed very genuine, were pretty and had interesting personalities.

    For some reason there were also a lot of girls which didn’t interest me at all – in the end I only had five girls that I wanted to see debut while I didn’t care much about the others – which surprised me since I was much more invested in the girls from Baby Kara Project and the No Mercy trainees. I think the editing was also at fault here – some of the girls had bored expressions during their interview sessions (perfect example; Eunsuh) or were portrayed in a way that made them come off as plain/uninteresting/annoying (Sana was overly cute, Momo seemed overly negative/jealous of Natty, Minyoung was always portrayed as the insanely talented girl that should be pitied because she could do better). I thought Dahyun was over-hyped since episode 1 and I couldn’t really connect to any of the Japanese girls.

    To be honest (and this is probably a bit mean) I also wasn’t that impressed with the visuals – I believe that JYP wanted girls with distinct, unique looks on the show rather than faces that look very similar to another but if I compare sixteen/twice to other girl groups, I’d probably think they’d be lacking.

    My ideal line-up would have been:
    Jihyo as leader, lead vocalist
    Nayeon as visual, vocalist
    Tzuyu
    Somi
    Natty as Main Dancer, Maknae
    Jiwon as main vocalist (I don’t like her that much but I still prefer her over other contestants)
    and either Jungyeon or Momo (I also don’t like either that much but the member count had to go up to 7)

    (Oops, this comment got longer than I intended… I just needed to rant about the show)

    1. Wow you definitively have a lot of opinions! I agree some about the editing, it didn’t always seem fair and some things seemed unnecessary/dragged out… In the end though, I did enjoy the show, and was fairly happy with who ended up in the final lineup.
      (And no problemo! Ranting is always allowed here)

  2. Is it super weird to comment on a year old post? Sorry ^^’ But I just binge watched Sixteen and have a lot of feelings.
    I loved Natty, she’s so young and yet already so good. But I think they put her in that show with no intention of actually letting her win and I have mixed feelings about that. On one hand, it’s exposure, and exposure is good. On the other, that’s a whole lot of extra stress and having to deal with an unavoidable loss, which is a bit cruel. I know a trainee’s life is harsh anyway, but still…
    Anyway, as much as I love Natty, Momo shouldn’t have lost to her in that duel where Natty did a slow emotional dance. Momo showed so much skill and Natty’s dance was barely a dance. She’s insanely talented but this performance wasn’t really that great. I’m sure they did it for drama.
    I don’t like the fact that Momo was randomly brought back in the last episode and made a winner. It’s good for the group, yes, but it’s such reality tv cheating. In general, I think this show was really bad at being reality tv. Like, 16 girls but 4 eliminations in 9 episodes? No tension whatsoever. Then they did Produce 101 and they went overboard in the other direction, eliminating too many girls too fast…
    I agree with the above commenter about Dahyun being overhyped. I didn’t see her appeal at all and she was really cocky in the beginning, which really made me dislike her. She’s super average.
    Tzuyu is simply the most gorgeous girl ever. Jungyeon is everything, it’s ridiculous that they chose pretty but bland Nayeon as the lead rapper when she is simply not good enough for that, and Jungyeon would be so much better.

    1. It’s never too late to comment on a post! I had so many feels about Sixteen when I first watched it too…. And while I agree that bringing Momo back was a copout from a reality show standpoint, I couldn’t not be excited about it… I have a lot of feels for that chick.

  3. Everyone is looking at the “Momo getting cut” completely wrong. JYP let the viewers choose who ended up in the bottom. They specifically voted AGAINST him, every time he chose a team that he thought should win. JYP knew that he was going to put Momo in Twice from the start. What he didn’t know, was whether he was going to keep Chaeyoung or Jiwon. He wanted to see more from them, to know if either of them were a good fit for his new girl group.

    Simply put.. JYP cut Momo because he already knew she was going to be in Twice, but he needed to see more from Jiwon and Chaeyoung still.

  4. I am probably a bit biased with my favourites, since i started watching SIXTEEN because I was already a TWICE fan… and decided to watch sixteen just bc i wanted to see how twice was formed (a bad sentence).

    I’m probably going to be a bit brutal here, but, I felt like eunseo and chaeyeon were really unmemorable. I was a bit glad that they were eliminated, since they never appealed to me in the first place. chaeryeong was good at dancing, but she didnt really have the “idol aura”. And jiwon and minyeong were indeed super good at singing, but they didnt really do well under pressure and that’s never good, especially if you’re planning on entering the brutal world of idols. They let their nerves get to them way too much.

    The photoshoot episode was one of the episodes that affected my personal twice lineup the most. Because I feel like, being able to be comfortable and “natural” around a camera is very important, almost as important as being able to sing or dance on stage… Since, if you’re going to be a celebrity, you’re going to be in a hell of a lot of photoshoots. Bringing the quality of a group picture down or being unable to be “attractive” in a solo photoshoot is quite detrimental for an idol. And a person that has no change in expression isn’t very attractive or appealing imo.

    I was also very shook when momo was eliminated. I literally cried (aka sobbed) watching that episode (lol even though i knew she was going to be brought back). And in a lot of the instances, I was confused by the audience’s choices with best performances…. Because i personally felt that a lot of the times, I agreed with JYP’s fav performance more. Though, as a korean who grew up watching a lot of korean reality tv and singing competition type shows, I knew who the audience would choose as the better performance, even if it contradicted with my own opinion (and JYP’s)…. it’s a bit upsetting, a lot of “common” people have poor taste…. that sounds really snobby but yeah haha.

    My personal favourites from the show (and twice) were jungyeon and sana. hnnngg i love all of twice, but they’re the ones i like a bit better than the rest. I got into twice because of jungyeon after all hohoho (i lov her)

    this… comment ended up being a bit long, sorry about that. I liked your reflection of the show, it was a good read 😀

    1. Wow long comment! Speaking of the photo shoot episode (which was so much fun btw) that one really affected my opinion of Somi, and made me start putting her in my ideal line-up. I’m fine that she didn’t end up there, but I do think she would have suited twice.

Leave a Reply

