Review of 4Minute’s ”Hate”

This was not the winning single,  but as the winner won both polls and got a higher percentage in the album poll, this single review goes to the runner-up: 4Minute, who got 21% of the votes. 

Song

After their last single ”Crazy” became such a hit it’s only natural for them to go for that kind of sound and vibe again, but…. I’m not sure if it entirely worked. I accept the idea of the calmer verses, then the build-up and then having a massive drop in the chorus, but that drop was a bit… jarring. The beat in ”Crazy” was so on-point, and ”Hate”’ doesn’t have that wow-factor. The beat itself is a little hard to listen to and that hook is a bit unpleasant to listen to. I don’t hate the song, actually I quite like it, but it did not live up to the great expectations that ”Crazy” left me with.

This is Gayoon’s song. She sounds amazing, and shines the brightest. Hyuna’s non-chorus parts are also nice, especially the first one. Jiyoon and especially Sohyun on the other hand were definitely under-utilised. I’m a big fan of them both, and I’ve seen them both do much more interesting things. Oh and Jihyun got more than one line and was actually musically memorable this time around! I can’t remember the last time that happened, but her sweet voice actually worked here.

I kinda like this song, but compared to ”Crazy”, my 13th favorite female kpop song of last year,   it doesn’t quite measure up.

Lyrics

This is a song about that time right before the breakup, when everything super duper sucks. There isn’t really any sadness to this song, these girls are just absolutely pissed and so done with the whole thing. If I found myself in this position I’m sure I could like this song a lot more. There’s not really any analysis that needs to be done on these lyrics, so I’ll just share some of my favorite parts with you.

”At the end of this love

Hate is all that’s left”

”If I’m lonely when I’m with you

I’d rather be lonely alone”

”We two were crazy in love 

I was dragged around like an idiot as if I was crazy”

The first two are just really cool lines, and the last one I included because of the emphasis on the ”crazy” which I see as a tiny reference to their last hit song.

Video

There’s no plot or nothing in this video, which I’m happy about, since I’m not a huge fan of plot-driven music videos. There is definitely a possible plot in there, if you look at the lyrics, but I’m glad they didn’t go there. Instead we get a whole bunch of cool sets and the girls looking awesome.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 08.57.50

We start off with these beautiful roses, with the sun coming through, all magical and lovely. This scene alone made me want to take up fictional writing again.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 08.58.00

Then Gayoon enters, dressed in a gorgeous wedding gown, with a massive veil. It’s a very soft and beautiful scene, but Gayoon doesn’t exactly look like she feels like a bride should feel on her wedding day, and it all goes great with the sound (and lyrics) of the start of the song.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 08.58.39

This place looks so cool; it’s like a visual representation of the loneliness and all the other feelings that’s bubbling inside them.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 08.59.17

The light and the way she is dressed and styled really goes well with the dreamy way Jihyun sings her parts. I love when the song and video line up like that.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.00.16

Then as the song starts to pick up its pace we cut to this very dark and hard place. It’s a clear contrast to the roses and flimsy strings we’ve mainly seen so far.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.00.48

And then we head into the first dance breakdown. The color for this song and video is definitely red, for passion and fury, and all the dance scenes feature red prominently.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.01.48

Jiyoon’s solo rap shots are in this gloriously aesthetically grimy place. Note the accents of red.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.02.50

Jihyun rips off her blindfold and finally sees the truth about her relationship (?).

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.03.14

This is a very serene and crisp scene, but I’d also say it’s the one that shows the most melancholy and sadness. It lets us know maybe anger isn’t the only emotion they feel about this breakup.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.18.49

From Jihyun’s very white scene we cut to Gayoon’s very red scene. There’s a lot of swishing fabric as the song once again builds.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.04.35

This dance set doesn’t feature quite as much red as the previous one, but red is still the clear accent point. Only the 4Minute members are wearing red pants, not the dancers, which puts the emphasis squarely on them.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.05.29

Then we cut to a car, where Hyuna gets another (mini) rap part. Note the red and how on-point everything about her in that shot is.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.05.51

As if the message wasn’t loud and clear already, we cut to this right before we head into the final dance scene, which is set in front of this writing.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.06.06

Once again very red, but only worn by the members, not the dancers.

