Review of Teen Top’s “ah-ah”

A little while ago I let you guys, the lovely readers that keep me motivated, vote on which song was the best of June, and said that I would review the three songs that got the most votes. This, as you may have understood, is the first of those reviews.

I’ve grown into a quite large fan of Teen Top, but my Angelic nature does not stop me from being able to look at them with a critical eye. 

Song

It’s an alright song. I adore Teen Top and have really enjoyed the absolute majority of the singles they’ve released, but this one is destined to end up in the same pile as those unfortunate few that made next to no impression on me. The chorus is moderately catchy, but not enough, and I can’t ever seem to remember what the verses sound like.

If you look at this song from a line distribution-point of view, it’s clear that Niel is still very much the main vocalist of the group. In the verses he only gets some lines in the second verse, but he is the lead in every single chorus and the only one with some solo lines in it. I’m shocked that Changjo and Chunji only got some solo lines in the very first verse, and then seem to disappear for the rest of the song. Changjo is my personal favorite vocalist in the group, so I’m sad that I didn’t get to hear him more. I’m proud of Ricky though, he’s definitely improved as a vocalist since debut, and his almost overly exaggerated amount of lines in this song shows that.

I feel like this song featured the two rappers, C.A.P and L.Joe, more heavily than Teen Top’s singles normally do. They normally get one part each per song, but here they each appeared twice. They had pretty much exact the same amount of lines as each other though, so that seems perfectly fair.

I think this song was well put-together and well sung, but it does next to nothing for me.

Lyrics

These lyrics are quite standard. “I love you and want to be with you all the time because you’re awesome”. They’re not exactly ground-breaking, but there’s nothing wrong with them.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.24.57

Calling someone without having something to say, just because you want to hear their voice is something I think all of us have at least considered doing.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.25.08

Always thinking about them, and hoping they’re doing the same.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.25.34

This one made me just a wee bit uncomfortable. L.Joe’s whole rap part in the first verse seems a little too desperate to see this girl, and this took it just one too far. Though maybe I’m just not romantic enough to see how sweet this is.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.25.44

This is pretty much the main message. You’re beautiful to me, and awesome and I want to be with you all the time.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.26.02

Which, I guess, would actually make this the main message.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.26.28

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.26.37

These lyrics from Ricky’s part in the second verse don’t seem to fit the rest of the lyrics at all, and frankly; they’re a bit awkward. The rest of the lyrics are coyer and sweeter and this seems just a bit too direct. And tacky, if you look at that first line. I mean, what the hell?

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.27.00

For those who don’t know, Uhm Jung Hwa is/was a super popular Korean singer who had a very popular single in the late nineties called “I Don’t Know”. Lots of current kpop stars see her as a role model, so this is just a cute little reference to that.

Video

This whole video is basically Teen Top trying to pick up girls in awkward ways and seemingly failing since there are no girls there in the coffee shop (?) in the end. Or maybe they just partied with them and then went back to the coffee shop by themselves? I didn’t find it very interesting at all, but it was interesting to see that they took a completely different route than what the lyrics suggested for the video.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.39.10

First thing I thought of when I saw this gloriously colorful place was BESTie. Yes, you read that right. Just look at this picture, taken from their “Excuse Me”-video and tell me you don’t see it:

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.49.19

Yes, I realize that it’s not the exact same set, but it’s bloody damn similar.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.39.30

This dance set gave me major old school SM vibes. This definitely could have been in a SHINee or f(x) video. Or maybe Super Junior.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.41.35

Super realistic-looking gas station. Not.

Yeah, as you see I don’t have a whole lot to say about this video. So let’s move on to something very important!

Dance

Teen Top are really good dancers and after the release of “Rocking” I feel like they’ve definitely put even more emphasis on it. It’s hard to get good screen shots of dance moves, obviously, and I don’t know how to make gifs, so you’ll have to settle for my great descriptions.

I love the chorus dance. I especially enjoyed it when they did it one by one, outside of the fancy-schmancy car. In general, I wish they’d have showed more of the dance in the video, besides the dance for the chorus, but I guess I can go search for a dance practice…

Okay, so I just watched their dance practice, and I’m not as impressed as I wanted to be. It’s an alright dance, and they perform it well, but the chorus is definitely the most interesting part. I was mostly just struck by how petite L.Joe really is. Dressed in a simple white t-shirt and tight jeans, there’s nothing that can hide his tininess.

Outfits and Styling

The clothes are fine in general, nothing is awful and there are only a couple of standouts.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.45.00

I’d say this look is my favorite in the whole video. It fits him really well and looks great on him.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.42.10

Mad props to C.A.P for pulling this off, most people most certainly couldn’t.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.41.44

I really like Ricky blond. I prefer this styling to when it’s styled up, but both are fine; he looks really good either way.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.43.15

Changjo looks pretty good, but that’s just because he’s a good-looking guy. This hair does nothing for him. It’s alright, but he could handle something slightly more fun. I’m liking that they’re keeping his hair dark though, it really suits him the best.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.40.04

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.42.26

Chunji can definitely pull off this color, and when it’s styled like in the first picture I really like this look for him. But the second styling? No, just no.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.41.59

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.43.57

I love Niel’s hair black, and all the four (is it?) stylings he has in this video works alright for him. I’d say these two here are in the middle, with the “flatter” side-part he has in the SM dance scenes being the best and the rough all-in-his-face look being the worst. I’ve seen him look better, but he looks really good.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.40.11

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.40.36

Just like Chunji, L.Joe can definitely handle strange colors and he works this one. Styled as in the first picture it looks alright, but I definitely prefer it a bit less flat, as in the second picture.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 11.39.53

I really enjoy what they’ve done to C.A.P in this video. He looks really good in short hairstyles, and while this prim styling might look boring on many other people C.A.P has an innate “danger” to him that leads to this hairstyle working perfectly. It’s a clear contrast, and he looks gorgeous.

Final Comment

It’s an alright song, which still has potential on growing on me once I start seeing it on Music Bank. The guys look good, and the video is fairly entertaining. It’s a nice comeback, but nothing that blew my mind.


Tell me what you think of Teen Top’s latest! Did you vote for me to review this, and in that case, are you now pleased?

 

Leave a Reply

