Opinionated Profile of Kara

kara

I hate it when groups change their lineup too much. I really wanted to find a shot of the current members for this post, and the best I could find was their album cover, and that annoys me. But anyway… It’s been a few weeks since I wrote the last opinionated profile (B2ST) and even longer since I wrote the last opinionated profile of a girl group (T-ARA), so now it’s time again. 

4. Youngji

youngji

Birth name: Heo Young Ji

Stage name: Youngji

Birthday: August 30, 1994

Official height: 166 cm

Position: Vocalist, Maknae

Comment: I really don’t know Youngji, and I therefore don’t have much to go on. She’s the one who was voted by fans to join Kara, so she should have something special, something that made her capable of capturing the viewers. But I just can’t figure out what that something is. So far she’s shown me no amazing talent, she barely got any lines in their new single and she isn’t spectacularly pretty. I have found no reason to dislike her yet, but I haven’t found anything about her that interests me either, which is why she’s at the bottom.

3. Hara

hara

Birth name: Goo Ha Ra

Stage name: Hara

Birthday: January 13, 1991

Official height: 164 cm

Position: Lead Dancer, Vocalist, Face of the Group

Comment: Hara is the only kpop star out there that I’ve been anywhere near an anti to. Since I’m not crazy, I didn’t take it very far though, so all I did was tell my friends I didn’t like her and refuse to ever listen to Kara. And why did I not like her, you ask? Well, because my ex boyfriend did. He laughed when I showed him kpop while we were dating, and made fun of it, but then started liking it after we broke up. And he chose Kara as his favorite group, a group I already didn’t like. And he chose Hara for his ultimate bias, the girl I thought was very overrated. So, yes, my dislike for Hara was completely based in a very childish jealousy, more or less.

I have gotten over my anti-period, and now Hara is just a pretty kpop girl like any other to me. I don’t think she’s very talented, and she doesn’t interest me much, but she doesn’t bother me.

She has started to earn a little love for herself recently, since I’ve started to watch City Hunter. I’ve seen 3 episodes so far, and while I don’t think Hara’s a great actress nor particularly like her character, there’s just something about her that’s so so sweet. I don’t really want to like her, but I do. So maybe Hara will be able to make herself into one of my girls yet, if she’s very fortunate.

2. Gyuri

gyuri

Birth name: Park Gyu Ri

Stage name: Gyuri

Birthday: May 21, 1988

Official height: 162 cm

Position: Leader, Lead Vocalist, Sub-Rapper

Comment: I really don’t know much about Gyuri, and compared to Hara, my feelings about her are much more mellow. She has a mature beauty, which I like, and she’s the second-best singer in the group. Plus she thinks she’s the most beautiful thing that’s ever walked this earth (that might be a slight exaggeration) and that’s always fun. I wish I had her confidence.

1. Seungyeon

seungyeon

Birth name: Han Seung Yeon

Stage name: Seungyeon

Birthday: July 24, 1988

Official height: 160 cm

Position: Main Vocalist

Comment: Seungyeon is my favorite member of Kara for one big reason: her voice. It’s rare that I choose a bias almost completely based on talent, but as no other of the Kara members have done something to really catch my eye, and Seungyeon’s voice is really very good it’s the most reasonable choice. Check out her solo track if you don’t believe me:

 

I love that song, I really do.

I don’t like her for appearance, but she is a beauty, and that never hurts. She’s like a much cuter version of Uee from After School.


Let me know who your favorite member of Kara is in the poll!

If you have any comments, suggestions or requests for Tuesday’s review, Friday’s list of the week or next Sunday’s random post then leave a comment, send me an ask on tumblr or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

18 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of Kara

  1. I also don’t know anything about the new member, she’s pretty though lol.
    Hara, never a fan of, she comes off as a diva to me.
    I really like Gyuri, esp during her Shim Shim Ta Pa DJ period, she’s absolutely gorgeous.
    I could have sworn SeungYeon has a crush on Hyuk, but then again, so are majority of the female idols lol.

    Do you find it weird with Kara only have 4 members? I kind of miss Nicole and Jiyoung.

    1. Hyuk? Isn’t he too young for her? Lol

      It’s a little weird, but I’ve never been a fan, so it doesn’t matter much to me. I do kind of miss Nicole though, I like that girl.

