Girl Power

I consider myself a pretty strong and self-sufficient woman, who don’t need no man, but who knows how to get one if I happen to want one. But that doesn’t mean I never feel down on myself, never beat myself up or never forget how much I am truly worth. This post is for all you fabulous ladies out there, who sometimes need a little pick me up.

You Do Not Need No Man (or a Girl, for That Matter)

”I want to take care of myself

The other girls may have rich parents or a rich boyfriend

And live comfortably, but I’m not interested in that

That’s why I’m proud of myself.”

”Who will diss you? Who dares to diss you?

There’s a person who will love you right here

So who will diss you?

The diss that scratches up the heart

Is said because they don’t know you

Just cast them away, those kinds of people”

Don’t be self-concious – get real

Empty your complicated mind – erase all your pointless worries

Girls night out, it’s all about us girls”

But If You Want One…. Then You Can Get One!

”We have a female president

Why so timid? What’s the problem?

If a girl kisses first, she gets arrested or what?”

”TOUCH MY BODY”

Either Way, You Are Amazing and Strong. Never Forget That.

”A girl who is greedier than most people

A girl who hates losing more than dying

A girl who has a strange charm that you can’t deny

A girl who shines even when she says something poisonous 

A girl who doesn’t pretend not to know when she does know

A girl who is attractive without knowing exactly what it is about her”

“This is for all my bad girls around the world

Not bad meaning bad but bad meaning good, you know

Let’s light it up and let it burn like we don’t care

Let em know how it feels damn good to be bad”

”You couldn’t say a thing in front of me

But you could talk badly about me behind my back

I’m dumbfounded

It seems like the first time you’ve seen a girl like me

Why do you judge me?

Are you afraid of me, perhaps?”

”Even when I’m drunk and crawling back home

You, who used to take care of me, aren’t by my side

So it feels crappy but I like that, I like that

I feel gross but it’s alright.”

”Starting now be more honest

Starting now, with more confidence

Show your feelings

Right now”

”Hello, can I say something?

You say you know me that well?

It’s so strange, when you’re in front of me

You can’t say anything but you talk a lot behind my back

I’d be crazy to do those things

Would I really be that bad?

The cowards talk a lot under the tree they can’t climb

You can talk all you want

Make it loud, make it more, make me hot”

”I refuse to be compared

I’m telling you the truth

If we’re talking about my value

I’m a billion dollar baby”


I was gonna do this as just a regular list, listing some songs that are girl power-y, but I decided to go with the lyrics instead. I wrote this because I was feeling down on myself in a way that I refuse to accept. I am worth more than that. As are all of you.

3 thoughts on “Girl Power

Leave a Reply

