Opinionated Profile of Secret

secret

Wow, 40 random posts? I still remember the first one like it was yesterday… And also, 3 girl group profiles in a row? I don’t think that’s ever happened before.

Secret are the (to me) most notorious swappers in kpop, meaning that they jump back and forth between very sexy concepts and very cute concept like the rest of us switch our socks. And I think they do both really well. Very cute concepts normally aren’t my cup of tea (though I’m getting more into them lately. What’s happening to me?!) but the kind of sexy Secret provide me with is right up my alley. It may not be subtle, but the girls pull it off with a certain elegance and class that mean they never look cheap. Secret’s sexy concepts are just better than their cute ones in general. Their singing is better in those songs, and the dances are always more interesting. I haven’t seen Secret as one of my own for very long, so this might not be very insightful. But I’ll provide you with my thoughts nonetheless!

4. Hana

hana

Birth name: Jung Ha Na

Stage name: Hana

Birthday: February 2, 1990

Official height: 161 cm

Position: Vocalist, Main Rapper, Lead Dancer

Comment: I might be the only one who sees this, but I kind of think Hana looks like she could be Jea from Brown Eyed Girls’ younger sister. I’ve never thought that before, but while looking at some of their latest videos just now, it just hit me. Please let me know if you see it too, so I know if I’m crazy or not.

I have nothing against Hana, so don’t think me putting her last means I don’t like her. She just hasn’t captured me as much as the other members.

For a female idol rapper, Hana is actually pretty good. She isn’t great but her rapping has never ever made me cringe, and among female idols that’s really rare.

She’s a good dancer, the second-best in the group if you ask me.

Hana is the resident rapper, but she is a capable singer as well. She isn’t amazing or anything, but she can hold some of the easier parts with no problem.

 3. Sunhwa

sunhwa

Birth name: Han Sun Hwa

Stage name: Sunhwa

Birthday: October 6, 1990

Official height: 165 cm

Position: Vocalist, Visual, Maknae

Comment: Sunhwa is a beauty. When you look at her, it’s obvious that you’re looking at a visual. She isn’t the member that I find the most beautiful, but there’s no denying that she’s something special.

Sunhwa is a little more on the cute side, as Hana is a little more on the sexy side, but I do think she pulls off Secret’s sexier concepts with plenty grace. She doesn’t overdo it, and she doesn’t look too awkward.

Sunhwa is in no way an amazing singer, but she does hold her parts fairly well.

2. Hyosung

hyosung

Birth name: Jeon Hyo Sung

Stage name: Hyosung

Birthday: October 13, 1989

Official height: 160 cm

Position: Leader, Lead Vocalist, Main Dancer

Comment: I get it, guys, Hyosung has bigger boobs than me. No need to push them in my face and remind me in every single video. It’s quite amazing how they manage to always get some boob shots of her, even in the super cute videos. I don’t know how they do it. Oh wait, yes I do.

Hyosung is the cutest member, and the sexiest. She’s the perfect swapper, just like Secret as a whole is. It only makes sense that she’s the leader.

Hyosung is the best dancer in the group. Her boob thrusts are to die for.

Hyosung isn’t an amazing singer, but she’s the second-best in the group and always handles herself well. Her solo track didn’t really show her vocal capacity, but it was still pretty damn fabulous.

1. Jieun

jieun

Birth name: Song Ji Eun

Stage name: Jieun

Birthday: May 5, 1990

Official height: 160 cm

Position: Main Vocalist

Comment: Jieun is just great. She’s sexy, cute (though I think she overdoes the cute sometimes) and a really great singer. Her last solo track was just amazing, with a great message and if you haven’t heard it yet, I order you to watch this video before you keep reading:

 

You better not have skipped that. Jieun might not be my typical female bias, but in a lot of ways, she really is perfect for me. A stunning girl with a stunning voice who sings songs such as “Don’t Look At Me Like That” and “Going Crazy”? Yes, please.


Let me know who your favorite member of Secret is in the poll!

If you have any suggestions, comments or requests for Tuesday’s review, Friday’s list of the week or next Sunday’s random post then leave a comment, send me an ask on tumblr or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

8 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of Secret

  1. I am terrible, Secret only has 4 members and I still don’t know who’s who. I like this group, like you said they go from very crazy to very cute concepts and both work for them. I remember watching Zinger doing the crazy dance on a variety show, she immediately caught my eye.
    Sunhwa looks a lot older, am I the only one? She has that retro beauty face.
    Hyosung shares the same birthday with my mom, haha.
    And Jieun…. her latest music video had a strong message about being isolated and judged by others, and her acting was amazing as well.
    what’s your favorite song from them? I like My Boy.

    1. Haha it’s not always that simple though! I used to always mix up Jieun and Sunhwa… And I still do sometimes haha. I get confused!
      I don’t think she looks older than she is, but she does look like she’s from a different time.
      Yeah, her latest music video was amazing. I love that she tackled LGBTQ issues.
      My Boy? I don’t know that one… Are you sure you don’t mean Shy Boy haha? I think my favorite song from them is Magic, at least right now.

      1. Ah, I haven’t listened through their albums. And yeah, they look so stunning in the video. Like they do in all their videos for that matter.
        Yeah, me too. It’s a really interesting video. I loved her video for Going Crazy too, it was awesome.

  2. I assume we are allowed to share our random opinion? For some reason i just do not like this group at all, i just feel they are the wanna-Be’s. SNSD has been jumping around from sexy to cute for a while now and there are always other bands that hold both sides by themselves enough that i just don’t see this band as better than the others.

    1. Absolutely, opinions are always appreciated! I see Secret as the most successful at swapping, but that’s of course completely a matter of preference.

Leave a comment