Review of Super Junior’s “Mamacita”

This might be my favorite single from Super Junior ever.

I’ve always appreciated Super Junior’s music for being the catchy piles of hot flaming mess that they normally are, but this song I like because I think it’s actually good! Look at you Super Junior, breaking into new territory.

 

Song

I just really like this song. Super Junior isn’t really a group I go to for legitimately good music, so this surprised me. It still has that amazing Super Junior-catchiness, but with just a way better song to go with it. This may even be able to rival “Bonamana” for the title of my favorite Super Junior single ever.

The hook is amazing. If you aren’t singing along to that after about half the song, there’s something seriously wrong with you.

I was a bit concerned about how they would cope without Yesung, since he is one third of their powerhouse trio, but Kyuhyun and Ryeowook really stepped up, so it all worked out well. Those two really impressed me, and Kyuhyun once again showed me why he’s my favorite singer in Super Junior.

Donghae and Leeteuk also did well, and I’m very fond of Siwon’s opening line. I know he won’t make it sound as good live though, but that’s always the case with him. (Just like in “Bonamana”. Sigh.)

While I in no way think he’s a good rapper, Eunhyuk is the best rapper in the group by far, so I’m glad that the rap part was given to him.

Lyrics

I really don’t understand these lyrics. It might just be because the translations I’ve seen have been bad, but I really can’t make out the meaning. God, I wish I knew Korean… So I’ll just leave you with a subbed video, and this line:

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.26.17

 

hope you can get more out of these lyrics than I could… I know I should at least try to understand and comment on them, but I really do not have anything to say.

Video

Okay, I’ll start with some general comments before I get into the plot of this thing…

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.31.22

Wow, Super Junior, that English was almost correct! I’m proud of you.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.31.36

Siwon’s got mad eyebrow game.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.32.30

This doesn’t make any sense. This in every way seems to be set in a Wild West frontier town, and as far as I know there was never any bullfighting going on in the Wild West. So I’m sorry, Eunhyuk, but you’re lost. Spain is that way. *points*

Okay, now let’s look at the plot… But first, let’s introduce the characters!

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.29.42

This is our main antagonist. (I’m assuming)

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.29.51

Our main protagonist. Ish. I’m not sure if it counts when he dies before the end…

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.30.00

The victim of the crime. Though if you’re prancing around with a crown like that, you sort of deserve to get robbed.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.30.08

The accomplice of the main antagonist.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.30.17

The guy with no sense of direction whatsoever.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.30.26

An innocent bystander.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.30.36

The guy who actually catches the thief. (I’m assuming) Would also be the hero if this was a movie.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.30.48

The guy behind the crime, but who gets screwed over by his hired man.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.30.56

The super hot guy who for some reason works as a bartender even though he’s super loaded. Might also have orchestrated Gambler Kyuhyun being screwed over.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.31.04

The best character by far.

Okay, that’s all the characters! Here we go!

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.40.47

Sheriff Siwon caught Wanted Thief Leeteuk, and became the town’s hero. So he’s of course outraged when he sees that Leeteuk has escaped!

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.41.30

Prancing around with a giant sparkly crown might not be the smartest move when there is an escaped thief on the loose, but Deputy Director of a Bank Sungmin cares not for such childish carefulness!

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.41.44

And he therefore gets robbed by Wanted Thief Leeteuk and his accomplice Blacksmith Shindong. Wanted Thief Leeteuk runs away with the crown while Blacksmith Shindong knocks out Deputy Director of a Bank Sungmin with his hammer. (Don’t worry, he survives)

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.43.00

Wanted Thief Leeteuk and Blacksmith Shindong then bring the crown to Gambler Kyuhyun, who I’m assuming set up the entire operation. (Not that there was much setting up to do, but oh well) And Bounty Hunter Donghae also arrives in the town, looking for Wanted Thief Leeteuk.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.43.21

Next thing we know Bounty Hunter Donghae is in a full on fight with Blacksmith Shindong! Did he find out about him being Wanted Thief Leeteuk’s accomplice maybe?

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.43.28

And poor innocent Barber Ryeowook ends up in the middle of it!