  2. These optinated profiles are my favorite blog posts on this side ❤
    Honestly, Youngji is kind of a Sakura – I've seen the Kara Project and already in the first episode she hurt her leg and couldn't parttake in two weeks/episodes of Baby Kara's practices and performances just to be the only Baby Kara that made it into the group. I think that she's pretty but I would have preferred another trainee for the addition (Sojin was love, Sojin was life).

    I actually like every Kara member. I'm not a fan of Gyuri's looks but her sense of varierity is the reason I got into Kara in first place. Sometimes I wish you would include past members, too, since a Kara ranking without Nicole and Jiyoung seems so empty.
    My overall favorite would be either Jiyoung (for the longest time I thought she was boring but with 'Damaged Lady' I saw the light, just before she left!) or Gyuri.

    1. It’s too bad that I’m running out of them then xD I can only write about “my groups” and there’s not many left that I haven’t written about… I hope you’ll like the feature that follows too!

      I didn’t watch Kara Project at all so I really don’t know… I’ll just try to accept this girl for what she is. Why do you think she made it?

      Sometimes I would like to include past members too, but I’ve decided that I’ll only talk about current members for these posts, so I’ll stick to that.

      1. Well, she was one of the most popular and most beautiful girls on the show. Two members were still around 15 when the show was recorded so they didn’t have much chances, one always got poor responses, another one seemed really shy and so there were only Youngji, Somin and Sojin left. Somin and Sojin were both more talented singing and dancing-wise but Somin looks like Hara’s twin and Sojin wasn’t popular in Japan so they added Youngji.

        Well, I don’t hate Youngji but I have the feeling like the winner was a bit pre-determined. I mean, if you can’t participate on 2 out of 5 showcases…

      2. Yeah, that’s too bad… I’m not that into Kara though so as long as she isn’t terrible, and she doesn’t seem to be, I’m fine with her.

  3. YESSSS SEUNGYEON IS AMAZING!! Lol 😂 her voice is just ♥️♥️👌
    Hara, I love her personality and such but she’s pretty much the “pretty face” yet she gets the most attention in the group so people don’t seem to notice Seungyeon’s amazing talent.
    Gyuri, I don’t dislike her but I’m not sure if I like her either. I’ve been a kamilia since their debut “break it” and I’ve never really had an opinion about Gyuri.
    Youngji, I don’t exactly have an opinion on her either. Honestly, she hasn’t “wowed” me yet 😊 she has a great voice though.

    1. Haha I guess we have the same bias then? XD
      I’ve never watched anything that would give me a sense of Hara’s personality, but I do agree that she takes the attention away from more talented members of the group.
      I don’t have much of an opinion on Gyuri either. Wow you’ve liked them that long? That’s cool.
      She has a great voice? I haven’t noticed at all :O

  4. Yes, we have the same bias (: KARA and SNSD were the first girl groups I listened to in kpop so they’ve stuck with me for quite a while. Youngji has a great voice, besides KARA project, there are videos of her singing and dancing and she’s pretty good. Honestly, I did want Sojin or Somin to win but Youngji won and I’m happy for her. She wasn’t able to show much of her vocal capalities in the comeback album because some KAMILIAS are still a bit sore about the new member thing. So DSP figured that if they were to give youngji more lines or equal amount of lines as hara than the KAMILIAS would go ballistic. One thing is for sure, youngji is better in vocal talent than Hara but Hara has definitely improved a lot, although she is still the weakest link in KARA (in my opinion.)

    1. Yes, I’m sure you’re right about how the fans would react… How do you feel about the whole new member thing? I’ll just wait till she gets to show what she’s got then…

  5. I honestly don’t really have much of an opinion on the new member thing. After all, since I was a KAMILIA since their debut, after kim sunghee (their former leader) left, and then suddenly two random girls Hara and Jiyoung showed up, at first I didn’t accept it but they eventually grew on me. And now that nicole and jiyoung left, I figured, why not give Youngji a chance? I mean, I gave hara and jiyoung A chance and I ended up liking them as part of the group so I hope to see more of Youngji’s talents in the future. (: everyone deserves a chance.

    1. That’s very good of you. I guess having already had to accept new members makes it easier. Like I’m sure the fans of After School, for example, have no problem with new members xD

Leave a Reply

