Opinionated Profile of UP10TION

up10tion

Such baby rookies. I first noticed UP10TION when their debut song ”So, Dangerous” started doing quite well on this weekly kpop chart I almost always watch. I liked the section of the song that was on the chart, so eventually I caved and looked it up. I immediately really liked the song, and that lead to me eventually giving in and deciding that yes, I can handle another huge group in my life. And I’m so glad that I did go there, because these are some pretty damn entertaining boys. 

10. Sunyool

sunyool

Birth name: Seon Ye In

Stage name: Sunyool

Birthday: November 6, 1996

Official height: 175 cm

Position: Vocalist

Comment: I don’t have anything against Sunyool, and he is for sure a good singer. It’s  just that everything about him is so… weak. His voice when he speaks is very high-pitched and weak, he’s physically weak (not that that matters much) and his personality is also quite meek. And I’m in general not into singers with very high-pitched voices. So while I’ve got nothing against him, he just doesn’t really appeal to me either.

9. Xiao

xiao

Birth name: Lee Dong Yeol

Stage name: Xiao

Birthday: December 13, 1998

Official height: 177 cm

Position: Vocalist, Maknae

Comment: Xiao is actually quite funny and there’s definitely a fabulous sense of sass to him, but for some reason I still find myself getting annoyed by him. We just don’t click; at least we haven’t so far. As part of the 98-line I find him fabulous though, but those two boys together just make such magic.

So yeah, we haven’t really connected. And he isn’t a strong singer and doesn’t have much lines, so that can’t pull him up either.

8. Wei

wei

Birth name: Lee Sung Jun

Stage name: Wei

Birthday: June 8, 1996

Official height: 185 cm

Position: Rapper

Comment: I’m wavering when it comes to Wei. Sometimes I find him very bland and pay next to no attention to him, but at other times he interests me quite a bit. His aegyo is also surprisingly good. And what’s even more surprising: it barely grosses me out at all. Now that is an achievement. Wei can (and sometimes does) definitely climb several positions on this list.

7. Bit-to

bitto

Birth name: Lee Chang Hyun

Stage name: Bit-to

Birthday: August 24, 1996

Official height: 180 cm

Position: Rapper

Comment: Bit-to is, just like his rap colleague Wei, hard to place. Occasionally he does next to nothing for me, but at other times I find him really funny. In the end I had to fall back on the fact that I think Bit-to is the better rapper of the two to decide which of them would go on top. Bit-to is actually surprisingly good, especially for being from a group that isn’t hiphop- or rap-focused.

6. Wooshin

wooshin

Birth name: Kim Woo Seok

Stage name: Wooshin

Birthday: October 27, 1996

Official height: 175 cm

Position: Vocalist, Visual

Comment: Look at this little baby visual. Wooshin is so so pretty; he definitely has that visual look. But for being a visual he also has a surprisingly good voice! I know it isn’t the case in every group, but a lot of visuals aren’t… the most essential for their groups musical ability. Wooshin is definitely an exception, which I like.

Something that’s also quite surprising is that his personality doesn’t at all match his face. His face is so cute, but he has a quite serious and masculine vibe to him. The mismatch is for sure a plus for me. As are his completely useless personal talents.

5. Jinhoo

jinhoo

Birth name: Kim Jin Wook

Stage name: Jinhoo

Birthday: August 2, 1995

Official height: 173 cm

Position: Vocalist, Leader

Comment: When I first saw Jinhoo I instinctively didn’t like him. Something about his face struck a nerve with me. And know I have no idea why that was. He’s getting more attractive the more I see of him, he seems like a good leader, he’s definitely one of the best singers and he’s funny. I’ve got only good things to say about him now. And how could I not like those giant lips? I mean, I bias Niel for god’s sake.

4. Gyujin

gyujin

Birth name: Han Gyu Jin

Stage name: Gyujin

Birthday: November 21, 1997

Official height: 181 cm

Position: Vocalist

Comment: Gyujin hasn’t really made any big mark on his group’s music, at least not so far, so there are two main reasons why I like him enough to put him fourth: his face, and how much of an idiot he is. I absolutely love those huge eyebrows, and his face in general is just very striking. But the main thing putting him here is yeah… his general dumbassness. (Which is totally a word, by the way.) Everything he does is just funny, and I’m not sure if he himself is aware of it. If he is, then major kudos, because that is idol skill gold.

3. Kogyeol

kogyeol

Birth name: Go Min Soo

Stage name: Kogyeol

Birthday: May 19, 1996

Official height: 183 cm

Position: Vocalist

Comment: I’d put Kogyeol at the position of my second favorite singer in the group; he is very good. He’s also very handsome, but I’ve noticed a major difference in how good he looks based on whether or not he is ”did up”. In their debut music video, and on most live stages, he looks absolutely amazing. But there were some scenes in their pre-debut reality show where he looked so different I could barely recognize him. He still looks good, of course, but not at all on the same level. He is truly some kind of magical diamond in the (not so) rough.

Kogyeol has enormous faith in his personal talents, especially his freestyle rapping. And it is so bad. Really horrible. And of course, that makes me love him more. He sucks with absolutely no shame, and that’s an ability I desperately would like to have.

2. Hwanhee

hwanhee

Birth name: Lee Hwan Hee

Stage name: Hwanhee

Birthday: May 6, 1998

Official height: 175 cm

Position: Vocalist

Comment: Baby Baekhyun! Hwanhee sounds eerily alike Baekhyun when he sings, he looks fairly alike his older ”brother” and he has a sort of similar personality. I’ve never been madly in love with Baekhyun, but for some reason I’ve fallen head over heels for this new, upgraded version. Hwanhee just makes me smile, and he is my favorite voice in the group. He is annoying, but in an endearing way, and yeah, he just brightens up any situation he is in. And his bromance with Xiao is definitely BaekYeol level.

1. Kuhn

kuhn

Birth name: No Soo Il

Stage name: Kuhn

Birthday: November 11, 1995

Official height: 183 cm

Position: Rapper, Vocalist, Vice Leader

Comment: I liked Kuhn from the moment I saw him in their first music video; he has a very distinctively masculine look that I definitely enjoy. And the more I’ve seen of him, the better he seems to me. He’s kind of dumbass but he also has a responsible and well-spoken side that suits his co-leader status. He’s definitely hot, but mostly he’s just amazingly funny. And he might be the most ”personally talented” kpop star I’ve ever seen. At weekly idol he pulled out a notebook and made the hosts choose from a ”menu” what personal talents he would show. But he differs from Kogyeol, who’s also very confident in his talents, in one crucial way: all his personal talents are amazing. I wasn’t prepared for that. His beatboxing is on point; the impressions that I understand are great and the others are also acknowledged and his animal impressions are just awesome. I haven’t seen him embarrass himself in a personal talent section even a tiny bit. It’s weirdly impressive, and definitely makes him more attractive to me. Kuhn is a thousand percent secure in his position on top, because even though I really like all the members, he is just on a whole other level.


I like rookies. When I actually manage to get into them it’s always very rewarding. I’m quite sure that UP10TION will be able to do well, and I like the idea of being there from the beginning.

3 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of UP10TION

  1. I still haven’t been able to choose a bias. I’ve been debating between Hwanhee, Khun and Kogyeol for some time now and I feel as if this is 2PM all over again. I still haven’t been able to decide on a 2PM bias either rip me.

    Just a question, but have you been following Produce 101?

Leave a Reply