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.36.46

But now we see Wanted Thief Leeteuk running away with the crown! Did he murder Gambler Kyuhyun so he could have the crown for himself? He knocks over poor innocent Fruit Shop Owner Kangin on his way to escape, and he understandably cries over his shattered watermelon. (My watermelons! This place is worse than Omashu!)

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.44.02

By now Sheriff Siwon has gotten a move on, and confronts Wanted Thief Leeteuk. It doesn’t end well for him though, as Wanted Thief Leeteuk shoots and kills him in cold blood.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.44.48

Wanted Thief Leeteuk is overjoyed by his triumph over his old nemesis, and heads into the saloon to celebrate with beautiful Bartender Heechul. He shows him the crown.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.45.07

And Bartender Heechul immediately buys it from him. Did Bartender Heechul tell Wanted Thief Leeteuk to betray Gambler Kyuhyun? The plot thickens!

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.45.27

But Wanted Thief Leeteuk’s joy isn’t long-lasting, for as soon as he exits the saloon with the money, he is confronted by Bounty Hunter Donghae (who has captured Blacksmith Shindong) and Deputy Director of a Bank Sungmin. Oh no! What will Wanted Thief Leeteuk do now?

So, yeah. Fascinating plot. Moving on.

Dance

I really like the dancing. Super Junior’s dances always have one very memorable move, just like their songs always have a memorable hook. But this dance is really interesting all the way through, and might very well be my favorite dance from them.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.31.56

Arms out! This is one of my favorite moves.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.34.11

Subtle sexy crotch-caressing, very nice, I like it.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.34.19

The main move, and the one I can’t not replicate while listening to this song.

There are several other parts in this dance worth mentioning, but these three are probably my favorites.

Outfits and Styling

 Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.36.10

These group outfits are my favorites, even though I like the red ones as well. I just love the Spanish aesthetic!

Now get ready for some very unflattering pictures as we move into the individual stylings.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.32.15

I probably would have accepted any styling of Siwon whatsoever, since I’m so glad his hideous mustache is gone. And he looks really good! Since he doesn’t have a mustache, you know.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.32.55

Kyuhyun looks really good. He’s not really the type for extreme styling choices, so I’m glad they kept him simple.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.33.12

I don’t approve of this whatsoever. Kangin can not handle this level of blond! And a middle part looks good on almost no one.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.33.45

Giving Leeteuk a very angular haircut to play up the angles of his face was very clever. And he looks excellent in it.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.34.59

Ryeowook’s hair works excellent for him. He’s really not my type, still, but he looks very good.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.35.39

There are three questions that pop into my mind when I see this hair: 1. Is it a wig? 2. Can he see? and 3. Why the hell did they do this to him?

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.35.47

Heechul looks stunning in this video. Especially in the plot scenes, but he looks excellent in his cute little hairband as well.

 Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.36.27

Eunhyuk looks great, both with that thing in his hair, and without it. Eunhyuk is a guy who really requires proper styling to look great, so I’m glad they managed. Because he really does look great.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.37.38

Shindong looks alright, but his look really isn’t anything special. I’m glad it isn’t though, since I don’t think he could pull off something extreme.

Skärmavbild 2014-09-02 kl. 16.42.12

Donghae looks great, as he always does. He’s pulling that dark blue hair off with all the grace in the world.

Final Comment

I’m pleased. The lyrics might not make sense, but the guys are styled well, the song is catchy, the dance is interesting and the plot is amazing.


Let me know what you think about this comeback of these Super Veterans in the comments!

If you have any comments, suggestions or requests for Friday’s list of the week, Sunday’s random post or next Tuesday’s review then leave a comment, send me an ask on tumblr or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

17 thoughts on “Review of Super Junior’s “Mamacita”

  1. You know this is gonna be a LONG comment, so here we go, lol.
    I love the song and the music video too, this is a huge change for Super Junior, although they kept the catchy elements in title tracks, they took it to a whole new level. This is album is really important since they’ve been gone for two years, plus the return of Leeteuk and Heechul, you know it’s gonna be awesome.
    There were already a lot of hype prior to the release and they did NOT disappoint.
    MAMACITA is so catchy and solid, i love the old western cowboy concept, and they totally utilized their talents to make MAMACITA the most entertaining music video I’ve ever seen. SJ’s variety skills are the best.
    As for the plot, I LOVE your interpretation, and there might be a drama version of the music video got high ratings, right now it’s 5M views, never question the power of the might ELFs LOL.
    And if the drama version does release, we’ll see if the plot matches yours HAHA. I saw some ELF’s interpretation of the plot, they’re completely different from yours, (example: they think Hyuk and Kyu are undercover detectives hired by Sungmin, Wook and Shindong are employees under Kyu, Heechul is not just a bartender, he’s the REAL thief that took the crown) but I like both versions.

