Opinionated Profile of TWICE

twice

Oh TWICE… My lovely beautiful rookie JYP girls… I love you so much. TWICE are great and powerful rookies, just like I’d expect from a big three label. I watched them on SIXTEEN, and when they finally debuted I couldn’t have been more excited. This might not be my own personal perfect lineup, but the more I see of them the more I feel like JYP definitely made all the right calls. 

9. Chaeyoung

chaeyoung

Birth name: Son Chae Young

Stage name: Chaeyoung

Birthday: April 23, 1999

Official height: 163 cm

Position: Main Rapper

Comment: It’s not that I don’t like Chaeyoung, it’s just that she hasn’t made much of an impression on me… She’s a good rapper; she definitely showed that more on SIXTEEN than she has as a member of TWICE so far. I put her in my ideal lineup because of those skills, and that’s still really the only thing about her I pay attention to. She has great potential in that area, but if she wants to climb on this list, there are other things she must do as well.

8. Dahyun

dahyun

Birth name: Kim Da Hyun

Stage name: Dahyun

Birthday: May 28, 1998

Official height: 165 cm

Position: Lead Rapper

Comment: Dahyun was someone I saw as definite bias material when I first started watching SIXTEEN, so seeing her fall this far down is truly shocking to me. I truly liked her in the beginning, but after a while I started seeing her as a one trick pony. She’s not a good rapper nor a good singer, and her eagle dance is not enough to carry her through. I do still harbor some good feelings about her from my initial good impression of her, but she’s not someone who interests me much anymore.

7. Nayeon

nayeon

Birth name: Im Na Yeon

Stage name: Nayeon

Birthday: September 22, 1995

Official height: 163 cm

Position: Lead Vocalist, Lead Dancer, Face of the Group

Comment: Even though Nayeon is quite low on this list, she’s still surprisingly far up for me. I never fell for her over the course of SIXTEEN, and didn’t even think she was necessary in the group. I always knew she’d make it though, that was as obvious as it could be.

Yeah, even though she never really impressed me over the course of the show, she started peaking my interest after the group actually debuted. She got loads of lines (more than I honestly think she deserved) and she handled herself very well. And I finally started seeing the prettiness that everyone had been gushing over.

Nayeon has clawed her way up here, earning every single tiny bit of affection I now give her.

6. Tzuyu

tzuyu

Birth name: Zhou Xi Yu

Stage name: Tzuyu

Birthday: June 14, 1999

Official height: 169 cm

Position: Lead Dancer, Sub-Vocalist, Visual, Maknae

Comment: Firstly, what is it supposed to mean that Tzuyu is listed as the visual but Nayeon is the face of the group? In most groups those are just two names for the same thing, held by the same member. Are they saying that Tzuyu is the prettiest but that Nayeon is the most recognizable? Or does this group just have two visuals/faces of the group? I need this to be clearer.

Tzuyu is stunning. She’s the member that was voted straight into TWICE by the viewers, and that was clearly because of her looks since she didn’t really stand out in the talent department. She is so beautiful, and that’s my main reason for liking her. Yes, I am that shallow.

5. Mina

mina

Birth name: Myoui Mina

Stage name: Mina

Birthday: March 24, 1997

Official height: 163 cm

Position: Main Dancer, Sub-Vocalist

Comment: If there’s one thing the kpop industry doesn’t need, it’s another Mina. I can think of three others right now and I’m sure there are more than that hidden somewhere. But since I like Mina, I will allow her to keep her name.

Mina was just outside my final ideal lineup for this group, but I never felt good about that. I’m really glad she made it.

I’d put her at fourth best when in comes to the vocals of this group, which I’d think merits her a higher position than sub-vocalist, especially considering the number of lines she has. But oh well. I also love that she’s a ballerina, it’s very cool.

