Opinionated Profile of f(x)

f(x)

I hope you’re not getting bored of all these profiles, because I’m having a blast writing them! This is the profile of my number four girl group, f(x), with my opinions on all the members, the way this normally works. As I said in my profile of Brown Eyed Girls, I don’t follow girl groups as closely, so commenting on their personalities is harder for me, and therefore my opinions on members rely more on talent, looks and overall vibe, while my opinions on boy group members factors in personality a bit more.

5. Victoria

victoria

Birth name: Song Qian

Stage name: Victoria

Birthday: February 2, 1987

Blood type: A

Official height: 168 cm

Position: Leader, Vocalist, Main Dancer

Comment: I have nothing against Victoria in any way (except for that I’m pretty jealous that she was in SHINee’s ‘Replay’ video) but I have never found her that interesting.

There’s nothing wrong with her voice, but it isn’t excellent and she doesn’t sing that much.

She’s a great dancer and insanely flexible, but it’s incredible rare that I choose the best dancer to be my bias.

She’s obviously pretty, they all are, but she isn’t anything special to me. Sorry, Victoria.

4. Sulli

sulli

Birth name: Choi Jin Ri

Stage name: Sulli

Birthday: March 29, 1994

Blood type: O

Official height: 170 cm

Position: Vocalist, Sub-Rapper, Face of the Group

Comment: I find Sulli about as appealing as I find Victoria. Sulli has always been more memorable to me though, which is why she’s above Victoria. There’s nothing that I have against her in particular (in the past she was waaay too aegyo for me, but she seems to have, at least partly, shed that image) but there’s nothing that pulls me towards her either.

There’s nothing wrong with her voice, but it’s not great.

I didn’t even know that she was a rapper before reading it just now, so she can’t be doing too much of that.

She’s very very pretty in a highly feminine and kind of childish way. It’s not my personal cup of tea, but I can see why she’s the face.

3. Luna

luna

Birth name: Park Sun Young

Stage name: Luna

Birthday: August 12, 1993

Blood type: A

Official height: 164 cm

Position: Main Vocalist, Lead Dancer

Comment: The fact that Luna is the by far least popular member will never make any sort of sense to me. Her voice is absolutely gorgeous. She blows the rest of her group out of the water, and most of the rest of kpop girls as well.

I also happen to think that she’s very pretty. She has an earthy, girl next door, approachable kind of beauty. She looks like she was just born that way and like she’s super nice and will give you makeovers until you also look like that.

I really can’t understand it… WHY DON’T YOU PEOPLE LIKE LUNA?! Sure, she’s not my favorite member but she is great, truly. It’s just such a shame that she’s being overlooked by fans and her company alike, seeing how Krystal was chosen to join SM the Ballad when it really should have been Luna.

2. Krystal

krystal

Birth name: Krystal Jung / Jung Soo Jung

Stage name: Krystal

Birthday: October 24, 1994

Blood type: A

Official height: 165 cm

Position: Lead Vocalist, Maknae

Comment: I have a quite strong and fairly irrational attraction to Krystal… I have no idea why but ever since the ‘Rum Pum Pum’ video was released, I’ve felt pulled towards her. It could just be the fact that she was gorgeous in that video, but since that’s such a generic explanation, I’m hoping for some sort of bigger and better conspiracy.

As I said, Krystal is gorgeous. Choosing that particular picture might seem a little unfair to the other members, but I really try to always choose pictures where I think the members look their best, or at least good. Krystal has a kind of plainness to her, that her sister doesn’t share, but I think that plainness makes it the more interesting when she really does shine.

Her voice is, after Luna’s, the second best in the group. She doesn’t blow me away, but she can definitely hold her own.

Even though I adore Krystal, she shouldn’t have been in SM the Ballad. That was highly unfair to Luna. You could argue that she’s there to sing in Japanese and that her Japanese is better than Luna’s, but I find that highly irrelevant. Groups sing in Japanese etc all the time without really knowing the language, but suddenly it’s language skills over talent? I call bullshit. Krystal was picked over Luna because she’s more popular, that’s it. Luna could use the spotlight, Krystal has enough of it.

Sorry, rambling. Anyway, I adore Krystal for reasons I can’t completely understand. And I loved her on ‘Heirs’! She was one of the best things in that show.

1. Amber

amber

Birth name: Amber Josephine Liu

Stage name: Amber

Birthday: September 18, 1992

Blood type: B

Official height: 167 cm

Position: Main Rapper, Vocalist

Comment: I feel like such a cliche for loving Amber… Outside of Asia, especially in Europe where I happen to be, Amber is definitely the most popular member. (She is right? It definitely feels like that, at least) Whenever I like the most popular member the most, I always feel just a bit too mainstream… I know, that’s ridiculous. I like rooting for the underdog, for the one that people don’t appreciate enough. So loving Amber doesn’t really agree with me, since everyone else loves her too.

That said, there’s nothing that could make me stop loving her. She is absolutely hilarious. Following her on instagram was the best choice I ever made. Sort of.