    They look amazing, the dance is great, Kyu and Wook completely showed off their awesome vocals, it’s a huge loss without Yesung but you can actually hear his voice in some of the tracks, as he did participate in the album making.
    I’m kind of with you on the hairstyles, Kangin can’t handle the blonde, and if they do make him blonde, at least make it short and sleek.
    Same goes for Hyuk, we’ve seen him putting all kinds of colors on his hair,but this look doesn’t work for him.

    So glad to have Leeteuk back, I feel like the group fell in place again when he returned, and looking so FINE!!! HAHA

    I apologize for the LONG essay, hope this didn’t give you a headache LOL.

    1. Wow, long comment!

      I’m glad you liked my interpretation of the plot haha! I had SO much fun writing it! I had no idea other people were interpreting it so differently! I thought my way was the absolute most straightforward…

      I haven’t listened to the album yet. Do you think I should? Is it worth my time?

      I actually do think Eunhyuk can most certainly handle blond! It’s the best colour on him, in my opinion.

      I’m so happy Leeteuk’s back too!!

      Haha no, I’m just glad that you want to comment so much!

      1. YES The album is EXTREMELY WORTH LISTENING and I promise you it’s not a typical Super Junior album. I recommend ALL THE TRACKS. I’m not just saying this cuz I have three biases in the group, but I genuinely enjoy the album, it’s a true masterpiece. them Kings still got it! lol

        You should watch their comeback stage, esp “Shirt” they made it into a full show instead of a performance, it’s SO GOOD.

        Hyuk can handle almost any color as long as the hairstyle looks good. I’m loving the blue on Hae, Wook’s hair is a bit boring, I wish he got it styled.

      2. Haha then maybe I’ll check it out! I just have to find the time…

        Where did they have their comeback stage? Which music show?

        Yeah, but he really needs the right hairstyle though. I’m loving the blue on Donghae too! I’m glad it’s a dark blue and not a bright one though. I think Ryeowook looks great! But he could probably handle some more crazy.

  2. My favorite Super junior song since “Sorry Sorry” and Super Junior M’s “Swing”.

    “Close your lips, shut your tongue” I kept on thinking “wtf” when I heard that lol 😂😂😂😂. If only their attempt at English would actually sound like correct English, instead of what everyone calls “engrish”. I mean so many kpop idols are famous and such, but their companies can’t even afford to get someone to check the English in their songs and make them correct? Lol.

    Donghae looks SO good with that blue hair. Eunhyuk was just….. Lost 😂. Kangin and his blonde hair and middle part, did not do it for me. Just like how Kai’s blonde hair didn’t do it for me. And suho’s middle part and blondes hair was…. Not my favorite look. Not a lot of people can pull off the middle part and not many can pull of that level of platinum blonde. Sm needs to at least see if they could pull off the blonde before making it into a middle part.

    I think Eunhyuk pulled off the blonde nicely, I think it’s my favorite hair color on him so far 😊

    1. Haha yeah! It’s so fascinating how SM, the largest company in kpop, can’t manage to hire someone to check their English. Or they just really don’t care.

      Yeah, that’s a very hard look to wear. And Kangin isn’t exactly the kind of guy who could handle anything… Donghae’s blue hair is great though!

      Yes, I really like him that blond! And the styling was just right, for once.

    1. Well then I’ll refrain from watching it. I watch every new music bank as it comes out in full on their YouTube channel, and I don’t want to spoil their performance for myself.

  3. The first time that I read the english translation of Mamacita, I was also like wth is this :)) It didn’t make any sense to me at all.
    And then, I read a lot of fans saying that this was probably targeted to their ex-fans, and suddenly everything made perfect sense. If you have the time, try to reread the lyrics with this in mind, and I hope you’ll be able to understand the song better 😉

Leave a Reply

