Opinionated Profile of CNBLUE

cnblue

Back again with yet another installment of the opinionated profiles series! Today we’ll be talking about my number four male group, CNBLUE! This is a group that I actually follow entirely for the music (though the cute boys don’t hurt) and I’ve never even watched an interview with them. So if I at all touch on their personalities, I will be talking about what they show on stage.

This, plus the fact that this group only has four members, might lead to this post being shorter, but we’ll see.

4. Jonghyun

jonghyun

Birth name: Lee Jong Hyun

Stage name: Jonghyun

Birthday: May 15, 1990

Blood type: O

Official height: 182 cm

Position: Guitarist, Vocalist

Comment: For almost every group except for my number one group, there is always a member that doesn’t really interest me much and that’s the member that I put last. But deciding on who I don’t care about as much in CNBLUE is really tough because they’re all pretty much on equal ground. So choosing Jonghyun was a very rash act, I might change my mind until tomorrow.

I think that this is one of the absolute most picture perfect guys in the entirety of the kpop industry. He just has such a perfect face! Like damn. I know that he’s a very acclaimed guitarist, but that’s always the first thing that hits me when I see him play live. I guess I’m not just about the music then.

When I first started listening to CNBLUE I preferred his voice to Yonghwa’s. I just found it more interesting and memorable, and I still agree with myself there. Yonghwa’s voice has incredible range and he’s insanely stable, but I still feel like Jonghyun’s more memorable.

3. Minhyuk

minhyuk

Birth name: Kang Min Hyuk

Stage name: Minhyuk

Birthday: June 28, 1991

Blood type: A

Official height: 184 cm

Position: Drummer

Comment: If you’d asked me a couple of months ago, I’d probably have said that this was the member that I didn’t care much about. That seems to be the forever lasting curse of the drummers. They’re in the back and you don’t notice them as much, and therefore they often end up being the less loved member.

But there was one thing that really changed my perception of how much he didn’t interest me: ‘Heirs’. His character and the relationship he had with f(x)’ Krystal’s character was one of the absolute best things of that show and I kind of fell in love with him, and them as a couple. I guess I’ve just always wanted a really close guy friend, and he’ll now forever represent the ideal guy for that.

And isn’t he cute?! Damn, I really chose a good picture for this one.

2. Yonghwa

yonghwa

Birth name: Jung Yong Hwa

Stage name: Yonghwa

Birthday: June 22, 1989

Blood type: A

Official height: 180 cm

Position: Leader, Vocalist, Guitarist, Rapper, Face of The Group

Comment: The first time I saw this guy I was struck with a similarity to my ultimate bias, my one true kpop love, and that probably gave him somewhat of an unfair advantage to gaining my love, but I’ve (mostly) moved on from that and now he’s earned his place. I still love that part about his look though. 

This guy’s voice is awesome. I still feel like the actual sound of his voice isn’t that uncommon but his range is glorious and I’ve yet to see a live performance where he didn’t kill it.

Yonghwa lives to perform. The way he looks and moves on stage is something I’m very impressed by and his stage presence is definitely one of the reasons why I really really REALLY want to see CNBLUE live. I’m not saying the others are bad performers, because they most certainly aren’t, but Yonghwa is in a league of his own.

I recently started watching ‘You’re Beautiful’, and while I adore the male lead, I’m catching the infamous disease known as ‘Second Lead Syndrome’, and it’s bad. I just know that he’ll be perfect yet still end up alone. And it sucks!!

1. Jungshin

jungshin

Birth name: Lee Jung Shin

Stage name: Jungshin

Birthday: September 15, 1991

Blood type: A

Official height: 186 cm

Position: Bassist, Rapper, Maknae

Comment: I would be lying if I said that the fact that he had long hair the first time I saw him didn’t factor into me loving him so much. But there’s more than that. Compared to the others, I definitely think that Jungshin is the least classically handsome out of the four of them. He has a very interesting face, and at times almost looks a little strange, and I find it fascinating.

He’s a kook on stage, with all his running around, and I find it great.

He doesn’t get a lot of lines, but when he does his voice is incredibly attractive. Like, hot damn.

I can’t really motivate why I like him the most, at all. But I just do. You don’t pick the bias, the bias picks you.

Yes, this post ended up being a little shorter. But I did write fairly much about each member, so I don’t think it’s too shabby.

What do you think about the members and about CNBLUE as a whole? Let me know in the comments!

If you have any suggestions, requests or opinions for Tuesday’s review, Friday’s list of the week or next Sunday’s random post then let me know in the comments or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

6 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of CNBLUE

  1. CN Blue is the only kpop group I’ve seen performing live. They were at a music festival in Taiwan a few years ago, gave a perfect 45 minute performance. I was in awe. other than that, I’m not a huge fan of their music, but they’re super funny on variety shows and all that. I can see them being more and more successful in the future.

  2. Dang, I have always thought Jonghyun is so amazingly gorgeous. At first I thought he is not Korean or at least has a mix of Caucasian blood in him.. I am always surprised that he is not the most popular member though, because I think he is just so very handsome, like he shouldn’t be real haha. But that’s good I guess, I can keep him for myself more lol xD

    1. Yes, I agree! Really really pretty guy. And yes, I thought he looked like he was part Caucasian too! I’ve always thought of him as one of the more popular ones, and since he’s leading in the poll I guess I was sort of right 😉 Who I think as my number four out of him and Minhyuk changes daily, so don’t be too mad I put him last xD And, yes, that’s what I always think when I realise my bias isn’t that popular! X)

      Thanks for commenting, by the way! I love the people that do 😉 😀

Leave a comment