Review of Stellar’s “Vibrato”

I’ve never ever written about Stellar on this blog before this and this is also the first time I’ve ever written a full review for a group that I don’t know the members of. I don’t know a single member in Stellar but with 15.91% of the votes this was the second-most voted for song in my “best song of July” poll, which means that it deserves a review. And I will now try to give it just that. 

Song

When I first checked out Stellar’s new single it was primarily for the controversy that I knew would come from it. When I first watched the video I didn’t even notice the song, I focused completely on the vagina innuendos and the less than subtle dance moves. But then one of my friends said something about her really liking the song, so I had to go back and try again. The next time I listened without watching, and I released that hidden under all the butt-thrusting is a very good song. It’s not perfect or amazing, but it’s definitely a song that deserves attention on its own merits.

Normally in this portion of the review I’d comment on how I thought the individual members did vocally, but since I don’t know these girls I can’t do that with confidence. I quite like the rapping and the singing from the orange-haired girl. (Hyoeun? Is that right?)

Lyrics

I expected hyper-sexualized lyrics from this song, and was quite surprised when it wasn’t like that. In these lyrics Stellar are basically hot, but cold, girls. The kind of girl that everybody wants, but who doesn’t really care. But now they’ve met someone that does make them care, someone with whom it’s all different.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.06.44

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.06.59

This a beautiful metaphor for the kind of girls they used to be. It’s a clear metaphor, yet slightly poetic. Really great first lines, it sets the tone.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.07.41

They just can’t understand what’s going on. They’re used to using and losing boys, but now they’re suddenly nervous? Strange.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.08.09

I think this is my favorite line in the entire song. It’s so confident (bordering on narcissistic) that it’s amazing. And I mean, they’re right. I wish I could be this confident.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.08.25

This is so cold, I love it.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.08.42

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.08.53

I like this part a lot. It shows that it’s not just so that Stellar are cold bitches, they’re just sick and tired of being hit on by sleazy guys whose only way of communicating with women is through bad pickup lines. And I can understand that completely. So when they’re finally approached in an interesting way, they fall hard.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.10.23

I love that in the beginning they’re a bit hesitant about the whole idea, a bit “no I can’t like him, that’s ridiculous”, they’ve now thrown that to the wind and want to know everything.

These lyrics aren’t really sexual at all, and I was shocked. I thought they’d take it all the way in all departments. But I like the lyrics, they’re understandable and even relatable at times.

Video

There’s definitely more to this video than just groping, which sadly kind of gets lost among all the well, groping.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.25.51

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.25.37

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.26.04

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.26.10

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.26.20

I know that I said that there was more to video than sexual stuff, but this has to be acknowledged. This is a hell of a lot of vagina references to throw at us one after the other. Not that I don’t appreciate a good referring to genitalia in my music videos, but did we really need this many? What purpose did they really serve?

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.22.45

Okay, what’s the deal with the barbie dolls? Why are they being torn apart and poured things on? Why are they even in the video? I feel like they serve a symbolic purpose, but I’m not sure what it is. Barbie is a figure whose appeal is simply physical, no one wants to listen to Barbie. Maybe that’s what Stellar are liking themselves to, and rejecting that notion. Maybe they’re rejecting the idea that they are simply dolls to be watched, saying that they’re people as well. Just a thought.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.21.21

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.21.10

These scenes are the best things about this video. In both the girls are scantily clad, in a small tight space and with cameras following their every move. At times the girls act sexy for the cameras, but other times they cower away in fear. I think what’s going on here is a direct reference to what’s going on with Stellar in the kpop industry. The only way for them to get attention is to take their clothes off and act sexy, but it’s not really what they want to do. Their story is in no way unique, but it’s a sad one nonetheless, and I think it was effectively shown here.

Dance

Stellar do not hold back when it comes to their dances. The main butt-bounce move is not sexy to me, it’s almost cute, but cute was for sure not what they were going for.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.25.15

We have this boob-rubbing move, which I think they perform effectively. There’s also a hand-between-the-legs move that I really enjoy, but that I couldn’t get a decent shot of.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.23.09

This is my favorite move in the entire dance. The hump-the-floor move. They do this move while singing about how they’re sick of guys complaining after they dump them. Honey, if this is what you used to do to them, I can understand that they want you back.

Outfits and Styling

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.24.53

Weirdly enough I quite like these outfits, both in black and in red. It’s obviously not something I could wear on a daily basis, but it works for what they’re doing and they look good in them.

I like the things they wear in their solo scenes just fine, with the sparkly white outfits having an extra edge in my book. Since they sparkle.

Okay now let’s see if I’ve been able to identify the girls well enough to comment on individual stylings…

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.22.19

I think I’ve correctly identified this girl as Hyoeun, the main vocalist of the group. She’s a very pretty girl, who’s surprisingly sexy if you consider her cute features. I think this hair color and the way it’s styled looks superb on her and I actually like the different colored lenses. I didn’t even notice it the first couple of times I watched the video, which means it’s just subtle enough.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.24.14

I think this is Minhee, and if I’m correct she’s also the lead vocalist of the group. I remember taking note of what I think was the same girl back during their “Marionette” promotions, finding her strangely sexy. I didn’t find her quite as intriguing this time around but she looked very good blonde nonetheless.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.27.04

I’m pretty sure this is Gayoung, the leader of the group. Even though she’s the leader I haven’t really noticed her at all during Stellar’s promotions, not now and not before. She’s pretty and all that and has a kind of sneaky face, but she hasn’t done more than that for me. Her hair is very standard and looks alright.

Skärmavbild 2015-08-13 kl. 08.25.00

If I’ve correctly identified the other girls that would mean that this has to be Junyool, the maknae of the group. I hadn’t noticed her before but in this era she’s definitely my favorite. Largely because of how effortlessly sexy she was in the dance practice, and because she rocks my world with that hair.


I’m not sure if so many of you voted for this song because you really like it or if you wanted me to get all judgmental about their dancing. I’m very openminded when it comes to being sexual, and as long as this wasn’t forced on them, I’m perfectly fine with it. I know that they do sexy concepts because that’s the only thing that gets them noticed, but as long as they’re okay with that decision I say let them work it! Ain’t nothing wrong with a girl showing off what she’s got.

One thought on “Review of Stellar’s “Vibrato”

Leave a Reply

