Kpop Sub-Units Galore

Yes, I know, I missed another review. But I have a very good reason! I went to the zoo as a part of my “biological diversity” class to look at big mammals and didn’t get home until around 8:30… So it’s really not my fault.

This week I’m listing some of my favorite sub-units from some of my favorite groups. And yes, I’m allowing more than one sub-unit per group, if they’re awesome enough.

So here they are, in no logical order whatsoever, my favorite sub-units! (right now)

1. Orange Caramel

 

This is the only active sub-unit from After School right now, who even seem to be way more active than After School as a whole. I’ve heard that their stuff actually does better than the After School stuff, but I don’t know if that’s true.

Either way, Orange Caramel is a freaking fantastic sub-unit. They’re my favorite sub-unit on here, and I would even say that I like them more than I like After School. I really like the idea of After School, but Orange Caramel executes their brand of quirky cute so well that I can’t not like them. It’s a fantastic concept, and they just keep upgrading it for every single comeback.

2. After School Red

 

Yes, more After School. I don’t think I was aware of After School’s existence when this sub-unit worked their stuff, and didn’t hear this song until recently, but now I just can’t get enough of it. I can’t tell if anything about this is actually good, I’m just loving it all. I love the song, I love the video, I love the dance, and I love this specific live performance:

 

I’ve seen other lives, but there’s just something about this one that speaks to me. Don’t ask me why.

3. GD&TOP

 

This sub-unit, and this video specifically, was one of my absolute first introductions to BIGBANG. When I watched this I had no idea who these guys were, nor that there was a group called BIGBANG that they were both in.

Also, this was the first time I ever saw T.O.P, who is now one of my top male biases. I clearly remember how my friend thought he was sleazy, while I thought he was one of the absolute sexiest things I’d ever seen. If only I had known what a ride this beautiful super-blond man would take me on…

4. Girls’ Generation-TTS

 

It’s definitely possible to argue that Jessica should have been in this “top vocalists only”-sub-unit (instead of Seohyun in that case, I’d say) but even without her, this is one great combination of girls. These girls deserve to shine, and when they’re not being dragged down by way-more-average vocalists, they really do. I haven’t been loving “Holler” yet, but it has been growing on me, and “Twinkle” was great. Now if only we could get a sexy-dance sub-unit made up of Sooyoung, Yuri and Hyoyeon my Sone heart would be at peace.

5. Infinite H

 

I’m not so crazy about Infinite H anymore, but I listened to their songs to such an extreme level last year that it would be impossible to not include them.

Hoya and Dongwoo are good singers, way above average for idol rappers when it comes to rap skills, and the two best dancers (I think) in a group that is one of the best dance groups in kpop, so together they’re quite unstoppable.

Plus, Dongwoo is my favorite member of Infinite, so the more screen time he gets, the better.

6. T-ARA N4

 

T-ARA N4 is basically just a more concentrated version of T-ARA as a whole. The single they released could most certainly have been a T-ARA song, and since I like T-ARA, I most certainly like T-ARA N4.

Actually, I could be fine with just T-ARA N4. Eunjung, Hyomin and Jiyeon are my three favorite members of T-ARA, and they’re all here. I might want to keep Soyeon for pure vocal power, but I’d be fine without her.

I’ve heard that since Ahreum is no longer a part of T-ARA, some absurdly young girl named Dani has taken her place in T-ARA N4, but not in T-ARA. But there’s been no new T-ARA N4 stuff after Ahreum left, so what was the point of even announcing that? Does that mean we will get new stuff from T-ARA N4 in the future or was it just an FYI?

7. Super Junior-T

 

Super Junior have about a billion sub-units, but this is obviously the best one. I haven’t heard much trot (I would love recommendations!) but I’ve liked almost all trot I’ve heard, and this song and video are just incredible. There is no way you’re not happy after listening to this. Plus they get some bonus points for how sexy Heechul looks in that long black hair. Please, Heechul! Grow your hair back out!

8. Donghae & Eunhyuk

 

Let’s round out this list with another amazing Super Junior sub-unit. Yes, this is Japanese, which is not what this blog is about, but this song and video are just too amazing to ignore. From Donghae’s terrible English, to their gold and silver suits, to how stunning they both look, this is purely flawless. And I’m sure that the fact that this sub-unit exists, and sings about how they want someone to ride them, makes a lot of EunHae shippers very happy.


Let me know what some of your favorite kpop sub-units are in the comments!

If you have any comments, suggestions or requests for Sunday’s random post, Tuesday’s review or next Friday’s list of the week then leave a comment, send me an ask on tumblr or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

2 thoughts on “Kpop Sub-Units Galore

  1. SJ has 5 sub unites (T, H, KRY, M and EH) I would add KRY on my list lol they’re the perfect vocal subunit, their voices compliment each other so well.
    Although I’m not a fan of TTS’s music, SM picked the right members to be on this unit.
    Orange Caramel, absolutely love, still laugh every time when I watch Catalena music video.
    Not too familiar with other AS sub-units.
    Eunhae… SO GLAD you put them on your list. I could go on and on about them but I don’t wanna bore you. Bottom line, they have amazing chemistry on and off stage, they put on awesome over the top performances, total dorks but truly talented.
    I’m not an Eunhae shipper, because in my mind Donghae ranks higher and i like them as individuals but I love seeing them together.

Leave a Reply

