Review of B1A4’s ‘Lonely’

B1A4 is back! A little over 8 months after their last single ‘What’s Happening?’ was released B1A4 is back with their new studio album ‘Who Am I’ and a new promotional single called ‘Lonely’. Watch the video and then we’ll get into this review! 

For some reason the embedding isn’t working… :/ So just click the link if you haven’t seen the video!

Song

This is a sweet song. It’s pleasant and calming to listen to and it’s nicely sung. But it’s not a very memorable song. (Though now as I listen to it so much for this review I feel it getting stuck in my head) I also wish that they had given more lines to Sandeul, considering how he has an incredible voice. I never knew that CNU possessed such a great voice though, and I demand more singing from him in future releases!

Lyrics

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.15.14

As per use, I’m slightly confused about the meaning of this video and the lyrics… Here Jinyoung’s singing about how he’s wearing the clothes that she got him and that he feels good all by himself. Sounds like he’s over this girl, right?

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.15.39

And here CNU’s singing about how he’s looking at the pictures they took together, and how he’s feeling good by himself. So they’re over her… Right?

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.15.54

Well, no. ‘Cause now they’re suddenly moping around questioning why they’re still like this, why they’re still here…

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.16.09

Okay, they’re definitely not over her! If you even miss someone’s nose, then you’re completely lost. Okay, so maybe they’re not over here and they’re just trying to act like they are? Based on the lyrics that’s my deep and poetic interpretation. Let me know if you agree.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.17.00

I just have to bring some attention to this, ’cause I think it was very clever. Showing him putting head phones on her when they sing about the song she used to play for them that they’re now listening to by themselves and showing them sitting by the table with the lifeless girl while singing about how they want to have dinner with her was very clever. Very clever, indeed.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.16.37

Engrish time! ‘Every day’ is absolutely fine, nothing wrong with that. But ‘every say’ means nothing. Absolutely nothing.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.18.30

More Engrish! ‘Sick my heart’ is not an acceptable English line. I understand what they’re trying to say, but it’s still not acceptable.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.19.21

This though, was great English! It made perfect sense and was pronounced excellently. Good for you B1a4, good for you.

Video

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.23.06

I can’t have been the only one who saw this scene and thought: ‘okaaaaay…. It’s going to be THAT sort of video?’ But in the end I actually thought that the floating away theme was kind of nice, though still a little silly.  I think the balloon girlfriend was a metaphor of how she had already let go and ‘floated’ away from him but he wouldn’t accept it and wanted to hang on to her, hence the string. This concept also works well with the lyrics and I like that.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.28.07

I also like how they kept showing these images that he keeps in his wallet, it’s like another symbol of how he hasn’t let go of her. And extra points are deserved because of this, for these images are featured in the lyrics as well. I saw the ending where he let her float away and then floated away himself and left his wallet with these pictures behind as him letting go of her and moving on. I think the story was nicely executed in an artsy but still clear fashion.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.28.18

And then I saw this. What the..? Why was this in the end? Didn’t he just let go? Eh, I’m confused… Let me know if you have an alternative interpretation of the song and video that helps this scene make sense.

Dance

The dancing isn’t really the focus of the video and while it looks nice and crisp the little we see of it, it wasn’t really anything that truly captured my attention. I did enjoy the simple step dance in the very end though and I think that the dance with the red scarfs in the white room was very visually appealing, due to the contrasts.

Outfits and styling

I like this styling! Some of the outfits were a lot better than others (which I will comment on a little bit further down) but as a group effort I think it was nicely done. They all had on fairly soft and very wintery outfits in quite cautious tones which fit with the general feel and style of the song and video. Everyone’s hair looks great as well, nothing to complain about.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.24.32

These outfits that Jinyoung and his balloon girlfriend have on are the perfect representation of soft, wintery outfits in cautious colors. They also look kind of like couple outfits so that’s nice as well.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.24.56

Wow getting a good shot of these outfits was not easy! But since you’ve of course watched the video you’ll hopefully understand my comments even if the picture isn’t perfect. (Most of my pictures for these reviews aren’t good, damn screen shots are hard to get right!) Baro’s outfit is very appropriate for a rapper such as him, he’s got the fluffy fur coat, the bling and the bandana hat. Pimp goes winter, very nice.

CNU’s leather jacket is one of my favorite looks in the video, it’s got a good sense of style, without trying to hard. I also like that the jacket looks very organized and  structured in comparison with his fabulous fluffy hair.

Loving the graphic black and white coat on Jinyoung as well, very eye-catching and one of the bolder pieces in the music video.

Not a fan of this look on Sandeul though, that super high collar doesn’t suit him. The layered look on Gongchan is great though, very… something. I’m sure there’s a specific name for this kind of style but I know nothing about fashion so I really don’t know. It’s cool though.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.25.10

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.27.37

I very much so like how the outfits in the two dance shots mirrored each other, they were both suit-y, had scarfs and one was black and one was white. And everyone, always, looks good in both black and white so these outfits looked good on all of them.

Skärmavbild 2014-01-14 kl. 15.25.38

Here we have some of the more questionable outfits… I like the outfit Sandeul’s wearing and I think CNU’s fine, though slightly boring. I have no idea what’s going on with Jinyoung. That huge blue fluffy thing shouldn’t be there. It doesn’t suit him nor the style of the video. I’m also skeptical about the slightly weirdly fitted suit on Baro, and you just don’t wear a suit with a snapback. Gongchan’s outfit looks good in all the shots where you can’t see the bottom part, that should speak volumes.

There, guys! That’s my review of B1A4’s ‘Lonely’. I like it but it didn’t blow me away like their previous single did. It’s very clear that they’ve matured as a group and if they tried the super silliness from the start of their careers then it wouldn’t work at all, they’ve grown up now.

So, what did you think of this song and video? And what did you think of my review? Leave me a comment and let me know!

If you have any suggestions or opinions about Friday’s list of the week, Sunday’s random post or next Tuesday’s review then leave me a comment or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

3 thoughts on “Review of B1A4’s ‘Lonely’

  1. I didn’t watch this with english subs, but haha- from what you’ve pointed out in the story, no it doesn’t make much sense overall, but then I’ve kind of noticed how boy group songs with different people singing different lines don’t always match up. Or make much sense as a whole. I’m not sure I paid that much attention to the MV the first time I watched it, but it seems generic enough in that sort-of-dreamesque landscape that you can piece together whatever story (or end story) you’d like. I loved the colors though. It’s a very pretty video. Oh, and Baro’s jacket- what’s with rappers and the fuzzy jackets. I want one. Should I become a Kpop rapper?

    1. I thought that it kind of could make sense all the way up to the end scene of them snuggling. That messed up my whole interpretation. But since this is kpop, maybe we shouldn’t try to make it make to much sense… Yeah, I think so too. The video (and song, in my opinion) was very pretty indeed. Rappers are the only ones that can really get away with wearing those without looking a little bit silly, so yeah, it’s the rapper’s life for you!
      – Admin A

  2. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

