Review of Girls’ Generation’s “You Think”

The three songs that ended up in a tie for second place with 17.24% of the votes were Hyuna’s ”Because I’m the Best”, VIXX LR’s ”Beautiful Liar” and Girls’ Generation’s ”Lion Heart”. But the number one most-voted-for song was this one, Girls’ Generation’s ”You Think”, with 24.14% of the votes. Almost a quarter of the people that voted thought that this song was the best song of August. Or the worst and they wanted me to trash it… That you never know. We’ll see what I’ll do!

Song

Okay I’m gonna be honest right from the get-go… While I like this song, I don’t love it nearly as much as I love ”Lion Heart”. But that’s because ”Lion Heart” is a piece of wonderful flawless magic and no song ever can top it! But this one is good too.

This is not at all an equal song line-wise, and I think that was intentional. ”Lion Heart” is very equally distributed so with that alongside they used this song to let the most vocally talented girls shine. Tiffany and Seohyun both sound very good and Sunny sounds so pissed when she sings; she’s almost acting. But Taeyeon… She’s a great singer, we all know that, and she sings this well… But this doesn’t suit her voice nor her image whatsoever. She’s such a pretty girl and has next to no sass. And her voice is very angelic and sweet as well. She sounds good in the song, but not quite like she belongs.

The rap part is alright, and I think Hyoyeon’s part might be the best rapping that’s ever been done by a Girls’ Generation member. Not that that says much.

Lyrics

This is a story about what happens after a breakup. People handle it very differently, and to some that includes playing the victim and acting like the other person was horrible and like it’s all their fault. And basically, that’s what the ex of Girls’ Generation is doing here with them calling him out on his bullshit. It’s very straightforward lyrics, and quite repetitive.

”You call my name in time that has already passed and erased

Back then, we shined

All the beautiful memories that I tried to keep

But you spit it out, however you wanted, coldly spit it out”

Yeah, this is basically what’s going down. It’s over but she wanted to hang on to the good memories. But he’s using them to gain attention and pity, so she’s getting pissed.

”You think you’re real cool (You’re not)

That’s just what you think

Boy, you ain’t cooler than me, nah”

If I ever have to go through a bad breakup I’m sure I’ll be blasting this on repeat.

”I’m a bad girl from the gossip that you made up

It’s fine, it’ll all return to you in the end anyway

But listen carefully to my decision

I have no regrets anymore, go away”

I’m thinking this guy might kind of want her back? And when she stood firm in her decision that they were done, that’s when he started spreading rumors about her? Just a theory, not entirely sure where I’m getting that from.

Video

This is a very simple, dance-based video so there isn’t much to comment on in this section.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.35.33

Opening scene sets the tone. It’s a little grungy, a little harder than Girls’ Generation normally go, and it’s a very cool-looking set.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.41.41

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.42.51

I love these scenes! Not only are they a nice colorful contrast to the darkness of the rest of the video but the extreme femininity of them is kind of badass. These girls are queens, and these sets are built for royalty.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.45.14

This scene sparks all of my childhood princess dreams. I want to play dress-up in every single one of these dresses.

Dance

This is sexier than where Girls’ Generation normally go with their dances, as is the case with this whole single, but it’s still completely without booty shaking. It would feel weird to everyone if these girls started doing that, so they went for a more hard-hitting and sassy brand of sexy. It’s not personally one of my favorite dances from them, I didn’t find it that very memorable.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.42.29

Seohyun’s wild split is my favorite part, simply because it’s so unexpected. I like dance moments that make me say ”wow. okay. get it.”.

Outfits and Styling

I love all the dark outfits the girls are mainly wearing! There’s way too many to get decent shots of, but wow… If I was just a bit cooler and a bit skinnier/didn’t care so much about my size I’d totally wear those outfits all the time, on a rotating schedule. It would be amazing.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.36.19

I love Tiffany’s hair! It suits her perfectly, and she looks absolutely stunning. She’s been looking stunning all through these three singles this summer. She’s really blossomed into everything beautiful she always has been.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.38.32

Yuri looks hot. I’ve always claimed that she’s the sexiest member, and I stand firm on that. This color works well for her, and there’s something about her gaze in this video that blows my mind. I also kind of feel like she’s looking a tiny bit rounder than she normally is (not sure though!) which I think makes her look even better than she normally does. I like my girls with some flesh.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.39.34

Seohyun looks amazing. She’s one of the ones that I think looked the absolute best in this comeback. The red hair is just blowing my mind in all kinds of ways.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.39.56

The wavy blonde hair looks amazing on Taeyeon, and it embraces her soft features. She looks like an angel. That isn’t really the look for this video, but she looks great regardless.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.40.46

I didn’t love Sooyoung’s short hair when I saw it in ”Party”, but now that it’s darkened, she looks mind-blowingly amazing. I’ve thought that Sooyoung is the most beautiful member since I first got to know the group, and I stick with that.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.41.29

I’m not sure how flattering this is… It looks like a bob from the front, but then a ponytail on the back… I’m sceptic.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.43.26

Yoona has super simple straight black hair, and personally I think that’s one of her best looks. She has such a clean beauty, she really doesn’t need any fuss.

Skärmavbild 2015-09-25 kl. 07.44.13

I’m not sure about Hyoyeon’s short blonde wavy hair… Sometimes I think it looks great, and other times I think it’s really unflattering for her face. I think I need more time to mull that one over.


Which one did you prefer out of ”Lion Heart” and ”You Think”? (”LION HEART”) Which girl do you think nailed the bad girl beauty the best? If you listened through the album, what songs did you love?

6 thoughts on “Review of Girls’ Generation’s “You Think”

  1. I can’t choose between the two, they’re very different from one another. I like retro concept in Lion Heart but i love the dance in You Think. Sooyoung look so good in short hair, Hyoyeon too. The girls look gorgeous as always, they came with 8 and stronger than ever. sorry but not sorry, i don’t miss Jessica at all. SNSD is just as good if not BETTER as the power of eight.

      1. Oh well thank you! I actually started crying while watching an old interview with them from last year a couple of weeks ago…. It just felt so sad that she’s not around anymore!

Leave a Reply