Amber is all of kpop’s resident tomboy and it’s constantly talked about how ‘masculine’ she is. And while I guess that makes sense in Korea where girls tend to dress very feminine, here it makes no sense whatsoever. Even when she looks her  most masculine, she would never be able to pass for a guy here. That said, I think her look brings an extra dimension to the group, and to all of kpop. I also think that she seems completely comfortable in that role. It actually seems like that’s her real style, which is excellent! I’m getting bored with kpop singers being pushed into concepts and styles that don’t seem to match their personalities at all. *cough*hyuna*cough*

I’m quite fond of Amber’s rapping. She’s not the best, but she’s good enough. I like it. I happen to love her singing as well, and I really hope that she gets more opportunities to do that in the future!

The end! As it turns out, I had quite a bit to say about Krystal and Amber so this post lands right where my post normally land in length! Meaning I don’t have to comment on the fact that it’s shorter. Wow, I’m really writing a comment commenting on the fact that I didn’t have to comment. I must be stopped.

Aaaaanyway, let me know what you think about the group and members in the comments below!

And as always, if you have a comment or suggestion for Tuesday’s review, Friday’s list of the week or next Sunday’s random post, then leave me a comment or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

 – Admin A

8 thoughts on “Opinionated Profile of f(x)

  1. Not a fan of f(x) but i LOVE Victoria. She’s absolutely gorgeous and that sweet personality of hers just make me wanna be her best friend. One of my friend worked with her on the drama <> and she said that Victoria was incredibly easy going and friendly. She doesn’t stand out among f(x), sadly but she knows how to rock the crowd on her own.
    Krystal is my least favorite f(x) member, sorry but the bratty attitude and the bitchy face lowered her grade significantly.
    Amber is chill, love her rapping and she’s also super nice.
    Sulli is cute, loved her in To the Beautiful You.
    And Luna, I met her and heard her sing live and she definitely deserves to be a part of SM Ballad.
    I like f(x) as a group overall, these girls have a lot of talents and SM just need to bring out their potential MORE.

    By the way, I commented on your posts so many times without introducing myself, lol. I’m Mary, keep the good articles coming!

    1. Hi Mary! Thank you so much for commenting a lot, it means the world to me!
      I agree about you said about SM needing to bring them out more, it’s embarrassing that they’re treating them so much worse than their other big groups.
      Victoria has, as I said, never really made much of an impression on me, but she does seem like a really sweet woman.
      I’ve never really found Krystal to be genuinely bratty… I feel like she has the kind of bitchiness that I can also find in myself when I’m feeling a bit insecure. So I relate to her in a way that might not be completely legit. She might just be a bitch, who knows.

      Anyway thanks again for commenting and I’ll hope to keep you interested in the future as well! Love ya.

  2. Hey I love your blog!! I’ve been reading since the beginning and would comment more but I’m lazy :p anyways, I like f(x) and it’s frustrating how SM doesn’t promote them well. Luna’s my favorite, she’s so talented and sweet. Wish more people were a fan of her. Im really disappointed she’s not in SM the Ballad and Krystal is, Luna was the obvious choice and could use the exposure. When Yesung, Taeyeon, Changmin are in there…ugh sorry i want to rant. Amber is fcking awesome, the other 3 are all pretty but don’t stand out to me.

    1. Hey I’m so happy that you love it! 😀 And since you commented now, that makes me glad 😛
      Yes, SM treats f(x) and especially Luna, quite poorly. She’s not even my bias, but I really can’t stand the injustice.

  3. of course, it’s Amber!!!

    who doesn’t love Am? even Kris is secretly in love with her (haha). sorry Henry but it’s KrisBer FTW!!!

    i LOVE Luna’s voice!! one of the best is SM which is such a puzzle why they had Krystal over her in SM The Ballad. She & Chen could have been sooo wonderful singing together in the Korean version (in my mind, it SHOULD have been ZLY – another personal fave – & Jonghyun doing the Chinese one) but alas, i guess we can only wish. *sigh*

    i don’t think Krystal is rude, i just think Korean netizens are overly critical. it’s not really a rude face, it’s more like a “i’m bored” kind of face. i don’t think she is overly pretty though but but i envy her legs!! their not bowlegged (Yoona) or stick thin (Sooyoung), they are just right.

    Vic & Sulli are just meh. they do too much aegyo. the only reason why Vic is last place is because i will forever hate her for being the apple of SHINee’s eyes in Replay MV. *envy*envy*

    i like your profile posts. i like reading your opinion about different artists.

    1. That’s true, everyone loves her! Haha I’ve never really decided who I think is the better couple, they’re both cute.

      Including Krystal and not Luna in SM the ballad will forever puzzle me… While I don’t think Krystal did a bad job in anyway, it still puzzles me. Are you sure Jonghyun’s Chinese is good enough though? I don’t think I’ve heard anything about him in anyway knowing that language, though I might just have missed something…

      I’ve never found her rude either. I just think she might be a little but socially awkward… In terms of kpop, I don’t find her overly gorgeous, but I think she’s the prettiest in f(x).

      Yeah they don’t do much for me either. They’re not that special to me.

      Thank you! They’re my favorite to write so I’m glad you’re enjoying them!

Leave a Reply

