Top 16 Kpop Singles from 2016 (Female Artists)

You know the jist, this is not the first time I’ve done this (2013, 2014, 2015). Only one song per artist/ group (subunits are counted as a different group from the main group) is permitted on here, no matter how hard that gets for me. These are the 16 lady songs that have defined my year, the ones I’ve played in absurdum. Get ready to judge me.

16. AOA Cream’s “I’m Jelly Baby”

Kinda silly song, I know. But once you allow yourself to listen to it you will neverΒ get it out of your mind.

15. Anda’s “TAXI”

Have you guys heard of Anda? Well you have now. She makes songs that are somehow really awesome and kinda bad all rolled into one amazing ball. And this is the best I’ve ever heard from her.

14. Dalshabet’s “Fri.Sat.Sun.”

One of my favorite videos of the year. I love that they decided to not include a guy in the video, which they very easily could have done, instead they just made it all about some cool girls kicking it together. Awesome. They don’t need no man.

13. Davichi’s “Beside Me”

Davichi are the ballad queens, and among the few people who can get me to consistently like ballads. This is my favorite song to belt right now, by far.

12. I.O.I ‘s “Whatta Man (Good Man)”

Any song that reminds me of my boyfriend is always gonna work for me. This song is catchy, fun, self-assured and awesome.

11. Jun Hyoseong’s “Find Me”

Jun Hyoseong is a very dependable solo artist and with Secret’s disbandment probably imminent, I depend on her (and Song Jieun) to keep pumping out awesome stuff. Oh and the sparkly corsets? Yes, please.

10. Luna’s “Free Somebody”

Luna deserved a solo debut song that was just this good. Queen.

9. Stellar’s “Crying”

Awesome summer song and if you just casually ignore the lyrics, this song can get you feeling very happy and upbeat!

8. MAMAMOO’s “Decalcomanie”

With the loss of my favorite girl group 2NE1 I am in need of a new group of girls to blow my mind, and MAMAMOO could be up to that challenge… The decision has not yet been made, but they may be amazing enough to hold that position.

7. Jessica Jung’s “Fly”

Such an uplifting song, and I think many of us could use some of this, all the time.

6. Sistar’s “I Like That”

Queens. Sistar are really growing in my esteem.

5. BLACKPINK’s “Whistle”

The queens of this rookie year for sure. I can’t wait to see what they’ll do next.

4. AOA’s “Good Luck”

I’ve been neutral going on positive at best when it comes to AOA, but this song just blew my freaking mind. It was a whole new, much cooler AOA, and they better stay this way forever.

3. Wonder Girls’ “Why So Lonely”

Wonder Girls are coming up on ten years as a group, and I think this is the best they’ve ever been. I’m so proud (?) that they were what introduced me to kpop, seven years ago.

2. Twice’s “Cheer Up”

I think this is the defining song of 2016, in all its catchy amazingness. Such fun, and so easy to sing along to. A worthy follow-up to the debut song of my favorite rookies from 2015.

1. Amber’s “Borders”

Not exactly as famous as my number two, but I really needed this song this year. It made me feel like I could do anything in moments when I felt I could do nothing. Thanks, Amber, you da real MVP.


That’s my top girl songs this year! Whatcha think? Stay tuned for the top songs from male artists!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top 16 Kpop Singles from 2016 (Female Artists)

  1. Yes! Borders! Someone else actually cares about that awesome song! Im so happy to see Amber at no. 1, I didn’t even expect it. It’s quite a motivational song. πŸ˜ƒβ€
    Have you heard ‘On My Own’ by her too? It has English and Korean verisons.
    Oh and did you get yourself to watch NCT 127’s comeback? πŸ˜‚ It’s not that great to be honest. πŸ˜•

      1. Exactly what I felt too! πŸ˜‚ Not that great, but not as bad as Firetruck. πŸ˜‚ I really miss Ten. And all these 127 guys looked like they were covered in ketchup with all the excessive red clothing. πŸ˜‚

      2. I do not know who Ten is. Hehe. And yes, some of the styling was… questionable. I mean, I go crazy for Taeyong, but not even I could love him what that hair.

  2. Ten, the Thai member from the orignal NCT U with the yellow shirt and perfect profile, who raps in The 7th Sense alongside plants within a glass. πŸ˜‚ He was in Mnet’s Hit the Stage too!
    I agree, Taeyong’s hair didn’t suit him. Some of his lines in which he sounds like he’s doing an extended groan are very irritating to listen too. πŸ˜‘

    1. I haven’t seen hit the stage yet, so no spoilers haha! I think I know who he is though… I really haven’t gotten into NCT haha. Yeah, Taeyong is not a great rapper. But he is so pretty~

Leave a Reply

