Top 20 Kpop Songs of 2013

Here it is, my first official post! Here we have my top 20 favourite Kpop songs released in 2013. I tried to choose solely based on how much I’ve listened to and enjoyed these songs. So here they are, in the order of when they were released!

The top 20 Kpop songs of 2013 (5 per quarter)

1. CNBLUE – I’m Sorry

I think that this is one of CNBLUE’s best singles to date and it was a great way to start the year. This song and the promotions that followed was actually what made me notice CNBLUE for the first time, and for that I’m forever grateful.

2. Jaejoong – Mine

Yet another song that helped me notice someone. I have a strong love for this kind of rock and visual kei so seeing Jaejoong pull something like this off is amazing. I think he did it amazingly well and it definitely made me a fan of him as a solo artist.

3. B.A.P – One Shot

I’m a bit skeptical about the path B.A.P’s music has taken this year, but One Shot was a great song that took their original style (that I really love) and evolved it. Great song, cool video but the alternative ending was unnecessary.

4. SHINee – Dream Girl 

Another song that took what the group does well and ran with it. In SHINee’s case that would be up-beat electronic music, lots of colors and a very interesting and memorable dance. I also appreciate the fact that it’s a twist to the whole SM box video thingy.

5. GLAM – In Front of the Mirror

GLAM isn’t a group that I normally listen to and I don’t count them among my favorite groups but this song was my jam for the first part of 2013. The whole looking-in-the-mirror-and-don’t-like-what-I-see thing really spoke to me for some reason…

6. B1A4 – What’s Happening?

B1A4 has been climbing on my bias list this year (going from being not interesting to a group that has earned their spot) and this song was what really got me more interested. In the past I’ve only seen B1A4 as a cute and sort of silly group but this song was so funky and interesting that it really made me take them seriously. And it’s yet another song that really worked for the group’s style, even making it better.

7. 2PM – A.D.T.O.Y.

This was the second 2PM song that I heard and the first one that I liked… I know, that’s bad. 2PM is a quite old and very popular group. But I really liked this song! It made me care about 2PM enough to look up a whole lot of their older songs and I now count myself as a casual Hottest.

8. Lee Hyori – Miss Korea 

First Lee Hyori song I ever heard. Damn I was so badly informed before this year! Anyway, I loved it. I thought she was insanely cool and that this song was pleasant to listen to and that it had a good message. Pronunciation wasn’t perfect but it didn’t bother me.

9. SISTAR – Give It To Me

Best song SISTAR has made, as far as I know. It took their normal sexy concept and pushed it further. Burlesque outfits, a simple but cool dance and some wicked vocals from Hyorin and I was sold.

10. BTS – No More Dream 

It’s very impressive that a rookie group managed to make their debut song catch my attention so much that I had to include them. It’s impressive indeed. This song and video established their image and style in a very decisive way, they’re young and cool rappers that speak for the students. And judging by the other two songs they also released last year, they seem to be sticking to that image. Hopefully that’ll be true in the end of this year as well.

11. Brown Eyed Girls – Kill Bill 

I’m a huge Tarantino fan so when I heard the title of this song I was half excited and half terrified. Because what if they fucked up the concept? Kill Bill is one of my favorite movies, so what if they made it look stupid? Thankfully, they didn’t. This video and song is a great reference to a great movie and even if the plot in the video is a little hazy, the familiar scenes all make up for it. As always from Brown Eyed Girls – very cool and interesting girl power.

12. M.I.B – Men In Black

Before this song M.I.B was nothing more to me than one of those groups that you just have one song from in your phone and that you don’t really know anything about. I still don’t know much about them but I’ve listened to this song so many times that it’s ridiculous… And I’m officially crushing on Kangnam.

13. 2NE1 – Do You Love Me

I’m going to be honest, I was kind of disappointed with Falling In Love… As I think many of us were. Do You Love Me was infinitely better and a lot of fun. Plus who HASN’T been singing it constantly? The level of catchy is incredible.

14. Teen Top – Rocking 

Another song that I’ve been singing constantly. I must have listened to this a hundred times. It’s a really fun and happy song, and the dance is really cool.  I also love the styling of… well everyone, in the video. Plus a little extra love for L.Joe’s hair.

15. Ladies’ Code – Pretty Pretty

These girls are most certainly among my favorite rookies of the year. This song is my favorite among the three singles they’ve released this year (even though the other two were great as well) and I’ve listened to it almost too much so it was a given for this list.The accompanying video is really cute and quirky and the girls are awesomely styled.

16. Block B – Very Good

I’m so so happy that Block B are back! And even though Be The Light was a great pre-realease we all know that this is what truly marked their return. This is the Block B we’ve been missing: Loud, funny and with some insanely solid rapping and singing.

17. Kahi – It’s ME

I’m sad to say that I had no idea who Kahi was before this… I’ve never gotten into After School and I never noticed her previous solo work. But this song. It’s so good it’s crazy. And the Kahi in the video (I don’t know enough about her to know how much of that is her) is exactly the kind of woman I want to be. Wow, that was cheesy. But true.

18. SHINee – Colorful

This is the kind of song and video I want for christmas! It was released right before christmas and they’re decorating a christmas tree in some scenes, so it qualifies as a christmasy video… It’s happy and cheerful and shows the members being cute and funny in a relaxed way, with each other. And even though EXO’s Miracles in December was beautiful, it was sad. This makes me happy, and that’s better to me right now.

19. Taeyang – Ringa Linga

Being honest again: I was really skeptical when this song first came out. I knew that GD had written it and to me it just sounded like a typical GD song. It still kind of does, to be honest. I had no idea that Taeyang is a rapper, so hearing him rap was kind of weird. But after listening to it some more this song is so stuck in my brain that it’s insane. (My name is T to the A to the E…)

20. T.O.P – Doom Dada 

Oh T.O.P… You’re weird. And I absolutely love you for it. This song was weird, this video was weirder. But who wants to be normal anyway? And if this doesn’t shut up those idiots that says he can’t rap I don’t know what ever will…

That was my top 20 favorite kpop songs of 2013 (5 per quarter)! Do you agree with my list? Leave me a comment and tell me your thoughts about my list, and what your top 20 kpop songs of 2013 were!

If you have any suggestions for this sunday’s random post, tuesday’s review or for next friday’s list of the week then leave a comment or email me at topofthekpops@gmail.com!

– Admin A

15 thoughts on “Top 20 Kpop Songs of 2013

  1. You have a great selection of songs here. I just about agree with everything on this list. I’m super happy to see Lee Hyori get some love as I have recently become a fan of hers. She had an awesome year! Did you ever watch “Voodoo Doll” by Vixx that was another great song of the year? Welcome to the blogging world I hope to see more from you! :))

    1. Great that you liked it! 🙂 Yes, Lee Hyori has most certainly had an awesome year which made me a fan of her as well. Yes, of course, I did watch it but sadly it landed riiiight outside the list. Better luck next time, Vixx! 🙂
      – Admin A

    1. There is no real number 1 to be honest, the order is just based on when they were released. Or maybe you just meant the one that’s first on the list… In that case, okay!
      It’s great that you enjoyed my list and thanks for commenting! 🙂 I’ll be checking out your blog now!
      – Admin A

Leave a Reply

