Review of B.A.P’s ‘1004 (Angel)’

Six months after B.A.P released their extended play ‘Badman’ with the three promotional singles ‘Coffee Shop’, ‘Hurricane’ and ‘Badman’, they are back with their first ever studio album ‘First Sensibility’ and the new promotional single ‘1004 (Angel)’!

 

Song

Unless you didn’t already know, there are actually two songs featured in this video. The song that plays from about 3:20 to 4:00 is called ‘Save Me’ and is another song from the album. The transition is close to flawless and I had no idea that there was another song in there until I looked up the lyrics. There is a big difference between the thoughts expressed in that part and what’s expressed in the rest of the song, so it adds yet another layer. I’ll hold that for the lyrics part of this review though.

I like this song, a lot. It’s kind of catchy and a nice listen. But this song, and this album in general, makes me even more confused about what B.A.P’s style of music is nowadays. Their first three singles followed such a consistent sound and style that they were almost identical, and while that might have gotten boring after a while, at least you knew what you were getting. I loved their original style and fell in love with them from the first listen. They were in-your-face bad ass, in a way that doesn’t really exist in kpop. And while I’ve liked every promotional single they put out (except for ‘Stop It’, gross) they aren’t as distinguishable sound-wise anymore. And that’s kind of a shame. There isn’t a single song on this album that is the kind of badass hardcore hip hop that they used to make. You could see it as them maturing and evolving, but I see it as them completely jumping ship. They used to be hip hop and hardcore rap, now they’re apparently rock. Or something. Huh.

Daehyun sounds great as always, but I think that Youngjae really shines through in this song, it suits him very well. Both Himchan and Jongup, especially the latter, got more parts than usual and I think they handled them very well. Yongguk’s rapping is just as growly as always, but I love his rap style so I’m happy. I’m glad to see that Zelo’s voice has matured a little bit. I’ve always been a fan of his rap style but his voice has been a little too thin and immature to really make it work. This is better, but his raps on the album show that there’s still some maturing to do before I truly get behind his rapping. Great progress though, Zelo! I’ve always seen much potential in you.

Despite the change in sound, I did really like this song. The addition of ‘Save Me’ was great and that might actually be my favorite part… Good altogether.

Lyrics

These lyrics are very straightforward, they’re about them missing an ex-girlfriend (I’m assuming), liking her to an angel and moping about how depressed they are without her.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.15.11

Opening line explains the meaning of the whole song.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.16.05

Damn these screen shots are small… Well if you can’t read them, then just click on them!

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.16.27

That’s better. Shorter lines make easier-to-read screen shots.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.16.35

This is a hell of a lot of dramatic ways of phrasing things just because of a break up. But I guess feelings really aren’t logical after all.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.16.45

Believing that you won’t ever be able to be with someone else is a normal part of the process.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.17.42

Yet she left you. That sucks.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.18.12

Yes, the lyrics really are very straightforward. But that’s why it’s even more interesting that they chose to include a small part from ‘Save Me’ in the song, because those lyrics don’t match with the rest of them:

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.19.05

Not something an angel would do, at all.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.19.12

At all.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.19.26

Wow, you hate her? I thought you couldn’t live now that she’s gone!

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.19.36

Telling her to shut up? Hmm… That’s not very nice. And lying is not something an angel would do.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.19.44

He follows that up with ‘Don’t say my name’, but I thought that another screen shot would be unnecessary.

The duality in the lyrics make them oh so much more interesting. The feeling that’s expressed when you put all of it together is one that I think most of us can relate to after being dumped or after having broken up with someone in general. You both have this feeling that the other person was perfect and that you don’t know how to live without him/her but you also kind of hate that person. There is a reason for you guys breaking up and you’re probably a bit mad. I don’t know about you, but I find the combined version much more relatable than if you look at only the lyrics from ‘1004’.

Video

My general interpretation of this video is that they’re all representing different (or in some cases, the same) parts that you go through after a bad breakup. The general theme here (in my opinion) is the pain and struggle that it takes to get over someone.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.43.00

I just have to say that this set is my favorite, it’s so empty and sad, almost. This desert or wasteland is where Yongguk digs and digs trying to find something that obviously has some great symbolic value to him. A representation of a struggle to try to hold on to the good memories of a relationship, maybe?

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.43.23

The scenes of the girl in black and white looking into the very lively and colorful house that Daehyun/Himchan is in is quite interesting, especially since there’s such a sharp contrast between the black and white and the not black and white:

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.43.30

This room is full of very warm colors and is a very sharp contrast to the black and white girl and house. I’m not sure how to interpret it yet, but it’s interesting.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.43.46

It’s also interesting that they decided to put Daehyun and Himchan in the same room, just having rearranged the furniture a little, since the other members are in such widely different places. It’s like they’re in the same house, but a long time apart from each other. It’s also also interesting to note that Daehyun’s shots are shot in a clearer way while Himchan’s are a bit ‘fluffier’, more alike to the way Zelo’s scenes are shot.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.46.23

The scenes of Youngjae in the mirror room trying to grab on to the girl and constantly seeing her everywhere is a clear representation of not being able to let go, of being reminded of that person whatever you do. It’s especially interesting since the same thing happens to Zelo in the end, just without the mirrors.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.46.35

I just have to take the moment and comment on this set. So cool! Someone really went all out here, and the symbolism of the image of the angel that is cracking is cool indeed. Realizing that she wasn’t that great, are we?

