A Quickie Review of Taemin’s Solo Debut

Today was the first day of my last year of high school. And I’m tired, you guys. We didn’t have any actual lessons, but just being there immediatly made me feel emotionally drained. I’m not done with summer! So, frankly, I would like to skip today’s review altogether and just mourn my summer vacation. But I can’t. Because Taemin released a solo album! And being the huge shawol that I am, I have to give you my thoughts on it all. 

This won’t be as structured or long as my normal reviews, and more of me just pouring my thoughts out. But I hope you won’t mind!

Okay, here we go. I’m so proud of my baby. It doesn’t matter that Taemin is older than me, he will always be our baby maknae. I am not an emotional person, and I cried while watching the video. I just felt like a proud mama, watching her baby grow into a man. I’m sure many of my fellow shawols are feeling this exact thing as well.

I’m so happy with the title track. I was afraid that SM might try and make him go all cutesy, so I’m very relieved that it was the dark concept I’d been hoping for. “Danger” is, in my opinion, a great song. I didn’t love the chorus on first listen, but it’s grown on me. I immediately loved the verses, and now I love the whole thing. I know some people have been complaining that there’s too much autotune, but I don’t think so. Taemin has grown into a great singer, but he doesn’t possess the raw power that some singers have. So I think that his voice would have sounded a little too weak for this song if they hadn’t autotuned him the way they did.

The video is great. The way Taemin’s styled is gorgeous, and the dancing is incredible. I was expecting the dance to be amazing, but I was not expecting to find Taemin as sexy as I did. I always find him attractive, of course, but I’ve never seen him as such a sexy beast. It really surprised me, but in a very pleasant way. Yes, Taemin is not buff, but he’s beautiful. In a slightly androgynous (like the majority of kpop stars) but still very manly way, if that makes sense.

I’m liking the full album as well. It didn’t blow me away, but there’s no song in there that I won’t be downloading. I especially like “Pretty Boy” and “Wicked”, besides the title track.

Now let’s talk “Pretty Boy”… Was that great, or what? Jonghyun wrote the lyrics (which are really good, by the way) and Kai is featured in it. How could it be better? It couldn’t.

Okay, to sum this up; I’m so proud. Was this flawless? No. I didn’t love every single song of the album, and a couple of them got a little boring. But this was pretty damn good. Taemin, I love you. Keep shining, together and forever.

__

I’m sorry that this is so short… I feel like I should write a 2.000 word review, just because it’s SHINee, but I really am tired. High school is an evil thing, and I don’t want to go back! I know, I’m being a bratty first world kid. But I think you all know the feeling.

If you have any comments, suggestions or requests for Friday’s list of the week, Sunday’s random post or next Tuesday’s review, then leave a comment, send me an ask on tumblr or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

7 thoughts on “A Quickie Review of Taemin’s Solo Debut

  1. I love Solo TaeMan… it’s funny that despite me not being into androgynous guys Taemin is one of the very few male idols I legit think is legit sexy- and at the same time I too see him as the ” baby maknae” ( why does this sound so wrong XD )
    Agree that Danger is obvious Autotune done right, the choreography is great as well, makes me wish that the Star Dance Battles came back so the likes of Taemin, Eunhyuk etc. could battle it out among themselves (no shade intended lol)

    1. Haha it does feel weird! XD I both think of him as my baby and as someone too damn hot xD
      Yes, exactly! So I don’t really understand the complaints. It obviously wasn’t used because he can’t sing, and I don’t think it masked his true signing ability. (Like it sort of did in “Ring Ding Dong”) And yes! Dance battles are always a good thing!

  2. If this is too personal and you don’t want to answer, it’s fine but I was wondering: How old are you? I’m 15 (: and yes high school is an EVIL thing. My school started last Wednesday and not only am I emotionally drained but I also got sick with a sinus infection 😂😂 gee, lucky me lol.

      1. You’re not old! Lol, I’m a junior in high school, I’m turning 16 next week (: I still feel like such a kid, I don’t want to grow up 😂

Leave a Reply

