Review of DAY6’s ”Letting Go”

It’s become kind of a pattern for one act to win in both polls, and once more this is what happened. The winning act got a higher percentage in the album poll which means that this single review goes to the runner-up, DAY6, who got 17% of the votes (in both polls actually). 

Song

This is DAY6’s second single, their first comeback. And since I loved their debut song, named it my 11th favorite song by a male act in 2015 and named the group my 7th favorite rookies of the year in question, this was definitely a comeback that caught my eye. But well. I’m just not feeling it. It’s not a bad song, and it’s definitely in the style of what they previously did so well, but I found it extremely forgettable. The boys did their jobs admirably, but this song is just not a home run. I’m sorry.

Even though he’s not my favorite member, and I usually can’t remember his name, I’d have to say that Sungjin is for sure the member that gives DAY6 their distinct color, and that is true here as always. The four members that sing do it well, with, besides Sungjin, Young K standing out especially much and Wonpil not holding quite as high a standard as the other three.

I’m a bit confused about the lack of Jae in this song. He did a very good and memorable job in ”Congratulations”, but in this song he got basically no lines? Why? Rude.

Lyrics

Even though I would absolutely hate it if someone did that to me, I’m a big fan of the ”noble breakup”. The ”I’m breaking up with you so you can be happy because I know I can’t give you what you need”. I would hate it in real life and I hate it on tv/in movies, but for some reason I love it in songs. And these lyrics are a nice depiction of that, best illustrated by the chorus itself:

”I’d been holding on to you for so long

But now I must let go

There’s nothing I can do for you

It’s the only way to make you happy

So I let go, let go, let go”

It’s straight-forward and clear, and I like these lyrics a lot. Apparently they were written by Young K and Wonpil, so all the cred goes to them. Good job, boys.

Video

This is a very simple video, with pretty much nothing to comment on. No plot, no nothing.

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.18.46

Most of the video is in this setting, dark and blue-toned, with the guys at their instruments. I wish it wasn’t quite as dark, but it’s fine.

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.19.55

There’s a theme of duplicates in this video that I want to interpret in some clever way. Maybe it’s some kind of depiction of the contrasting emotions that they may feel about the approaching breakup? That could be something but there’s nothing in the behavior of the clones that makes that a necessary interpretation. Oh well. It’s something.

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.21.25

What’s better than one kpop star? A shitload! Now everyone who biases him can have one!

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.21.40

The climax of the duplication comes with this scene, where suddenly there are a whole bunch of DAY6s, simultaneously rocking out. Pretty cool.

”Okay guys, now let’s just move over there and play the song one more time!”

”But.. We’ve already played it in fifteen different spots in this room!”

”IT. IS. NOT. ENOUGH.”

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.19.23

Jae is sitting all calm by the table, playing and singing, surrounded by smashed-up guitars. Inner turmoil?

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.19.41

We get this shot of Sungjin through the sunroof…

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.19.48

And then we pan down, and he isn’t there anymore. But his voice keeps going, as if nothing is wrong. I can’t quite grasp the meaning, if there is one, but it’s probably my favorite scene in the video.

Dance

DAY6 is a band. They play instruments. There is no dance.

Outfits and Styling

I tried to get screenshots to use when commenting on the styling, the way I usually do, but this video was so not helpful with that. It’s quite dark, it doesn’t focus on their faces that much (not zoomed-in, at least) and it often cuts them off so you can’t see their hair. I could have pulled something together, but frankly, I got frustrated and rage-quit. Sorry about that. But since I guess you’ve all seen the video (if you haven’t it’s right at the beginning of this post, just fyi) so I’ll just comment on how the boys look without the accompanying pictures I’d usually use.

I was weirdly attracted to Sungjin in their debut video, but at the same time I found him strange-looking. Here I don’t think he looks quite as strange, but I’m also not as attracted to him. The hair is fine, but it doesn’t really pull him in any direction whatsoever.

Jae looks awesome. He’s way too cute to be my type, but the glasses combined with the glorious blonde side-sweep is just right for him.

Young K is a sexy dude. I don’t like it when they put his hair down, let it cover his face and allow it to be all flat. The guy needs volume and wildness, and in most parts of the video he also got that. Very nice. Oh and:

Skärmavbild 2016-04-21 kl. 19.21.17

I’m always down for a guy who can pull off bling like that.

Wonpil looks crazy, but in kind of a sexy way. It’s like the shots of Lee Joon from when he played a psychopath in Gap-dong. I like it, but I’m also a little scared.

First of all, you barely get to see Dowoon at all in this video. I guess that’s the sad fate of a drummer who doesn’t sing when there isn’t a plot to take part in… But when you do see him, he looks good! Nothing wild or extravagant going on, but it’s nice.


The video is fine, but doesn’t say much. And I’m just not getting into the song. Young K is an extremely stable bias though; he’s unbelievably my type.

Leave a Reply

