Faves – EXO

Back again! This time I will be tackling EXO’s special winter album “Miracles in December” for these simple reasons: I’ve already reviewed “Overdose”, I’m very familiar with the content of their only studio album “XOXO”, it’s one of the few things they’ve done as all the members and it’s an album I’ve never listened through. I know, that’s bad of me. I’m generally sceptic towards kpop Christmas songs and even though the title song was beautiful, I’ve avoided the entire EP like the plague. Also, I will be reviewing the Korean versions only, as it is a language I am much more comfortable and familiar with.

Track 1 – Miracles in December (sung by Baekhyun, Chen and D.O)

 

Stunning. These are the three best vocalists in all of EXO and they really show it here. I think Chen especially shines, but as my favorite voice in EXO and my new bias in EXO-M (*gross sobbing*) it’s only natural for me to think that.

I’m not one for ballads, but even I have to admit that this is just oh so beautiful. It’s a song to throw in the faces of anyone that calls EXO talentless pretty boys, and once and for all prove that these incredibly pretty boys sure do pack some talent in their tiny bodies.

I’m personally a huge fan of this live:

 

My baby Luhan got to sing with them and Lay plays the piano plus everyone (especially Chen!) just sing their hearts out. Oh so lovely and great and this is the version I have on my phone.

Track 2 – Christmas Day (sung by Suho, Xiumin, Luhan, Baekhyun, Chen, Lay and D.O)

 

This sex song reminds me of the fact that Christmas is a dating holiday in Korea. Which still weirds me out by the way. Christmas is the day when you have to be nice to all your annoying relatives because they bought you stuff! Oh, and family love and stuff, of course.

Well… it’s a pretty song, that’s all I can say. It’s surely not bad, but it just does nothing for me. I’m not a big fan of Christmas nor Christmas music in general, so I’m afraid I’ll end up being meh about the whole album. I’ve heard there’s supposed to be some greatness on here though, so I’m hoping!

Track 3 – The Star (sung by Suho, Kris, Baekhyun, Chanyeol, D.O, Kai and Sehun)

 

I’m downloading this song for one reason and one reason only: Kris’s English rap. That is unbelievably amazing and makes me incredibly sad that we probably won’t get to see him do that kind of stuff anymore. What happened to us rolling like buffalos together, Kris? Huh?!

This doesn’t sound like a Christmas song which I’m happy about, but without Kris’s rap I don’t think I would have found it that great. It’s right in-between slightly dull and good, which I’ve found happens quite often with EXO’s non-single songs.

Track 4 – My Turn to Cry (sung by Baekhyun, Chen and D.O)

 

Pretty, oh so pretty. These three were made to sing together, and they do it flawlessly. This song is a little slow for me, but the beauty of the chorus really makes up for it. Plus I’m the kind of person who never really cries, especially not in front of anyone. I have felt the need quite a few times lately, but I just can’t seem to manage. And trying to think of sad things to make me cry doesn’t seem like the right way to do it. Anyway, pretty song, reminds me of the fact that I’m a robotic dictator.

Track 5 – The First Snow (sung by Suho, Baekhyun, Chanyeol, D.O, Kai and Sehun)

 

This is the song on the album that is purely sung by the EXO-K members, and by only the EXO-M members on the corresponding Chinese album. It’s a pretty song, and some parts are really lovely, but it’s not a song that sticks with me. I like that we got some singing from Chanyeol, I’m quite fond of his singing voice. Kai’s singing could need a bit of work (get Taemin to help you! He knows all about this problem!) but I’m still happy to hear my dear sing.

Track 6 – Miracles in December (classical orchestra version)

 

This is the purely instrumental version that’s so often featured on kpop albums (for some reason, who knows why) but with a classical twist. It’s something I haven’t heard before, and it’s really very pretty. But, well, I’m skeptical about ballads already, and removing the singing does not make it more engaging to me. Beautiful though.

Final Thoughts

Yeah, this ended up sort of like I was afraid it would. I’m just not a Christmasy type of music kind of person… I prefer EXO when they’re not so sedated. I mean, for gods sakes, I even like “Wolf”!

I feel a little bad for Sehun since all he gets on these two albums combined is three lines. That’s it. I mean, I know he’s not great, but if you’re going to put him in the group, let the boy participate!

Another person who got screwed is Tao, who is the only member in all of EXO that doesn’t get a single line on the Korean album. And I’m assuming he only got as much as Sehun did here on the Chinese album. The maknaes just can’t catch a break.

I’m sad that they didn’t include a single song which featured all the members. I know that in such a big group that makes line distribution and flow really difficult, but come on! Try!


What do you think about this album and EXO’s non-single songs in general? Feed me mind cookies from your brain!

4 thoughts on “Faves – EXO

  1. Haha totally agree with you that this album was just okay. I loooove Miracles in December (have you heard Silv3rT3ar’s English version? It’s beautiful!). I don’t think I’ve actually heard My Turn to Cry until now, and it is really beautiful. I also really like the Star. As a whole though, I think this is one of their weaker albums, but I guess that is to be expected with themed albums.

    Lay and Tao are my biases so I might go look up the Chinese album now. Nice post!

    1. I mean, I don’t know what I expected. It’s all… Christmas… So yeah, this was a weaker one for me! And I’ll check out that English version, thanks for recommending it!

    1. It’s not in the immediate future, at least not for this series. The Faves are just for the groups that I know completely, and I only know two or three of the Apink members. Sorry :/

Leave a Reply

