My Top 5 Kpop Boy Groups

I decided to do two lists this week because these two are very short, and here’s the first one – My top 5 kpop boy groups! These top five normally vary a lot for me (at least the lower positions) so these can change very quickly, but this is where I’m at right now.

5. EXO

exo

EXO is such a special case… While I am a big fan with attachments to all the members I can’t really count myself as an Exotic… That fan club has gotten such a bad reputation that if you refer to yourself as that, it’s like you’re confirming that you’re a crazy stalker bitch. And I don’t know about you, but I prefer to not be considered as that.

I do really like EXO regardless of the crazy things that their fan club is up to. I like the fact that they have so many members (even though it was really hard to learn their names!) and that the members are so diverse and different. It gives me a member for every mood.

To be honest, I didn’t grow attached to them immediately when they came out. I liked ‘Mama’ but I thought that ‘History’ was quite bad and ‘What Is Love’ wasn’t good enough to make me care. But I really liked ‘Wolf’! And considering what I’ve read online, it doesn’t seem to be that many that did… ‘Growl’ sealed the deal and I’m now an Exotic, though not a crazy one.

4. CNBLUE

cnblue

CNBLUE is quite unique when you look at the other kpop groups that I listen to. While I do tend to lean towards more rockish sounds when I venture out of kpop, my favorite kpop groups and songs often lean more towards rap. This might just be because the rockish band sound isn’t that common in kpop but it’s still a fact that this group is unique among my favorites.

As I said in my countdown of my top 20 songs of 2013 CNBLUE’s song ‘I’m Sorry’ and the promotions that followed after that was what really made me notice them. I fell in love with the songs ‘Where You Are’ and ‘Coffee Shop’ even more so than with ‘I’m Sorry’ and I listened to them into absurdum.

I currently have almost 50 songs from them on my phone and I listen to them quite a lot. I think that CNBLUE are at their absolute best when they’re playing live (NOT hand syncing) and when I listen to their songs on youtube I always choose the live version, if I can find one. I suggest you do the same.

3. Block B

block b

Block B is very dear to me. It holds one of my favorite rappers of all time (Zico), a rapper that has the absolute perfect tone for my style (P.O), another very acclaimed rapper that just happens to be hilarious (Kyung), an incredible singer (Taeil), a really really pretty dude with a nice voice (Jaehyo) and two very sexy dancers (U-Kwon and B-Bomb). This is one of those few groups where there’s really no one in there that could be removed, at least not in my opinion. And for a 7-member group, that’s quite rare.

You have no idea how worried I’ve been for Block B… Having a group sue their company and come out the other side (now with a new company) without losing fans or popularity (even gaining) and with the members all still there is a real kpop miracle. I missed them to death and I hope that they never spook me like that ever again!

2. BIGBANG

big bang

BIGBANG is one of those groups that basically everybody likes. They’ve been around for 7,5 years now and no one can argue against the fact that these guys are super stars. They’re constantly being named as one of the groups with the biggest shot at making it big outside of Asia and that’s obviously been true. They’re huge.

But are they really kpop? I’m not sure… I don’t think their sound has ever really been kpop-y and that’s the case now more than ever. But I think kpop is a quite null term anyway (since it seems to include everything that has main stream popularity in Korea, no matter what it sounds like) so I’m going to count BIGBANG as a part of the kpop world, as they rightly are.

I was first introduced to BIGBANG through GD and T.O.P’s duo song ‘High High’ and then T.O.P’s solo song ‘Turn It Up’. I loved these guys before I had any idea of the fact that they were in a group, and because of that I think it’s quite logical that those are the two members that I’m the most attached to. But I’ll save my opinions on the individual members for a random post.

1. SHINee

SHINee

SHINee wasn’t the first kpop group that I listened to (that was the Wonder girls) but they were the first group that grabbed me, shook me around and slapped me upside the head. When I first saw ‘Ring Ding Dong’ (was it 2009? 2010? I can’t remember) I thought it was cool but a little silly. Oh if I’d only known… I would go on to play that song over and over again until my entire family were so sick of it they probably wanted to kill me. (It’s still my ringtone to this day)

SHINee is the group that truly keeps me in the kpop fandom. Sure, I love many other groups as well and I wouldn’t leave even if I didn’t have SHINee anymore, but they’re the ones that keeps the fire burning, at all times. I’m madly in love with each and every member and when it comes to who to support and where my allegiance lie, it’s never even a question. I’m living in the SHINee World!

That was the first part of this week’s list of the week! The second part with my top 5 favorite girl groups will be up soon! (When I’ve written it… So later today)

Let me know in the comments what you think about my list and what your top 5 favorite boy groups are! If you have any opinions or suggestions about Sunday’s random post, Tuesday’s review or next Friday’s list of the week, then leave me a comment or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

8 thoughts on “My Top 5 Kpop Boy Groups

  1. Hello there! *waves* Introductions first: I’m a fellow BBC, Blackjack, Exotic, VIP, and fan of pretty much every group you’ve mentioned in both top 5 articles ^__^ I just clicked on a link posted on the seoulbeats comment section, and I’m so happy I stumbled on this treasure of a blog! While reading these articles, I’m constantly shocked and delighted by how close your opinions align with my own (no, I don’t run a blog apart from my tumblr sadly). Your observations on all sorts of subjects are spot on as well. I really look forward to stalking this blog in the future! hehe

    Concerning your thoughts on Block B here, my sis (link to her blog here: http://shinealightrose.blogspot.com) and I also went through the same trauma with Block B, and no words describe the relief and joy all of us BBCs felt when they came back under their new agency. Now I can listen to Movie’s Over without completely bawling…haha

    1. Hi! *waves back* I’m so happy that you find my blog worthy of stalking! That’s really all I could ever ask for haha. I hope that I’ll keep you interested and if you have any awesome ideas about what you’d want to read then please never hesitate to tell me! Finding people that agree with me and who share my love for kpop is all I wanted to happen through this.

      I’ll go stalk your sister’s blog and see if I can find some awesomeness! And to be honest, I kind of avoided Block B’s music while their fate was uncertain… It made me so sad.
      – Admin A

      1. 😀 I recommend clicking on the Kpop header on my sis’s blog–she posts monthly kpop updates and other stuff that’s pretty great (in my totally unbiased opinion, of course hehe). Thanks for checking it out ^_^
        I’ll definitely send in a request for an article sometime!

      2. Wow her stuff seems so much more well researched and thought through than mine! :O Well, let’s just hope that I in some way also kind of seem like I make sense… And no problem! 🙂
        Yay, awesome! Any feedback I can get is great ^^
        – Admin A

  2. What’s my sister doing here spreading the word about my blog. LOL. What a fangirl. *giggles*

    These 5 groups really are some of the best. I agree with just about everything you’ve said (except I can’t make myself like Wolf). OH, and Shinee isn’t my top fav. I would replace them with Teen Top personally, but that’s a personal thing.. I actually agree that Shinee is better haha. I just like my babies.

    Cnblue was my gateway to Kpop. I used to not even like the connotation of K-“pop” hence the band thing worked wonders. And damn their lives stages of “I’m Sorry” are phenomenal! Once in though, I fell hard. Bigbang did the trick.. Now they’re my number 1, closely followed by Block B. 🙂

    1. That’s what good sisters do, isn’t it?

      Haha I like Teen Top as well, but they’re not top five. You’ll see them on a future post! I’m glad that you found my opinions worth reading! (especially since your blog is so much better…)

      I still don’t like the term kpop… It really doesn’t mean anything. And Cnblue is a truly great band!

      – Admin A

  3. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after
    going through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking
    it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

