Opinionated Profile of BLACKPINK

I love Blackpink, and besides the no longer existent I.O.I they were my favorite rookies of 2016. This profile has been a while coming, and I’m sorry about that, but here it is. My definitive opinions and my ranking of these lovely ladies.

4. Jisoo

Birth name: Kim Ji Soo

Stage name: Jisoo

Birthday: January 3, 1995

Official height: 162 cm

Position: Lead Vocalist, Visual

Comment: All of the ladies of Blackpink are lovely and I’m really fond of all of them, but someone has to be last, that’s how these posts work. (The SHINee one was an exception.)

Jisoo is really pretty, and while I don’t think she’s an amazing singer, she has a stable amount of talent, like the entirety of this very talented group. But I have to put her last because I’m just not vibing as much with her as I am with the others. I feel like she’s being marketed as the sweeter one, the gentler one, and that’s not exactly my cup of tea. (Oh, and btw, 2NE1 never had a gentle one, and if you try and tell me so I will fight you. #blackjackforever)

3. Lisa

Birth name: Lalisa Manoban / Pranpriya Manoban

Stage name: Lisa

Birthday: March 27, 1997

Official height: 167 cm

Position: Main Dancer, Lead Rapper, Maknae

Comment: I think all of Blackpink are very dynamic dancers, but I do have to say I have paid extra notice to Lisa while dancing; she has a certain fire to her. She’s also a good rapper, very good for an idol, and while she is not my favorite rapper in the group, she does have some amazing lines.

2. Rosé

Birth name: Park Chae Young / Roseanne Park

Stage name: Rosé

Birthday: February 11, 1997

Official height: 168 cm

Position: Main Vocalist

Comment: Rosé is the main vocalist, and while I haven’t seen any amazing vocal performances from her yet, I do think she seems suited to that position.

I don’t know what it is about Rosé… On some level I feel like I like Lisa more, but switching their positions here would feel very wrong. There’s just something about this girl… I realize she’s being marketed as the sexy one, which she seems very capable of pulling off, but I don’t think that’s it. I’ll get back to you when I figure out why I can’t seem to let her go.

1. Jennie

Birth name: Kim Je Ni / Jennie Kim

Stage name: Jennie

Birthday: January 16, 1996

Official height: 163 cm

Position: Main Rapper, Lead Vocalist

Comment: I waited for Jennie for years. She was called “YG’s secret weapon” by Seungri back in 2013, she was featured here and there and her debut was teased for a long time. And it worked, because when she finally made her official appearance I was already a fan. Sneaky, YG.

I may be totally spacing right now, but I can’t remember Jennie doing loads of singing. Not enough for her to be credited as a lead vocalist, at least. What am I forgetting here?

I like Jennie’s rapping a lot. It’s tight, she has a lower tone than most girls which I love and she has some iconic lines already.

Jennie, you made it. And I made it through waiting for you. Good for us.

Leave a Reply

