The Non-Korean Stuff I, as a Kpopper, Listen to

Have I ever written a post about the life I lead when I leave the glorious world of k-entertainment…? I think not. Personally I find it really interesting to see what kpop/kdrama fans listen to/watch when they’re not in their bubble, it really shows how different we all are. Kpop fans are also metal fans, we’re country fans and we’re ”mainstream” pop fans. So what am I? 

I will countdown the eight non-Korean artists on my phone with the most downloaded songs, ending with the very most. I hope this will help you to get to know me just a wee bit better. I will also recommend songs that I find especially awesome.

8. Bowling for Soup

bowling for soup

Bowling for Soup is an American pop punk band that I used to listen to some a few years ago, and that I’ve recently re-discovered. The stuff of theirs that I listen to is mostly from the early-mid 2000s. All their songs basically sound the same, so don’t be surprised by that. Just accept it and let the punk rock 101 roll over you.

Song recommendations: ”1985”, ”High School Never Ends”

7. Bob Marley

bob marley

I’m sure you know this guy, at least you should. He was a Jamaican reggae singer, and an international legend. I used to listen to Bob Marley a lot with my father during long drives, and his music has an extremely calming effect on me. Plus, if you’re gonna listen to reggae, why not take it to the man himself?

Song recommendations: ”The Heathen”, ”Jamming”

6. Conchita Wurst

VIENNA, AUSTRIA - APRIL 22: Austrian participant Conchita Wurst poses at the 'Eurovision Song Contest' farewell party on April 22, 2014 in Vienna, Austria. (Photo by Moni Fellner/Getty Images)

All hail the Queen of Austria and all of Europe! If you’re European I’m sure you know her as the amazing winner of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest. And if you’re not European, this is your chance to discover the amazingness that we have to offer. She is a pop singer, with a very dramatic take on it. Lots of grand songs, with there being a definite Bond vibe to some of them.

Song recommendations: ”Rise Like a Phoenix” (this was her winning song), ”Out of Body Experience”

5. Bon Jovi/Jon Bon Jovi

bon jovi

Bon Jovi is an American rock band that you should have all heard of. They’ve been active since the 80s and are still going strong. They’ve switched up their style of rock several times, always staying current. And honestly, I like every flavor Bon Jovi has to offer me. The reason why I put Jon Bon Jovi in the title is because some of the songs I listen to were made just by him for an amazing movie soundtrack to one of my favorite movies of all time: ”Young Guns II”. That movie was already great, but including great songs by Jon Bon Jovi made it all even better.

Song recommendations: ”Runaway”, ”It’s My Life”, ”Billy Get Your Guns” (Jon Bon Jovi)

4. Shania Twain

shania twain

Shania Twain is a Canadian country/country pop singer and actually the best selling female artist in the history of country. If Bob Marley gives me flashbacks to car rides with my dad, Shania Twain gives me major flashbacks to car rides with my mom. Her music makes me happy and lifts me up, and some of her songs are perfect for those early love jitters.

Song recommendations: ”I Ain’t No Quitter”, ”That Don’t Impress Me Much”, ”Any Man of Mine”

3. Nordman

nordman

Nordman (which literally means about ”North man” or maybe ”Man from the north”) is a Swedish folk rock duo. They’re slightly controversial since some claim at least one of them holds racist or nazi or at least very nationalistic views. They’ve also had a quite chopped up career since they’ve had to take several hiatuses due to their frontman’s (guy on the right) drug problems and general issues with the law. But here’s my take on all this: I like their music. I’ve never found anything racist or anything of that sort in the message of their songs, nor am I sure he even holds those views. And the drug problems and all that is his issue, I’m just there for the music. Simple as that.

Song recommendations: ”Vandraren” (means ”The Wanderer”), ”Det Sista Du Ser” (means ”The Last Thing You See”), ”En Gång Älskade Han Livet” (means ”Once He Loved Life”), ”En Dåre Som Jag” (means ”A Fool Like Me”)

2. One Direction

one direction

Liking One Direction is for some reason seen as kind of shameful, both in society as a whole, and especially in the kpop community. Would I consider myself a fan? No. Do I keep up with their current activities, listen to recently released songs or give a damn what the members are up to? No, not really. But I do know pretty much every single song on their first two albums by heart. They’re catchy and fun to sing along with, and I’m just getting way too old and tired to care if people think less of me for that.

Song recommendations: ”Magic”, ”She’s Not Afraid”, ”One Thing”, ”Up All Night”

1. Various Soundtracks

soundtrack

I know that this isn’t an actual artist, but the absolute hugest chunk of the non-Korean music on my phone is made up out of soundtracks from musicals, mostly Disney movies. And instead of giving you song recommendations of songs, I’ll just include a complete list of all the movies I listen to songs from. Get ready… Go!

The soundtracks of my life: ”Les Misérables”, ”Country Strong”, ”Dreamgirls”, ”Pitch Perfect”, ”Anastasia”, ”Swan Princess”, ”Shrek”, ”Quest for Camelot”, ”Aladdin”, ”The Lion King” (1 and 2), ”Pocahontas”, ”Mulan”, ”Hercules”, ”The Hunchback of Notre Dame”, ”Tangled”, ”Treasure Planet”, ”Beauty and the Beast”, ”Brother Bear”, ”Tarzan”, ”Toy Story” (1 and 2), ”High School Musical” (1, 2 and 3)

I don’t listen to the complete soundtracks from all these films, I pick and choose. But this all still adds up to a fairly major number of songs.


As you can see, my non-Korean music taste is very diverse. I’m the kind of person that could probably get into whatever it is you’re into; I’m super impressionable. Kpop/Korean music is the only constant in my music library, and I like it that way.

Please let me know what you listen to outside of kpop! It truly is fascinating.

4 thoughts on “The Non-Korean Stuff I, as a Kpopper, Listen to

  1. Bowling for Soup! Oh my gosh I haven’t heard that name in YEARS! I used to listen to them a little too. Hehe and I too have the entire Anastasia soundtrack on my ipod. 😛

    Outside of K-pop, I think I mostly listen to American pop (Fall Out Boy and Maroon 5 being my favs!) and stuff from my childhood like Hilary Duff and Tokio Hotel.

Leave a Reply

