Review of Block B’s album ‘Blockbuster’

There isn’t really anything new out right now that I really feel like reviewing so instead I’ll be reviewing one of my favorite albums of all time, ‘Blockbuster’ by Block B, which was released in October 2012. 

Firstly, I won’t be reviewing the interlude and the instrumental and acappella versions, because that just seems silly.

Track 1 – 11:30

 

A very sweet beginning to this gloriousness of an album. It’s a nice and sweet song about being happily in love, nothing that special. No one truly gets to shine here, though everyone carries their parts well. Kyung and P.O both tone down their rapping a lot while Zico keeps his hard-hitting style. Sadly, Jaehyo doesn’t get a single line to sing though, which is a shame.

Track 2 – Interlude

Track 3 – Nillili Mambo 

 

This was the promotional single for this album and it’s really good. This is definitely one of my favorite tracks from Block B ever. I just noticed that all the songs I named as my favorites from Block B in my last list of the week comes from this album… Well, it’s just that good! This is also one of my favorite music videos of all time, and it truly deserves a review of it’s own… Well, maybe it’ll get that eventually. Zico’s rap in the beginning is one of my favorite raps ever, and I love P.O’s raspy voice in the chorus. This song is awesome, end of story.

Track 4 – Mental Breaker

 

This is another song that I’d definitely name (and have named) as one of my favorites among Block B’s songs. Kyung’s rap is great, and Zico’s are super fun. Though I do feel a little sad for U-Kwon that that’s all he got to sing, his parts are still super catchy. But there’s one person that blows everyone out of the water in this song, and that’s, of course, Taeil. Damn, that guy can sing! Super awesome song, I’ve listened to it almost too much. If that’s possible.

Track 5 – No Joke

 

This song could have been one of my favorite Block B songs ever if it wasn’t for the ‘No joke etc’ part, I just find that part kind of annoying. But besides that this is a really good song! I absolutely love P.O’s voice here and Zico’s rap after he speeds up a little after the two minute mark is super awesome. So it’s just a shame that I can’t really like most of the chorus. Such a shame.

Track 6 – Movie’s Over

 

Listening to Block B while their fate was still uncertain was really hard for me, but listening to this specific song was impossible. Hearing them sing about how it’s all over and not knowing if they were right or not was hard to bear. This is a very good song though, and for some reason I really love the parts we get to hear from B-Bomb, his voice works very well for this style of song. And we also get Zico, yes Zico, singing the chorus. He didn’t blow me away with his singing, but he was better than I expected. I’m not sure why I even expected him to be a bad singer, I just did.

Track 7 – Where You At?

 

This is Taeil’s solo song, and I think it was very clever of them to let him sing the standard ballad that’s in every kpop album by himself, instead of trying to include all the members. Because no matter how much I love them, Zico and P.O are not the type of rappers who can be in a ballad. It’s hard enough as it is to fit rappers into ballads, but those two have styles that makes it pretty much impossible. This is a very pretty and sad ballad, and his voice sounds amazing, but I’m very picky about my ballads and it takes a whole lot for me to actually want to listen to them. And this song, while beautiful, is slightly boring to me. But if you’re the kind of person that really likes ballads, this is a great one for you.

Track 8 – Dreams Come True (Romantically)

 

This is another Block B favorite of mine. Such a soothing and relaxing song while still being really fun and engaging. Taeil and B-Bomb really shine in this song and Zico’s rap is lots of fun and slightly goofy towards the end. Really great song, I’ve listened to it a billion times.

Track 9 – Did You or Did You Not?

 

This is actually the only song on here that I don’t like… There’s way too much unnecessary auto-tune here and it really ruins the song for me. And even if you changed that, it still wouldn’t be very interesting, though it would make a huge difference. No, this song isn’t my cup of tea at all.

Track 10 – Halo

 

Wow, I had completely forgotten about this song! I actually deleted it the last time I went over my music… Time to redownload it! This is a really good song, and everyone sounds great. Zico and Kyung in the beginning? Awesome. And U-Kwon sounded super good for once. Not that he normally sounds bad, but you know what I mean. And I absolutely love P.O here, he rules in this chorus. And I’ll most definitely not raise my hand, even though I envy him, because I could never hate him nor the rest of Block B.

 

The rest of the album only consists of instrumental and acappella versions of Nillili Mambo and Mental Breaker, so I won’t review them.

All in all, this is one of the best albums I’ve ever listened to. It’s incredibly solid and delivers exactly what I want when I listen to Block B. Wow, I truly am impressed.

I hope you don’t mind me going back in time now and again to review some old favorites, because I greatly enjoy it. Next week both of the new videos from 2NE1 and Girls’ Generation should be out so I’ll surely review one of them! I hope you enjoyed this review, and if you did please let me know in the comments!

If you have any comments, suggestions or requests for Friday’s list of the week, Sunday’s random post or next Tuesday’s review then leave me a comment or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

One thought on “Review of Block B’s album ‘Blockbuster’

Leave a Reply