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.46.53

How they filmed Zelo’s scenes differ a lot from the other members in that it’s kind of blurry and it all looks very soft, almost dreamlike. That plus the carousel makes me feel like this is a representation of innocence, and putting maknae Zelo in those scenes just adds to my interpretation.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.48.30

The carousel breaks in a very dramatic way. A loss of the innocence I mentioned earlier, perhaps?

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.47.23

Okay, I just have to mention this one more time. Isn’t this super cool? Yes, yes it is.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.47.39

Watching the old tapes of them being happy = reliving memories and feeling sad remembering you were once happy.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.49.07

This is an ever further extension of how he sees her everywhere in the mirrors, here he even sees her in himself. Cool shot.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.50.19

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.50.27

This music video is truly rife with symbolism. The statue that Yongguk searches so madly for in the wasteland is the same one that Daehyun picks up in the house and cries over. Oh, the symbolism of memories and loss.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.51.24

This is really just another cool shot. It’s also very noteworthy that the girl is almost always in black and white when we see her, while the guys are not. It further shows the distance between them.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.51.32

Holding an hourglass and then staring at it and crying. Getting over a lost love takes time.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.51.16

This is yet another cool shot. He’s struggling to get out of the darkness and (I’m assuming) get over her and move on.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.52.19

Youngjae also tries to break out and move on, but as we can see here, it can be a very painful process.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.51.02

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.51.52

These scenes I interpret as meaning that he’s trying to kill off the part of himself that’s still hanging on to her. He cries and struggles to shoot and it’s very hard for him, but when he finally does shoot into the mirror, only the mirror image dies, he doesn’t. Moving on is hard and painful, but you’ll get through it!

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.52.01

This last one is really just a shout-out to Himchan’s acting. They’ve all gotten better since their ‘One Shot’ days but Himchan was the best. His acting in this video was very intense, and I applaud him.

Dance

Sadly we didn’t get to see that much of the dancing in the video and I’m really hoping that we’ll get a dance version. But what we did see was very cool. I especially liked the duo dance done by Zelo and Jongup. Jongup especially killed it in that part.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.45.13

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.45.24

At first I was a little bit confused about the fact that they’re very much not in sync at some parts, and I’m still not sure whether that was intentional or not.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.45.42

We all know this was the coolest. Damn you be bendy Zelo!

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.49.29

The rest of the dance was a very masculine and violent type of arm-slapping which works very well with B.A.P’s overall dance style, that I really like.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.47.55

This crab-crawling dance was also one of my favorite parts, I’m looking forward to seeing them do that live.

Outfits and Styling

The overall styling in this video isn’t really much to comment on. But I’ll touch on a couple of points, of course.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.44.38

Were Daehyun’s lips always this plump..? I’m not loving the blonde hair on him, but it works.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.46.06

I know that he looks slightly deranged in this photo, but you know what scene in the video this is from and he looked super hot in it. You know I’m right.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.45.53

Best outfit in the video and the only one I’m going to comment on. Superb.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.47.02

Himchan has a very angulary face so this hair works excellently for him.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.49.55

Yongguk’s hair is just like his rap: In your face, messy and slightly aggressive. Yet, it works for him.

Jongup’s hair was fine, I just didn’t get a good shot of it.

Skärmavbild 2014-02-04 kl. 16.48.22

This though was not good. The color nor the cut suits him. Get rid of it.

There we have it folks! I did very much like the song and video and I’m looking forward to seeing them do this live. I also very much enjoyed analyzing the video and trying to pretend like I know what I’m talking about. I know that this post was a lot longer than what they normally are (I might have gotten a bit carried away with the analyzing) but the random post I wrote last time was shorter than usual so it all adds up.

What did you think about this song and video? Let me know in the comments below!

If you have any opinions or suggestions for Friday’s list of the week, Sunday’s random post or next Tuesday’s review then leave me a comment or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

6 thoughts on “Review of B.A.P’s ‘1004 (Angel)’

  1. Hi, I really like the way you analyzed every parts of the video! I love B.A.P just these months even though I’m not a k-poper, and your explanation on “Save Me” part is a very helpful hint. I desperately want to know that part and have searched it everywhere, hahah..

    1004 has a set of symbolism and sexy choreographs through the video. That is what makes me like this video so much. The song itself is earcatching, especially when Daehyun and Youngjae slowly sing “cheonsagateun neo” and of course when Yongguk say “I need you”. Hot.

    I see we have same taste, and confusion, on B.A.P musics. I don’t like “Stop It” either :p. Have you watch/listen Yongguk and Zelo’s “Never Give Up”? Another no-no to me.

    1. Well maybe this is your first step towards becoming a kpopper? Haha just kidding… (But watch out)

      I’m glad you enjoyed my review! And yes, it does seem like our tastes are quite similar. I really tried to like that BYG/Zelo thing, but it just wasn’t good. It just really wasn’t.

      1. Actually I like 2NE1 too and I know some other kpop groups. I even had watched some kdramas XD, but I think if I’m gonna be a kpopper then I probably will start from B.A.P so you’re probably right about it hahah. Your blog is really easy to understand so I hope you continue doing good reviews. 😀

      2. Thank you very much! And I’m glad to be helping a new kpopper 😀 I’ll be starting up my blogging again (not as actively though) so I’ll be here to provide you with more info 🙂

Leave a Reply

