Opinionated Profile of A Pink

a pink

 

A Pink…. I truly never thought they’d make it here. But they are these days officially one of my groups, meaning that I know and can identify every member, and that means it’s now time for them to be featured in this way. 

I’m not at all extremely knowledgable about the group though, so many of the opinions expressed here will be first or second impressions of the girls. So don’t hate me if you disagree, I probably don’t know any better. Just leave me a comment and prove me wrong!

6. Chorong

chorong

Birth name: Park Cho Rong

Stage name: Chorong

Birthday: March 3, 1991

Official height: 163 cm

Position: Leader, Rapper, Vocalist

Comment: I’m placing Chorong last on this list because she really hasn’t made much of an impression on me. She’s very pretty, that’s for sure, and does not look her age at all. But her beauty is not the type of beauty I prefer, and her immature look frankly scares me a little. She could pass for the maknae, no problem.

Chorong seems sweet, but she’s quite bland. I’ve definitely not seen her as a standout personality so far. I’d also say that she doesn’t seem very leader-like. She might be an amazing leader and support behind the scenes, but she seems a bit meek in that department to me.

I’ve often heard it said that Chorong is very underrated, but I don’t see why she’s supposed to be regarded higher. She’s an alright singer, but I’ve not seen any standout performances from her so far. Am I missing something here?

5. Bomi

bomi

Birth name: Yoon Bo Mi

Stage name: Bomi

Birthday: August 13, 1993

Official height: 164 cm

Position: Lead Vocalist, Main Dancer

Comment: Bomi is the second-best singer in the group, I’ll give her that, but her tone is too high-pitched for my personal taste. It works within the group, but as soon as she’s taken out of that and gets more lines (as in when she was featured in M.I.B’s song “Let’s Talk About You”) it gets a little overwhelming. I know some people really love her voice, but to me it’s a bit too much.

Personally I like her. She seems like a very sweet person, and there’s a calm to her that I enjoy. She’s pretty of course, and in these latest promotions she’s really blossomed. But she hasn’t made quite as strong an impression on me as the girls above her, which is why she’s placed here.

4. Naeun

naeun

Birth name: Son Na Eun

Stage name: Naeun

Birthday: February 10, 1994

Official height: 164 cm

Position: Vocalist, Lead Dancer, Face of the Group

Comment: This is my baby Taemin’s ex-wife, and that’s how I first got to know Naeun. She was the first A Pink member I got to know, and I was simply highly neutral about her. She seemed alright, and Taemin didn’t seem to despise her, so it was good enough for me.

It’s been a year and a half since Taemin and Naeun left We Got Married though, and I eventually had to start thinking of Naeun as a person of her own, as her stint on that show had forever fixed her face in my mind.

Naeun isn’t a very good singer, but she’s decent enough to handle the lines she gets. She’s definitely very pretty, in a classic visual kind of way, so she’s perfectly suited for her position as the face of the group.

But what I like about Naeun is that she’s… cold. That’s the best way I can describe it. She seems cold and almost bitchy. Unlikable, even. And why does that make me like her? Well… That’s hard to say. Maybe because it makes her seem real? Most kpop girls are a very controlled and almost dull brand of nice that often comes across as fake. They have to be conscious of their images at all times, and I don’t blame them for going the safe route. And maybe that’s what Naeun tries to do, maybe she just fails. Maybe she’s just awkward. I don’t know what it is, but Naeun is easy to dislike, and that makes me like her.

3. Hayoung

hayoung

Birth name: Oh Ha Young

Stage name: Hayoung

Birthday: July 19, 1996

Official height: 166 cm

Position: Maknae, Vocalist, Rapper

Comment: Hayoung is the only member of A Pink that has even a smudge of edge to her. Both her face and her in general has something that isn’t pastel princess, and I really like that. She also can’t do aegyo, but she can do sexy. That’s my kind of girl alright.

Hayoung is a better singer than Naeun, and sometimes I even think she surpasses Chorong, but that might be due to the fact that I prefer her vocal tone.

There’s something sweet about Hayoung, even though she isn’t at all aegyo. She may be older than me, but it’s not by much and I can feel the youth in her.

2. Namjoo

namjoo

Birth name: Kim Nam Joo

Stage name: Namjoo

Birthday: April 15, 1995

Official height: 165 cm

Position: Lead Vocalist, Lead Rapper

Comment: I’ve always liked Namjoo, and I’ve never been able to explain why. Something about her slightly awkward and scared-looking self just works for me.

A Pink is definitely a group that wants to be likable, and they do sometimes come off as a little bland because of it. And I’d say that because Namjoo isn’t quite so controlled, she comes off as the very most likable. She has a very good personality.

I think she’s the third-best singer, but to me personally she’s my second favorite, since Bomi’s voice isn’t really for me.

She’s pretty, but she has that scared-eyes syndrome that for example T-ARA’s Soyeon also has. I think she kind of looks like a less polished version of AOA’s Mina. I don’t mean that in a mean way, that’s just what she looks like to me.

1. Eunji

eunji

Birth name: Jung Eun Ji

Stage name: Eunji

Birthday: August 18, 1993

Official height: 163 cm

Position: Main Vocalist

Comment: Eunji is just the sweetest. She seems slightly dim at times, but in an endearing way somehow. She’s very likable and cute and I just knew she’d be my bias when she “dated” SHINee’s Key. She was adorable, and just sold her entire self to me in about five minutes.

Eunji is for sure the best singer in the group, I think that’s pretty firmly established. I tend to bias vocalists way more often than not, so adding that to her generally likable persona was definitely a plus for her.

I said that I don’t think Chorong seems much like a leader, and I mean that. Even Bomi seems more leader-esque than her. But the one that seems the absolute most like a leader is definitely Eunji. Just the way she acts around the youngest Hayoung screams leader to me. I can’t really explain it, but watch their latest Weekly Idol episode and I’m sure you’ll see what I mean.


What do you think of A Pink? Do you agree with what I said about kpop girls sometimes being likable to a level of them being dull? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of A Pink

  1. Apink is one of those easily forget groups, their music is good but generic, dancing is average and none of them stand out among the crowd.
    and yet they are one of the top girl groups right now, i don’t get it either but oh well lol.
    I really like Eunji though, think I mentioned it before.
    Bomi is funny on The Real Man
    Naeun is not likeable on WGM but she’s actually a lot different outside of that show.
    as for the rest, i still don’t know who’s who. i’ve been following this group since their debut and i still can’t name half of the members, so you can see how average this group is haha.

    1. Haha I kind of agree! I don’t have anything against Apink per se, and they have been growing on me a little, but I really don’t understand why they’re so beloved.

  2. I have similar feelings like you on A-Pink – their songs (pre-chu) were great but the group is just a bit too cute to my taste. Hayoung, Namjoo and Eunji are by far my favorite members as well, though I can’t really bring these three into an order (I also thought that Chorong was bland and for some reason I don’t like Bomi all that much). I also agree about Eunji being more leader-like, only a few days ago I thought the same thing as well.

Leave a Reply

