Opinionated Profile of ATEEZ

ateez.jpg

I am beyond obsessed with ATEEZ right now. I didn’t even notice their debut, but when they released “Say My Name” I took notice, and was immediately shook. These boys are just SO good. Most of all, I am so impressed by the fire in their eyes when they perform. You can watch any member, and whether they’re singing or not, even if they’re barely in frame, they are always bringing it.

So, now, it is time to rank.

(All the profile info is taken from KProfiles, so thank you to them for being such a great resource!)

8. San

san.jpg

Birth name: Choi San

Stage name: San

Birthday: July 10, 1999

Official height: 173 cm

Position: Main Dancer, Lead Vocalist

Comment: First of all, I do not dislike San, but someone has to be last.

Frankly, San is a major diva, in the style of classic kpop divas that have come before him. And honestly, it is a bit much for me. Also, the aegyo is a bit much. It doesn’t make me dislike him or anything, but it just isn’t quite my cup of tea.

San is one of the better dancers in a group of many great ones. I personally would say he’s my fourth favorite, and I probably would have called him more of a lead than a main, but oh well. He’s good.

We all know who carries this entire group on his shoulders vocally, but besides him, San is one of the better ones. I would quite decisively call him second-best, for sure.

 

7. Yunho

yunho.jpg

Birth name: Jeong Yun Ho

Stage name: Yunho

Birthday: March 23, 1999

Official height: 184 cm

Position: Main Dancer, Vocalist

Comment: I like certain things about Yunho a lot, like his work ethic and his choreographing, and I can find nothing bad to say about him, but I haven’t really connected with him on a personal level, which is why I rank him this low.

Yunho is an excellent dancer, and while I would probably only rank him third based on my personal taste, I would never deny that he is really really good.

Yunho is an okay vocalist, and he even has some parts in one of their songs (Is it “Treasure”? It may be.) that almost had me saying that he could rival San for second-best. I’m not sure if that’s really the case, but he is quite stable and good vocal asset.

 

6. Yeosang

yeosang.jpg

Birth name: Kang Yeo Sang

Stage name: Yeosang

Birthday: June 15, 1999

Official height: 173 cm

Position: Lead Dancer, Vocalist, Visual

Comment: This group has three visuals, according to the source I am using, but when I think of ATEEZ’s visual, I definitely think of Yeosang first. The boy is beautiful, with sharp yet delicate features.

Yeosang is a very good dancer, but I have not really noted him as a stand-out in that department. Frankly, the whole group are very good dancers.

He doesn’t get a massive amount of lines, so it’s hard to say how good of a vocalist he is, but the lines he does have are always handled well. I really like his part in “Hala Hala” (however rude it may be).

I also find him quite funny, especially when he’s making “seductive” videos for fans. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to find them funny, but I do.

 

5. Jongho

jongho.jpg

Birth name: Choi Jong Ho

Stage name: Jongho

Birthday: October 12, 2000

Official height: 176 cm

Position: Main Vocalist, Maknae

Comment: Jongho can sing circles around the rest of this group in his sleep. And that’s not because the rest of the group are such horrible singers (though I wouldn’t call this a vocal group). Jongho is just that good. His lines are pretty much always very powerful, and a climactic moment in each song. It’s like every line is a high note, in its impact.

Honestly, the main reason why I am ranking Jongho this high is because of his amazing voice, because besides that he hasn’t really endeared himself to me much more than those who I rank below him. I like how he breaks fruits, though.

4. Hongjoong

hongjoong.jpg

Birth name: Kim Hong Joong

Stage name: Hongjoong

Birthday: November 7, 1998

Official height: 171 cm

Position: Leader, Lead Rapper, Vocalist, Center, Composer

Comment: This boy has aaaaall the positions. Hongjoong makes a lot of sense as the center, and was definitely the first member that really stood out to me. He seems to be a very nice boy, and his composing is both impressive and kinda adorable.

I can’t really remember Hongjoong singing, so I don’t really see him as a vocalist at all, but his rapping is very good. He has a more high-pitched voice than I usually prefer, but I just love how he pulls at his voice. His rap in “Pirate King” is life. So soft, yet so cool.

Hongjoong rules on stage, and is absolutely always worth watching (as are they all, honestly).

 

3. Mingi

mingi.jpg

Birth name: Song Min Gi

Stage name: Mingi

Birthday: August 9, 1999

Official height: 183 cm

Position: Main Rapper, Lead Dancer

Comment: When I first heard “Say My Name”, which was the first song I heard from them, I was blown away by the deeeeeep voice I heard in the chorus. If you know me, you know I am a slut for a deep-voiced rapper. What confused me though was that different members took turns lip-syncing that part, but it always sounded like the same voice. After some sleuthing I am pretty sure (please don’t tell me I’m wrong now… I’ve gone through too much…) that that voice is Mingi. That in itself means a lot to me.

I love his dancing, and he is probably my favorite dancer in the group. He just has such bounce. (Also, how is he not a main dancer? Unfair.)

I really like a lot of things about Mingi, so the reason why he isn’t my bias is really his personality. I don’t dislike him, not at all, but he is a wee bit too goofy to be perfect for me.

2. Wooyoung

wooyoung.jpg

Birth name: Jeong Woo Yeong

Stage name: Wooyoung

Birthday: November 26, 1999

Official height: 172 cm

Position: Main Dancer, Vocalist, Visual

Comment: I really didn’t foresee putting Wooyoung this high on my ranking when I first started looking into this group, but now this just seems so right.

Wooyoung is a really great dancer, and is probably my personal second-favorite. The way he dances is not only sexy (which seems to be what’s most emphasized) but also so groovy and fluid. In those duo dance videos he did with San, my eyes were always drawn to Wooyoung. (No hate to San though, he did very well too.)

The main reason I am drawn to Wooyoung (besides him looking great, being a great dancer and slaying the stage every time) is his personality. It’s hard to put my finger on what exactly it is that makes me like him so much, but he just seems… kind. I dunno, I just get really good vibes from him.

1.Seonghwa

seonghwa.jpg

Birth name: Park Seong Hwa

Stage name: Seonghwa

Birthday: April 3, 1998

Official height: 178 cm

Position: Vocalist, Visual

Comment: You may fool around with hot, fun boys like Wooyoung and Mingi, but this is the one you marry. Plus, he’s gorgeous, so it’s not like you’re missing out there.

When I first encountered ATEEZ in the video for “Say My Name”, Mingi’s voice did stand out to me, but so did Seonghwa’s face. He looks absolutely amazing in that video.

I love his obsessive cleaning, I love his cooking, I love his chicness, I love the crazy ways he pulls at his face on stage (it’s glorious), I love how he’s actually pretty chill, I love that he looks up to Taemin (stan talent that stans talent yo). What can I say, this is the bias for me. He doesn’t get a lot of lines, but oh does he work the ones he gets. Also, in a group of tiny babies, he is the oldest. He’s only 14,5 months younger than me, which I can almost pretend is the same age.


4 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of ATEEZ

Leave a comment