Review of Suzy & Baekhyun’s ”Dream”

This song by EXO’s Baekhyun and Miss A’s Suzy took an early lead in the singles poll, but eventually lost it and ended up in a fierce battle to win it back. It eventually did, and with 28% of the votes it was named the best single of January, in your eyes.

Song

The first I heard of this song was the small section that was included on kville’s awesome weekly chart, when it was first voted on there. I heard potential, so I looked up the whole song. And on some level I for sure like it, it’s very pretty. It has a very relaxed, sweet and retro sound. It’s not quite engaging enough for me to want to download it; it’s more of a background track. Definitely café music.

Baekhyun is the better singer of the two, and he shines very brightly here. But Suzy is for sure not a shabby singer either, and I do like what she did here as well. There is a clear contrast between their two voices, but in my opinion they did merge quite nicely.

Lyrics

This is a sweet love ballad, and for its genre, the lyrics are quite generic. It’s suiting that I’m writing this post on Valentine’s Day, because it’s for sure a song suited to that holiday. Very cutesy and innocently sweet.

In the chorus Suzy sings:

”Dream that I can never have again

That was really sweet

I think you are just like that dream”

And then Baekhyun replies with:

”Dream that I get to keep thinking about all day

That was really sweet

That’s you”

Super lovely and adorable. I especially like the first part where Baekhyun sings:

”You are beautiful just as you were yesterday

No, you’re more beautiful than you were yesterday

When I say something like this

You always change the subject, pretending you didn’t hear anything”

It’s just cute. It’s Valentine’s Day and I’m in love, so I’m more susceptible to this stuff than I usually am.

The part they sing in unison at the very end of the song is pretty cute too:

”Dream

When you look at me just like that

I feel like you’re so mine

Dream that makes me want to fall asleep again

Such a sweet dream

That’s you”

Yeah, this is all love and fluff. If you’re not into that, tread with caution.

Video

 This is an extremely simple video.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.44.17

Basically it’s just Suzy and Baekhyun singing, accompanied by a live band.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.45.47

Made entirely out of white dudes, for some reason.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.44.34

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.45.27

Looking lovingly at each other as they sing the sweet lines.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.46.39

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.47.24

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.47.17

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.47.40

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.47.31

There are a few quick shots of them not in the band room interposed in there as well, in a setting that to me looks southern Europe. Maybe Italy? Maybe that could explain the white guys, maybe they’re supposed to be in Italy.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.48.38

I love that in the end, after the singing has ended, the two of them start inaudibly chatting and giggling with each other. It’s for sure fake, but it’s also very cute.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.49.15

They then proceed to high five.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.49.37

And even do a little fist bump. All while Suzy has a very calm and composed expression on her face.

So yeah, very simple video, not much to comment on at all.

Dance

Since this video is pretty much entirely made up of them sitting and singing, there is of course no dancing. This also isn’t really a dance-y song.

Outfits and Styling

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.44.08

Baekhyun is rocking cotton candy pink hair and a most expertly placed side-sweep. I don’t think it’s the best I’ve seen him look, but the look definitely works very well on him. This is also a sweet and romantic song, so the soft pink hair works well with the concept as a whole.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.44.45

Suzy has simple brown hair and is rocking a bright lip. She’s an absolutely stunning girl, a national beauty, and while she does look great here, I don’t think this is her best look. I can’t quite put my finger on what it is that isn’t blowing me away, but there is something… I think maybe I don’t really like Suzy with brown hair? No, that can’t be it. I’m not sure.

Skärmavbild 2016-02-14 kl. 15.45.36

This is kind of an old-fashioned song and concept, and the clothes reflect that as well. Baekhyun’s outfit is just fine, but I don’t think it does much for him at all. It kind of accentuates that he is a slender guy with next to no shoulders, and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing. Suzy on the other hand looks flawless. That outfit looks great on here, and while being old-fashioned and very proper, it still manages to look kinda chic.


I’m thinking this was voted in because it was Suzy and Baekhyun, not because of the song itself… I might be wrong there though.

Baekhyun’s relationship with Girls’ Generation’s Taeyeon (which I’m not sure ever existed) is over, but even though Suzy and her actor beau Lee Min Ho have been rumored to have broken up, those rumors have been denied… But who knows? Maybe the power couple will fall apart some day soon, and Baekhyun will get his chance to dream with this young beauty?

Leave a Reply

