All About WINNER

I’ve said it before. Twice. A new group from one of the big three is a huge deal. Before WINNER, it had been 8 years since the last boy group to come out of YG, so everyone was expecting something big. And as a huge fan of both BIGBANG and 2NE1, so was I. And then YG announced their evil reality show. I decided not to watch, for I knew that I’d manage to fall in love with a member of the losing team. I have watched the first episode after it ended though, and I immediately felt so so bad for everyone, not just the ones I knew would lose. Being a trainee seems incredibly hard, and I have a huge respect for all kpop idols, for making it through. It’s not enough to be talented, you have to have a determination and will that is out of this world. I know I’d never manage.

So with that said, this post will be all about the impression WINNER has given me, both individually and as a group.

The Members

Jinwoo

jinwoo

Resident pretty boy and, I’m assuming, visual. With eyes that size he just has to be the visual, right?

Jinwoo’s eyes are not only huge, they’re expressive. And with YG being such an ass to him during the only episode of Who is Next: WIN that I’ve watched, his eyes were very sad. Which broke my heart. Please never ever look sad, Jinwoo! I can’t handle it!

Jinwoo is to me the least impressive out of the singers. I’ve only got about three songs to go on, so I might very well be wrong, but he doesn’t seem to have the strength that the other two have. He isn’t bad though, and has a very sweet voice.

Seunghoon

seunghoon

I’ve always thought that Seunghoon looks like someone, but I can never put my finger on who it is! Incredibly frustrating.

Seunghoon isn’t my favorite out of the two rappers, but I do like his rapping. It isn’t perfect, but for an idol rapper, he’s more than alright. He’s also a very talented choreographer, which is very impressive. (Watch this)

He’s cute, he’s talented and he’s a pretty good rapper. His voice is a little too high-pitched for me, but he’s still alright.

Mino

mino

I can’t look at Mino without thinking “Zico must be so proud”. I don’t know if those two actually had that kind of relationship, but I know that they were underground together and that Mino was part of the line-up for Block B before their debut. So I like to think of him as Zico’s little protégé, even if that might not be entirely correct.

Mino is my favorite rapper in the group, and I’m a sucker for his raspy voice. I think he’s for sure a better rapper than Seunghoon, and his style is right up my alley. He’s also one of the most, if not the most, attractive people in the group, which all in all makes him great bias material for me. I haven’t decided yet though, there are other strong contenders.

Seungyoon

seungyoon

Seungyoon was the only one out of all the trainees on Who is Next: WIN that I knew before the show started. So when I saw that he was in Team A, I was slightly hoping that they’d win, just because I’m such a fan of his voice. And they did! Who my favorite singer in the group is constantly goes back and forth, but Seungyoon is for sure a strong contender.

I first found him through his solo song “Wild and Young” which is still a song I really like. I’m really hoping that we’ll still get some solo songs from him, even though he’s now part of a debuted group, because I really love his rock sound. And who doesn’t love a guy who plays guitar?

Taehyun

taehyun

Taehyun is a beauty. He’s the only person I’ve ever seen look good in that heinous middle part. He’s bias material, for sure, and sometimes my favorite singer in the group. His voice is much softer than Seungyoon’s, but with way more power than Jinwoo’s, and I’m all for it.

The Music

WINNER had two debut tracks, and I’ll comment on them both. And on Mino’s solo track as well, since that has a video now.

 

This is the song that was partly written and composed by members of Team B. It’s a nice and well-made song, but to me it only sounds like background music. It’s too much of a ballad for me, and the video is quite boring. A nice song, but not my style.

 

I like this more than I like “Empty”. I think the song’s better, and the video is more interesting. But, and here’s the problem, it’s the same thing. If one of their duo debut tracks was a sad ballad, I would have been fine with that, but that’s they’re both sad ballads is a wee bit dull. They’re both very pretty songs, but I feel like they should have been a bit more diverse in their song choices, if they wanted to do two debut tracks.

 

So thank all the kpop gods for this. And that YG made a video for it, because otherwise I probably wouldn’t have heard it. This song is really great, the video’s great and Mino looks great. Finally I feel a little excited about this debut! Really great. I love the wordplay in the lyrics, so good job on that, Mino!

__

I know most of you probably expected a normal opinionated profile today, but after hearing Mino’s solo song yesterday, I just had to write about this group! Let me know what you think of them in the comments, and vote for your favorite member in the poll!

If you have any comments, suggestions or requests for Tuesday’s review, Friday’s list of the week or next Sunday’s random post then leave a comment, send me an ask on tumblr or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

2 thoughts on “All About WINNER

Leave a Reply

