Ranking of the Singles – 2NE1

I’m back with another Ranking of the Singles and this time we’re tackling my absolute favorite girl group: 2NE1. The online random number generator has spoken. 

This will be a difficult post to write, not just because I’m such a big fan of 2NE1, but also because they have released so many singles. I’m only doing their Korean singles, and only the ones listed on their wikipedia page (which I’m strongly sensing aren’t all of them) but that still amounts to a total of 17 singles, and that’s not including ”Lollipop”, since that was a collaboration with Big Bang. Also, this was written about a month in advance, so if they’ve released something in that time, that is why it’s not included here.

17. ”Follow Me” (March 10th, 2010)

If I was going to name a 2NE1 single that I don’t like, I guess it would have to be this one. While it has a certain catchiness it’s also absurdly auto-tuned and a bit obnoxious. Sorry, girls, but even a hardcore Blackjack can speak the truth sometimes.

16. ”Go Away” (September 9th, 2010)

I don’t dislike this song, actually when I actually listen to it, I quite like it. But I always seem to forget about it. It’s not super memorable, and not 2NE1’s strongest effort, but I still appreciate it.

15. ”Gotta Be You” (May 20th, 2014)

This is 2NE1’s latest single at the time I’m writing this. I remember when I first listened through this album, I loved plenty of songs on there, but this one just passed through my mind, leaving no trace. So I was really surprised that they later decided to promote it. It’s not that it’s bad, it’s just not very special.

14. ”It Hurts” (October 31st, 2010)

This is a ballad, so it’s actually quite impressive that it’s even this high up. As a ballad I actually quite like it! But well. It’s still a ballad. And you all know I in general just don’t clown with ballads.

13. ”Lonely” (May 11th, 2011)

This song is quite good, and if you’re in the right mood it will hit straight home. It may even make you cry. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. But if you’re not in that kind of mood, it might seem a bit boring. It’s definitely a situational song.

12. ”Hate You” (July 20th, 2011)

This was one of the very first 2NE1 songs I ever heard, and for a while there I was completely obsessed with. I think this might have been the first song that I ”nailed” singing along to with the romanized lyrics. The quotation marks are very important. I don’t love it in quite the same way anymore, but it will always be a bit special to me.

11. ”Falling in Love” (July 7th 2013)

I was quite disappointed when this song first came out, but after having gotten used to it for a while, and accepting that this was something 2NE1 did, I actually weirdly like it. It’s fun and cute and summery which are things I thought I wouldn’t ever get from 2NE1, but it also has just a tiny bit of their signature attitude as well, which elevates it.

10. ”I Don’t Care” (August 26th, 2009)

This might have been the first 2NE1 song I ever heard, but I’m not totally sure of that. But I do distinctively remember the first friend I ever got into kpop loving this song and me never really understanding what the big fuss was all about. I get it now. This is all of 2NE1’s signature girl power, but in a more chillaxed package.

9. ”I Love You” (July 6th, 2012)

Wow we’re down to the single digits! This is a song that I always forget to acknowledge how much I like, but it is really cool. The verses especially always help me get my groove on. This is sophisticated 2NE1, something we don’t often get.

8. ”Clap Your Hands” (September 8th, 2010)

This is a song that I probably heard a long time ago, but that I didn’t rediscover until about a year ago. Whenever I saw this video pop up as a suggestion on youtube I always thought ”oh it’s that song I don’t like”. I think I might have been confusing it with ”Follow Me”, because there’s no way I’ve ever disliked this song.

7. ”Missing You” (November 20th, 2013)

It’s really quite shocking that this song is this high up here, given the speed of this track. But for some reason I’ve just always loved it. I think the strong contrast between their voices helps, it makes it more engaging to listen to. And honestly, a lot of kpop groups have voices that sound fairly similar. Not identical, but for sure similar. With 2NE1 it’s always easy to tell who’s singing.

6. ”Do You Love Me” (August 7th, 2013)

This song somehow ear-wormed its way into my head and then my heart. It’s absurdly catchy, so much fun and for sure a song for summer. I feel like this is a song you either hate or you love. And I love it.

5. ”Fire” (August 17th, 2009)

This was 2NE1’s debut, and the start of their amazing career. I have on recent years realized just how awesome of a track this is, and how well it defined 2NE1’s style right from the get-go. It’s a bit unpolished compared to most of the rest of their work, but it makes up for it with sass and gloriousness.

4. ”Can’t Nobody” (September 11th, 2010)

I’m 99% sure that this was the song that convinced me to become a 2NE1 fan, and for the longest time it was my absolute favorite among their discography. I was so so thankful when I discovered the English version, and even though I now listen to the Korean version more or less exclusively, the English version will always hold a certain place in my ”likes to sing along”-heart.

3. ”Ugly” (July 27th, 2011)

I think we’ve all felt like this at least once, and some of us definitely more than once. That’s why this song hits home. And even though 2NE1 are all gorgeous megastars, they somehow managed to sing this song in a way that doesn’t make me want to say ”WHAT THE HELL DO YOU KNOW ABOUT FEELING UGLY?”. Because even the most beautiful and seemingly confident people do sometimes feel like this, even 2NE1.

2. ”Come Back Home” (March 2nd, 2014)

When this song (and video) came out, it blew my freaking mind. And it’s still awesome. This is a song that’s both easy and fun to sing along with, and feels like it holds a message. It makes me feel in ways a song this catchy and that I shouldn’t really be able to relate to shouldn’t be able to. The album it’s from is also the best 2NE1 ever released, just fyi.

1. ”I Am the Best” (June 27th, 2011)

Honestly, you all knew it. This is the song that represents 2NE1, and that always will, and just as it itself says, it is the best.


Wow this was hard! And going through all these awesome songs by this group I love really helped me remember all the good times I’ve had with them. I got a little sentimental singing along with them hardcore hating on people, and I think that’s beautiful.

3 thoughts on “Ranking of the Singles – 2NE1

Leave a Reply