I like the video a lot; I’d say more than the song itself. Many scenes are very red, and in the ones that aren’t there’s often some red accent. Even the roses in the beginning are red. It’s not a very important detail, but it’s one I enjoyed noticing nonetheless.

Dance

This is a cool dance, but not one I think I’ll really remember when I look back on this year in the future. It goes very well with the song, I’ll give it that. I don’t love it, but it’s a very respectable dance. I also like it when girl groups do this kind of dances; it’s not exactly common. Just the fact that they wear flats is something.

Here’s the dance practice if you want to view the dance in it’s entirety.

Note how sexy and gorgeous Hyuna is. Also, I think that Jihyun has stepped up her dancing this time around. Do you agree?

Outfits and Styling

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.00.56

This is my least favorite of the dance outfits, for sure. It’s not absolutely horrible, but it doesn’t do anything for anyone. You can be hiphop and laid-back and still be hot.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.05.58

I don’t love this either, but it’s definitely better. And I will say it is refreshing to see a girl group wear things that are so not sexualized at all. Boxy sweaters, loose jeans and what looks like timberlands? Probably not most guys’ sexual fantasy.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.04.50

I am not hugely into baggy-on-baggy though, so my favorite look is this where they pair their loose sweatpants with tight white tank tops. This is still relaxed and kinda hiphop and all that, but they also look hot.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 08.59.31

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 08.59.47

I can’t be the only one that immediately thought about Jessi, and especially the video for ”No Love” when I saw this scene, right? I’m not saying it’s exactly the same, but the vibe is so similar. And I personally love it. Check out that video and tell me if you see it too.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.02.28

That headpiece gives me such an elf vibe. I can’t think of any elves that ever wore headpieces like that, but I could definitely see it on an elf in some fantasy some time.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.02.15

This is so me. Not just Jiyoon, but the dancers too… I think this might be what I secretly want to be. Dark and so sexy. Oh yes.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.05.15

This is the most well-styled shot. They’ve all got their own thing going on but they all go together and they all look amazing. I had to pause the video and just stare the first time I saw it.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 08.59.04

Jihyun is very angelic and sweet-looking in her shots, which goes with her singing parts as well. The blond hair suits her well, both wavy and straight. I’m usually not a fan of colored lenses, especially not blue ones, and I don’t love these either, but I will admit that they kinda work.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.00.33

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.01.20

Sohyun got completely screwed when it came to the parts in this song, and some horrendous stylist also did this to her hair. What has this sweet girl done to deserve those awful bangs? It looks really weird and does nothing whatsoever for her face. Sohyun is a very pretty girl usually, so I was not pleased by her styling here.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.01.12

This looks amazing on Jiyoon. It might not be as memorable as her green ”Crazy” hair,. but I think it might actually look better.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.04.07

I’m not so sure about the curled version though… Jiyoon is a very cool girl with a lot of attitude so she does pull it off, but… I’m just not sure.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.03.45

I’ve always seen Gayoon as one of, if not the, most beautiful members in 4Minute. And here where she only has simple black hair, it really shows. She’s not the kind of girl who does well with weird cuts and styles, so I’m glad they dialed it back.

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.04.17

Side-note: I think this shot is the only time I’ve ever really loved the look of colored lenses. Look at my girl! She looks amazing!

Skärmavbild 2016-03-21 kl. 09.04.26

Hyuna looks absolutely amazing blonde but I still think simple black hair might be her best look… I like the pigtails; they’re very cute.


So to sum it up: I really like the video and kind of like the song. Everyone looks amazing except for Sohyun who must have pissed off the head stylist. Yeah. What do you guys think?

2 thoughts on “Review of 4Minute’s ”Hate”

  1. Man, I love how detailed your reviews are. At the end of each article, I feel like you’ve covered everything and I feel satisfied. 😆
    Anyway, I agree with your review. Liked the video, not the song.
    And oh my God, I too was immediately reminded of Jessi during HyunA’s pre-chorus! 😃 High-five!

Leave a Reply

