Review of EXO’s “Love Me Right”

Yesterday Teen Top got their review, as was decided by your votes. And today EXO, who got the same amount of votes as Teen Top as the two tied for second place, will get theirs.

I never intended to become such a huge EXO fan, but I did, and that’s something I’ll have to deal with as I watch the group fall to pieces and crumble. I really wonder how long this group will last. But let’s not focus on that right now, and instead dive into this review of their latest single, “Love Me Right”! Oh and as per use, I will be focusing on the Korean version of the song. This is a “k”pop blog after all. 

Song

I was very pleased with “Call Me Baby” and loved that song from first listen, so I was very excited when I was told that there’d be a repacked album with a brand new single. So when I didn’t even feel motivated to listen to the whole of “Love Me Right” when it came out, I was very disappointed. The song has grown on me, and I’m getting closer and closer to actually maybe considering downloading it, but it has been a long and difficult road to even get here. To be honest, after having been so initially bored I wanted to just forget this song even happened.

I was the most impressed by Baekhyun and Lay in this song. Baekhyun’s voice suited this song perfectly, and Lay really stepped up to the plate. I was very impressed with his high note. Chen and D.O also did really well, as always, of course. Suho held his own as he should as did Chanyeol.

I can’t remember hearing a single line from Kai in this song, which is very strange considering SM’s love for him. He must have gotten at least a little something, right? Sorry, gotta go back and check.

Okay, so Kai got like two completely unmemorable lines. What’s up with that? I’m not saying Kai is necessarily a great rapper or singer who “deserves” more, it’s just that he always gets more. Strange.

Sehun though! The absence of Tao definitely gave Sehun the opportunity to stretch his rap wings, and while he’s not exactly great, he has certainly gotten better and he did not embarrass himself. I’m actually proud of him.

Now, real talk. How many of the EXO-M members are gonna have to disappear until Xiumin gets proper lines? He’s actually really talented, but them leaving seems to have had next to no impact on his allowed contribution.

Lyrics

This is a pretty simple and stereotypical song about being in love and all that jist, but filled to the brim with space references! We tend to forget this these days, but EXO are aliens from another planet, and it’s important that we remember that. It’s nice to see EXO stepping back to their astronomical roots, so to speak.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.49.18

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.50.31

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.50.40

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.51.04

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.51.11

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.51.35

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.52.01

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.52.58

Yup, space and love. That’s pretty much the essence of this song.

Video

This video is from SM so there isn’t a whole lot to discuss here, and I only have two screen shots to bring up. EXO are some sort of sports team, it might be American football, it might not be. They’ve won, I’m assuming since they seem so happy. And then they split up and go hang out in weird places. That’s the main story line, isn’t it?

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.04.45

This is definitely my favorite set in the whole video. The aesthetic of it works perfectly to me in every way, and I love it.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.03.17

I guess now that Luhan isn’t around anymore there’s no one to keep the balls floating…

Dance

It’s EXO, so the dance is sharp and crisp and they perform it really well. I don’t find it very memorable compared to their older dances though, which is a shame. It’s just not as distinct. It’s very well done though.

Outfits and Styling

Let me just say that I tried. EXO is one of the absolute hardest groups to get good head shots of since there’s like a billion members and they’re constantly dancing. So I only have shots of some of the members. But since I’m sure you’ve all seen the video, I’m sure you’ll understand my comments for the others anyway. But first, let’s look at the group styling.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.07.27

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.02.59

I absolutely love how they’re styled in both of the group dance scenes. It looks good, it looks sharp and it just works. It’s suitish but never too uptight. EXO is a young group, they’re not in the suit category just yet. This is a happy medium.

Okay, so I’ll touch on the styling of the members that I didn’t get at least semi-decent screenshots of first.

Xiumin looks great. I love how he looks in the scene where he’s wearing glasses but he looks really great in the video as a whole. I don’t like how they’ve styled him in a lot of the live performances though, it looks very juvenile.

Chen looks gorgeous, absolutely amazing. That guy has a bone structure that people would kill for, and this kind of hair is perfect on him.

I’ve never been as attracted to D.O as I was in this video, he looks great.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.01.21

Lay looks amazing in the black hair, and the cut really plays up the best aspects of his face. I also highly approve of the lack of shirt he was displaying.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.01.04

I’m a huge fan of Kai, and find him to be one of the most attractive guys in kpop as a whole. And this might very well be the most attractive I’ve ever found him. The red hair works perfectly with his skin tone, and the cut and styling is flawless. So hot, hot damn.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.00.51

This is a very simple cut and Sehun could definitely handle a bit more funkiness, but he looks good for sure.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.00.18

I wasn’t fond of Chanyeol’s crazy look in the video for “Call Me Baby” but here it really worked. I’m not sure if it’s different or if it’s just my opinion that has changed, but he pulls it off. It’s not his best look, but it works well.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 13.00.00

Suho has a very dark and simple hairstyle that really allows his gorgeous face to be the spotlight, perfect for him.

Skärmavbild 2015-07-22 kl. 12.59.45

I never found Baekhyun attractive before the release of “Call Me Baby” and now he’s turned so attractive it hurts. I’m not sure what’s going on here.

Has there ever before been a music video where I’ve liked the styling of every single member? I doubt it, especially with a group as large as this one. Collectively this is the best EXO’s ever looked.

Final Comment

This song is steadily growing on me, but I’m still not very fond of it. It’s an alright video with a good dance. But the main star here is how absolutely luminously gorgeous the members look. EXO is a very pretty group in general, but here they really stepped it up.


What do you think of this song? Did you vote for EXO to be reviewed?

5 thoughts on “Review of EXO’s “Love Me Right”

  1. I didn’t like the song until I heard it live at their concert in Taipei. This is one of the songs that you’ll like better if you listen to it live. but I like it too listening to it on my ipod. EXO never failed me music or dancing wise, they are indeed a group of talented boys.

  2. I know that you’re an EXO-L and I was just wondering if you’d followed Tao and Luhan’s solo debut’s and if so, what you thought of them?
    I love your blog very very much 😊

      1. Luhan’s is growing on me everytime I listen to it and Tao sealed the deal with his Crown MV, although I did quite enjoy T.A.O too 😏

Leave a comment