My Fifteen Favorite Kpop Singles of 2015 (Female Artists)

Once again, this wasn’t easy to write. I tried to be fairly impartial and really look at what songs I’ve been loving this year, not just at what groups/artists I like. This song only allows for one song per artist, but solo efforts and sub-units are counted as separate artists from the main group. I actually managed to rank them all, which I haven’t been able to the past two years. It was a wild ride.

Once again I’m just not managing to embed the videos… I really don’t know what I’m doing wrong; I’m not doing anything differently from how I usually do it! Sigh.

15. BESTie’s ”Excuse Me”

BESTie is a group that’s definitely gotten better and better each year, leading up to this: their best single yet. As a group they’re quite flawless, and I really hope they continue on this path because it is beyond glorious. This single is in song, lyrics and even video just frankly amazing.

14. Amber’s ”Shake That Brass”

Amber is just one step down from that ultimate female bias position, so when I heard she was going to release a solo album I was beyond ecstatic. I knew she’d give us colorful and glorious fun, and that’s exactly what she did with this single. This is the Amber we know, finally running free when those long-haired girls aren’t in the way anymore.

13. 4Minute’s ”Crazy”

This is the most badass 4Minute have ever been and they (almost) all sold it oh so well. It’s the best rapping Hyuna have done in a group promotion, Gayoon sounds amazing, Sohyun slayed in her personal sort of way and Jiyoon is that badass chick we all know and love. Now if only Jihyun was just a bit harder-hitting… Well she did well in her way as well.

12. D.Holic’s ”Chewy”

D.Holic is a group I’d never even heard of before this year, but this amazing song definitely put them on my radar. It’s got a beat and a chorus straight out of kpop heaven and it was definitely a strong track on my summer playlist. I really hope they can keep this momentum going and stay flawless.

11. HyunA’s ”Roll Deep (Because I’m The Best)”

I can’t quite decide if this is my favorite HyunA single or not, but it’s definitely an amazing one. This has that lovely brand of sexy and cocky with a slight side-order of cute that only HyunA can sell this well. I knew there was a reason for her being my fifth favorite female bias.

10. CL’s ”Hello Bitches”

I doubt that CL will actually make it big in the US, but if her trying to get there will get me brazen songs like this one, I will not complain. It’s not really something you can do in mainstream kpop, but it’s something I love. This is the kind of song that I’ll listen to walking down the street, making me feel like the baddest bitch in the whole world. All hail the baddest female!

9. Gain’s ”Paradise Lost”

To be honest, Gain pretty much exemplifies what I want to be. Every single she releases is just another chapter to the glorious story that is her. This song has been very prevalent in my life this year, and I’m sure it’ll stay that way. I’ve even caught my non-kpopper boyfriend singing it a couple of times.

8. MAMAMOO’s ”Um Oh Ah Yeh”

I loved MAMAMOO’s first three singles, but when I heard this one I thought their streak was broken. It was just too mainstream kpop for MAMAMOO, I thought. It had too little of that flavor that I’d been loving in them. But I for sure changed my mind once I started watching their promotions. These girls can do no wrong.

7. The Ark’s ”The Light”

This video is definitely among the best music videos I’ve seen over the course of 2015, and it’s accompanied by a super lovely song. It’s uplifting yet somehow sad and perfectly describes an emotion I know at least I’ve had, and have quite regularly. I think that if you love somebody, you can’t not relate to this song.

6. Oh My Girl’s ”Closer”

Just such a pretty song! I’ve already said it, but this is one of the absolutely prettiest songs I’ve ever heard in kpop. Before this I felt neutral-going-towards-slightly-positive about Oh My Girl but this song just settled them in my heart. It even gave me a bias, which is often the first step towards really learning the group…

5. TWICE’s ”Like OOH-AHH”

My favorite rookies of 2015 of course have to have their song on here! This song is amazingly catchy and easy to sing along to, a flawless debut song. Having watched SIXTEEN I already knew the girls and had been expecting their debut. And I’m so glad they came out strong like this! I can’t wait to see what else they’ll bring.

4. Taeyeon’s ”I”

I definitely didn’t love it from first listen, but by the second time I heard this song Taeyeon sang her way straight into my heart and there was nothing I could do about it. Given my horrendous singing skills I really shouldn’t have tried to sing this, but that for sure hasn’t stopped me! I apologize to anyone who was tortured by it.

3. Girls’ Generation’s ”Lion Heart”

I liked all four of the singles that Girls’ Generation released this year, but I’d definitely say that this was my favorite one. It’s sweet and retro in the most Girls’ Generation-esque way and it might even be one of my favorite Girls’ Generation singles ever. We’ll just have to see if it stands the test of time.

2. GFriend’s ”Me Gustas Tu”

With this song GFriend went from a group that I was doing my absolute best to ignore to a group that I couldn’t get enough of. I’m not sure what it is about this song; it’s not really that different from any other song released by a sweet and innocent new girl group, but… I just love it so much. If they keep this up I might even take back what I’ve said about them being a carbon copy of Girls’ Generation.

1. Yezi’s ”Crazy Dog”

I loved watching Unpretty Rapstar 2, and I discovered a lot of great female rappers and found a bunch of awesome songs through the show. But this is the best song to come out of it by far and my love from Yezi is almost absurd. She’s so cool! If I can’t be her, I’d like to date her. Or at least be her friend. I just want to be near her. Dear lord she’s awesome.


So what do you say? Are you surprised by my choices? What’s your favorite girl singles of 2015?

3 thoughts on “My Fifteen Favorite Kpop Singles of 2015 (Female Artists)

Leave a Reply