4. Sana

sana

Birth name: Minatozaki Sana

Stage name: Sana

Birthday: December 29, 1996

Official height: 168 cm

Position: Sub-Vocalist

Comment: Sana is just so damn cute. I liked her from the very start, and she just does not stop. Her performance in the ”Like OOH-AHH” music video was definitely one of the more memorable ones. Gah she’s so damn adorable. That’s really all I have to say about her. She has a decent voice and she’s very pretty. But her aegyo and general cuteness is her most defining quality.

3. Jungyeon

jungyeon

Birth name: Yoo Jeong Yeon

Stage name: Jungyeon

Birthday: November 1, 1996

Official height: 168 cm

Position: Sub-Vocalist

Comment: Jungyeon deserves to be so much more than a sub-vocalist. In my opinion she’s definitely the second-best singer in the group, and the fact that she got two lines in their debut song will never seize to piss me off.

Jungyeon is so cool. She’s got that chicness for sure. I considered her for the bias position late in the game, and I’m sure that I could have been very happy with her. She’s too badass not to love.

2. Jihyo

jihyo

Birth name: Park Ji Soo

Stage name: Jihyo

Birthday: February 1, 1997

Official height: 162 cm

Position: Main Vocalist, Leader

Comment: I’m so glad that Jihyo ended up being the leader. To me she seemed like the obvious choice but given that she’s only fifth oldest, I couldn’t be at all sure that JYP would have the smarts to make that choice. But he did and I’m pleased. Jihyo will be a great leader, no doubt about it.

Jihyo is the best singer in my opinion, and her main vocalist status is well deserved.

I really really like Jihyo; she’s just a super great girl. I even considered her for biasdom for a while. And if JYP doesn’t let her do a trot solo in a few years, I will hunt him down.

Now about her being fat… That is baloney and you all know it. I like my women with some meat on their bones, and for that Jihyo is actually a little thin. But she’s absolutely stunning and those hips don’t lie.

1. Momo

momo

Birth name: Hirai Momo

Stage name: Momo

Birthday: November 9, 1996

Official height: 167 cm

Position: Main Dancer, Sub-Vocalist

Comment: I started falling for Momo from the moment when I first saw her teaser. She was so stunning and so sexy and her dancing looked to be, as far as I could tell, on point. And she is all that. If you just look at her face, she’s not the prettiest in the group, but her body and her vibe and everything about her makes certain that she’s for sure the hottest one. She even reminds me of Hyuna a little bit, especially blond. And given that Hyuna is my fifth most beloved female bias, that is a good sign.

Momo’s dancing is amazing. I know next to nothing about dance, but her skill is so evident. And she has that passion for dance that I also see in one of my absolute favorite people in the kpop world: Kai from EXO.

When Momo was eliminated I was so frazzled. I suddenly had to pick a new bias. I considered mostly Jungyeon and Jihyo, and even Sana for a little bit. And then when Momo came back I wasn’t sure that she still had my love, and I decided to wait until their video came out. Then I would know for sure. And damn did she slay me. She yanked back her bias position as if she’d never ever lost it.

Momo, I love you so much.


How are you feeling about TWICE? Loving them as much as I do?

12 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of TWICE

  1. Chaeyoung, Momo and Jungyeon are the highest for me. So far, Chaeyoung hasn’t really shown what she can do and I’m biasing her based in Sixteen and not Twice, which is a bit unfair but meh. Tzuyu, Sana and Dahyun are my least favorites lol but I still think that the group is complete with nine, even though I’d switch out some members in favor of the other Sixteen trainees (Minyoung I cri).

    1. I personally wanted Minyoung in the group too, but I do agree with what JYP said… She’s not that suited to be a girl group member, she could do better as a singer-songwriter.

  2. After getting into kpop through Girls Generation and struggling to learn names (then wanting to forget a few), I have a dislike of 9 member groups. I haven’t seen enough of Twice to get much of a grasp of personalities. Still, I mostly like Nayeon because she’s a fake giant maknae and I think that’s just neat. Also Dahyun has kinda unusual features which draw my eyes to her.

      1. 3 songs all great, bang bang bang! I cannot remember another group I have liked 3 songs in a row. They have quickly became my second fave group, after the immortal T-ara.

Leave a Reply

